Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 03:53:41 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: [feature request] special key turns FARR transparent/inivisble when held  (Read 4215 times)

mackal

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Here's a scenario I constantly run into:
- doing stuff
- hey, what's a "pachydermus"?
- Ctrl-Space to bring up FARR
- start typing "search pachy...
- blimey, how do you spell that? darn, FARR is in the way, I can't see!

It be cool if there was a key that, in such cases, while typing in a string into FARR, could be held down to make FARR invisible or (partially) transparent temporarily (as long as the key is held down), so that the full workspace can be seen as it was prior to calling FARR.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
this AHK command can do that.. :)

WinSet, Transparent, N, WinTitle

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member

#IfWinActive,  Find and Run Robot v2 ahk_class TMainForm
RAlt::
if (wintrans != 1) {
WinSet, Transparent, 100
wintrans = 1
}
return
RAlt Up::
wintrans = 0
WinSet, Transparent, Off
return #IfWinActive

this works for me, hold down right alt key to make FARR transparent


#IfWinActive,  Find and Run Robot v2 ahk_class TMainForm
RAlt::
WinSet, Transparent, 100
return
RAlt Up::
WinSet, Transparent, Off
return
 #IfWinActive
works looks simpler but is too Cpu intensive when you hold down the hotkey
 

mackal

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Ah, of course, is there anything AHK cannot do?  I can just see it now... FARR v3.0 alpha, one massive AHK script...  ;)  Hey, it could happen... just look at GridMove... was that ever a shock when I discovered it's just an AHK script...  :D

Hmmm... this is too useful a script to just limit to FARR.  Many a time I've been in the same situation with other apps.  I just have to come up with a good universal hotkey for this functionality, one that will not interfere with any of my apps...

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
there is just not enough keys...

i'd like to use my Fn key (i'm a notebook user) but never managed to make it work...

mackal

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Drat, I cannot make either of the scripts work, it seems.  I don't know why.  I even removed #IfWinActive selection, and mapped to left Alt, and still nothing happens.  nitrix, I take it those scripts worked for you, right? Odd...

EDIT: Ah, found the culprit.  At least on my system, I have to use

WinSet, Transparent, <value>, A

to point at the currently active window.  Without it, it refers to Last Found Window, which apparently is not set by anything in the scripts so far (according to docs).
« Last Edit: August 24, 2007, 06:54:56 AM by mackal »

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
@mackal

try to add this line :

SetTitleMatchMode 2

so you have :
SetTitleMatchMode 2
#IfWinActive,  Find and Run Robot v2 ahk_class TMainForm
RAlt::
if (wintrans != 1) {
WinSet, Transparent, 100
wintrans = 1
}
return
RAlt Up::
wintrans = 0
WinSet, Transparent, Off
return
#IfWinActive


the title of FARR starts with a space
{space}Find and Run Robot v2
problem is you can't add a space in the following code :
#IfWinActive,  Find and Run Robot v2 ahk_class TMainForm
compilation error

help of settitlematchmode :
http://www.autohotke...etTitleMatchMode.htm

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Quote
WinSet, Transparent, <value>, A

to point at the currently active window.  Without it, it refers to Last Found Window, which apparently is not set by anything in the scripts so far (according to docs).

when you use the #IfWinActive directive, then the active window is necessarily the one which is active, therefore no need for "A"

of course since you want a global hotkey for any windows, using A is needed

mackal

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Ah, correct on both most recent posts, nitrix.  :Thmbsup:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
i'd like to use my Fn key (i'm a notebook user) but never managed to make it work...

Fn keys are not directly supported by AHK but there is a way to make them useable, i posted about it in this thread..

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [feature request] special key turns FARR transparent/inivisble when held
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2007, 05:11:18 AM »
Quote
Fn keys are not directly supported by AHK but there is a way to make them useable, i posted about it in this thread..


thanks lanux but unfortunately my Fn key is not captured at all...
 :(