Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 04:49:00 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: toggle Appskey [DONE] but how to ignore certain apps?  (Read 2396 times)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: toggle Appskey [DONE] but how to ignore certain apps?
« on: February 07, 2009, 10:42:21 AM »
I'm not a typist and work a lot with mouse & Control key + various shortcuts.
I've always had trouble with the Apps Key (I'm left handed so working with right Ctrl) - if I hit it by mistake I have to go all the way to the other end of the keyboard and hit escape to get rid of the context menu. This gets annoying if you do it often ...

Lately I discovered that Shift+F10 also shows the context menu but it toggles it

So I present to you
my first AHK script  :D
Appskey::+F10

which changes the apps key to Shift+F10 so it can toggle the menu on & off
My problem is Shift+F10 doesnt work in the programme where I really wanted this to work (Freehand, but I want to keep the script anyways for other programmes)
So, is there an easy way to exclude any particular programme from this script ?
Tom

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: toggle Appskey [DONE] but how to ignore certain apps?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2009, 08:43:37 PM »
you can try one of the code and see if the problem goes away..

this:
$Appskey::+F10

or this:
Appskey::Send +F10

AndyM

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 616
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: toggle Appskey [DONE] but how to ignore certain apps?
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 08:49:34 PM »
is there an easy way to exclude any particular programme from this script ?
Check out the autohotkey commands:  #IfWinNotActive and #IfWinActive

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: toggle Appskey [DONE] but how to ignore certain apps?
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2009, 05:26:35 AM »
you can try one of the code and see if the problem goes away..
...
thanks Lanux
but the problem was that the programme does not recognise the Shift+F10 in the first place

Check out the autohotkey commands:  #IfWinNotActive
thanks Andy, will do!
Tom