Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 15, 2017, 01:58 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Been having trouble with certain functionality lately.  (Read 763 times)

vbmark

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Been having trouble with certain functionality lately.
« on: December 02, 2016, 07:29 AM »
Screenshot Captor used to work flawlessly but lately having some issues.

1.  When using "Grab Selected Region" either by keyboard shortcut or right click tray icon, the window whose region I want to capture is minimized.

2.  After adding a text box and then going back to change the text the inside of the box, everything, including the text, goes black.  The color pickers show the correct colors and changing the colors do not revert from the black.  The only option is to delete the text box and start over and get it right the first time.

EDIT: Using version 4.16.1.

Thank you,
Mark
« Last Edit: December 02, 2016, 07:52 AM by vbmark »

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,080
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Been having trouble with certain functionality lately.
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2016, 08:18 AM »
What did you change between SSC working fine and now?

vbmark

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Been having trouble with certain functionality lately.
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2016, 08:31 AM »
I was given a new laptop.  It's Windows 7 and has latest patches.

I did an experiment with another screen capturing app and selecting "screen region" in that app also causes the active window to minimize.  So that is not specifically a Screen Captor issue.

So it may be that the text editing issue isn't either.  However, I can create/edit text without issue in this alternative software.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,080
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Been having trouble with certain functionality lately.
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2016, 09:21 AM »
Some AV or other security related utilities cause issues like this, not allowing screen captures etc. Maybe you have something like that installed?

vbmark

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Been having trouble with certain functionality lately.
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2016, 09:38 AM »
Yes, it looks like something external is interfering. I'll poke around.

Thanks.