Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • July 22, 2017, 09:51:11 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Open website in custom browser  (Read 320 times)

asrjcb

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Open website in custom browser
« on: May 01, 2017, 01:59:09 PM »
Sorry for posting such a stupid question.  Could not figure it out from other similar posts.

I just want to open a website using the non-default browser using an alias. I've subbed user.name for my actual user name and x'd out the actual site.  I've tried with & w/o quotation marks.  Nothing launches

Open Expense Reporting in IE | "C:\Users\User.name\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Accessories\iexplore.exe" "http://xxx.xx.com/"

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,959
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Open website in custom browser
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2017, 02:17:28 PM »
You've used the location of the shortcut to IE, not the executable program. That's this file: "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" (Well, at least on my Win10 box)
The shortcut has a .lnk extension (hidden always by Windows Explorer), so .exe won't get you anywhere.

How I got there?
- Right-click the shortcut in the start menu
- Choose "Open file location"
- Right-click the Internet Explorer shortcut and choose Properties
- Get the value in the Target field (selected by default)

asrjcb

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Open website in custom browser
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2017, 03:11:14 PM »
That did it Ath plus the removal of the quotes on the .exe file path.  Thanks for the help.