Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 28, 2014, 07:40:55 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Farr Alias: Window Management  (Read 16859 times)
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: July 27, 2007, 09:29:57 AM »

This alias allows you to do a few things with the active window by typing a command in farr.



Here's the table describing the alias:

CommandDescription
WindowManagementList all the commands
MinimizeMinimize the active window
MaximizeMaximize the window
MaximizeHorizontallyMaximize Horizontally the active window
MaximizeVerticallyMaximize Vertically the active window

Note: Everything assigned in bold is a farr keyword. If you find any keyword is too long, just type part of it, then when it's the first result, press tab to autocomplete.

* WinManagement.zip (211.06 KB - downloaded 1353 times.)
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 05:28:02 AM by jgpaiva » Logged

ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2008, 08:16:34 AM »

Any tips?  I extracted the zip into the "Scripts" directory, and now I see "WinManagement", "Minimize", "Maximize", etc. all as new farr keywords, but when I select and run any of them from farr, nothing happens to the window I was in before launching farr.

Thanks for any help-
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 08:36:25 AM »

Oh, now that's strange.
Tell me: how do you launch farr? Do you double-click the taskbar icon or press the hotkey?
Logged

ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2008, 08:54:16 AM »

Hotkey.  So I'm in (whatever, MS-Word, Firefox, Win Explorer, have tried many windows), I hit the farr hotkey and start typing "minimize", it's the top match, I hit enter and farr disappears and I go back to the original (non-minimized) window.

I opened a related thread yesterday: when I launch a URL from farr, it loads into the current tab in firefox just fine, but if FF is minimized, it doesn't restore, it just stays minimized.  I got a reply from Mouser saying FF should be coming to the foreground.  Haven't got a fix for that yet, but maybe they're related.

I do use FarrAltTab just fine, it brings any window I select to the foreground.  Not sure what it does differently from WinManagement or simple URLs.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2008, 09:03:27 AM »

I find that very strange... I do it exactly the same way, and it works here.

Does anyone else have that problem?

ottenm: none of the aliases work?(max,min,maxV and maxH)
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2008, 09:03:36 AM »

Quote
Any tips?  I extracted the zip into the "Scripts" directory,

did you really put it in the Scripts directory?

jgp didn't say so, but should have said that this NEEDS to be in a subdirectory of one of the AliasGroups directories, preferably: FindAndRunRobot/AliasGroups/Installed/WinManagement

the only thing giving me pause to say this is the problem is that you say it found the alias for you, which suggests that it found everything it needs..
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2008, 09:03:58 AM »

Quote
ottenm: none of the aliases work?(max,min,maxV and maxH)

good question.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2008, 09:07:24 AM »

when I select and run any of them from farr, nothing happens
Oops, didn't notice this. Then none of them work.
I really have no idea why this would be happening.

Now i'm wondering... Can you launch anything from any farr alias, ottenm?
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2008, 09:08:24 AM »

btw this alias group is working for me, so at least that's one more datapoint.
ottenm make sure you try it on a few different program windows just to make sure it isn't one stubborn program refusing to minimize, etc.
Logged
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2008, 09:13:27 AM »

Moved it from the Scripts directory to the AliasGroups/Installed directory and everything is so sweet!

I'm not sure how I picked "Scripts", I spent some time looking for instructions and only sorted out that it probably *wasn't* a plugin since it did not have dll(s) like the other plugins.

Thanks for all the help-
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2008, 09:59:56 AM »

 cheesy Great, glad to know it's working, ottenm!
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2008, 10:45:18 AM »

btw this is a good example of where one might create a custom hotkey in the hotkey tab, and set it to autotype the word "windowsmanagement", that way you just hit the hotkey and farr will pop up with the windowsmanagement menu ready for you to trigger.
Logged
ottenm
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 69

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2008, 10:16:26 PM »

Got it!  Thanks for the suggestion Mouser.  I tried Alt-capsLock, but it leaves my capsLock'ed, so I'm using Alt-BackQuote (the key above tab).

Awesome!
Logged
Crush
Member
**
Posts: 398



Hello dude!

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2008, 05:06:53 AM »

I only want you to mention that I downloaded Winmanagement and my Virus-Scanner (AVG) found the Trojan Horse Generic9.BAAW   ohmy.
Is this a faulty alarm?
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2008, 05:23:21 AM »

Yes, Crush.. As usual Sad
Thanks for the heads up, i'll recompile WinManagement.
Logged

jpijper
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 89


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2008, 06:55:57 AM »

  thumbs up Nice one jgpaiva!

Could you add a "restore" option? Or a "normal" option?  undecided

Thanks,
Jan Roelof
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: July 23, 2008, 06:57:01 AM »

You don't need one, jan!
The "maximize" one is actually "toggle maximized state", so it'll restore the window if it's already maximized smiley
Logged

jpijper
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 89


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: July 24, 2008, 03:36:28 AM »

Eeer, o, I see, thanks   embarassed embarassed
Logged
CodeWzrd
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: August 18, 2008, 07:07:39 AM »

@jgpaiva

I just tried to download WinManagement.zip file and Norton AV said that the file is infected by the same trojan that Crush mentioned. The time stamp on the zip file is July 6, 2008.

Is there another version that I can download?
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: August 18, 2008, 07:27:18 AM »

CodeWzrd: That just proves that it is a false positive. It's idiotic the frequency this has been happening recently.
Notice that recompiling the software made crush's AV not flag it, and Norton flag it.
Did it delete the file? If not, just tell it to ignore the file.
Logged

mark_ninan
Participant
*
Posts: 17


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2011, 02:29:07 AM »

Hi jgpaiva,
You've got a terrific plugin.
When I was using KeyBreeze, it had a configurable function where we could minimize,maximize,move the window to the top left, top right, bottom left and bottom right as well.
One of the most important functions it had was to close the top most program with a configurable hot key.
have you considered adding these functions to your plugin?
Think it'd make FARR really super if it had these functions as well.
Logged
mark_ninan
Participant
*
Posts: 17


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: February 08, 2011, 08:04:03 AM »

Hi jgpaiva,
You've got a terrific plugin.
When I was using KeyBreeze, it had a configurable function where we could minimize,maximize,move the window to the top left, top right, bottom left and bottom right as well.
Of course putting more functions like volume control, and other functions offered like in WinSplit Revolution
One of the most important functions it had was to close the top most program with a configurable hot key.
have you considered adding these functions to your plugin?
Think it'd make FARR really super if it had these functions as well.
It's like an All-In-One!!
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: February 15, 2011, 12:23:31 PM »

Hi mark,
This alias really was intended to do simple window management. If you're looking for something more advanced, maybe you should look into something like another program of mine, GridMove (see my signature for link Wink )
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.037s | Server load: 0.08 ]