Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 23, 2014, 03:21:28 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: move small dialog windows to cursor position  (Read 74607 times)
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #125 on: August 30, 2006, 10:33:53 AM »

As for your other request, i'm right now working on it!

That's great news.

btw, I've been periodically getting the "window shrinks to very short Titlebar" syndrome.  It seems to happen sometimes when I close a dialog box which was moved properly, and then the focus goes to the next open window.  That window shrinks, and because it is small, it then jumps to the cursor.  Once in a while, an unshrunk window that gains focus will jump to the cursor.  None of it happens often enough to make me even think about not using DialogMove.  I'm 95% positive in all cases it only happens when I close a moved Dialog box.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2006, 10:35:29 AM by AndyM » Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #126 on: August 30, 2006, 03:27:56 PM »

i've not encountered anything like that for a long long time. strange.
Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #127 on: August 31, 2006, 09:32:31 PM »

I'm running more AHK scripts than I used to, 8 including DialogMove.  I wonder if that has anything to do with it.
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #128 on: September 09, 2006, 05:05:44 AM »

cody has a lot of credits waiting for you, jgpaiva - if you can implement the 'intelligent' position dialog to place highlighted button under mouse cursor.

i love dialogmove more and more each day - especially when i have to use someone else's retarded machine that doesn't have dialogmove on it.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #129 on: September 09, 2006, 07:22:54 AM »

cody has a lot of credits waiting for you, jgpaiva - if you can implement the 'intelligent' position dialog to place highlighted button under mouse cursor.
Oh... Sorry, actually, it's already done and working, but no config yet. I'll try to upload it still today.

i love dialogmove more and more each day - especially when i have to use someone else's retarded machine that doesn't have dialogmove on it.
Grin Grin Grin Grin
Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #130 on: September 09, 2006, 07:29:26 AM »

great, looking forward to downloading it.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #131 on: September 10, 2006, 08:03:12 AM »

Ok... Sorry for the delay.
It's here, dialogmove 1.8.9.
Added the "move to active button" option. (if there isn't an active control, it acts as it did before).


DialogMove v1.8.9 updated 09-10-06:
Quote
moves windows smaler than a given size to a place closer to the mouse position.
[Forum Topic] [.ahk Version] [.exe version] [About Box]
Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #132 on: September 10, 2006, 08:14:07 AM »

heh, heh, heh, brilliant.

i think it's the ultimate improvement.

great work, jgpaiva.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #133 on: September 10, 2006, 08:21:45 AM »

heh, heh, heh, brilliant.

i think it's the ultimate improvement.

great work, jgpaiva.
It sure is!
Even i like it, and i don't use dialogmove (things moving by themselves on my screen without me telling them to confuses me :S)
It was definitelly a good idea!  Thmbsup

Glad you like it Wink
Logged

AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #134 on: September 10, 2006, 10:26:40 AM »

Very nice, thanks!

Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #135 on: September 16, 2006, 04:35:18 AM »

here's just a suggestion for when you have nothing better to do one day, jgpaiva.

i really like the new move dialog so that highlighted button move to cursor type thing, but there are times when it would be nice for a different button to act as the target.

i use flashget and the 'save' dialog that opens has the save location highlighted rather than just the 'okay' or 'save' button.

my suggestion is that it would be nice/useful if the user could make 'dialogmove' learn how you want it to behave with certain windows. just like it works at the moment how you can specify whether a window should be ignored or always moved by pressing one of the hotkeys - it would be handy so that you could press a hotkey so that dialogmove knew which button it should use as the target to move the mouse cursor with specific dialog windows.

i hope that makes sense, and i hope it sounds like a worthwhile feature to add.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #136 on: December 10, 2006, 07:17:40 AM »

I know... It seems unbelievable, but.. There's a new version of DialogMove!! Run to get it Wink
I've updated it to give it some more speed when moving the windows, and to remove the screen configuration options, the script gets those by itself, no need for configuration.


DialogMove v1.8.93 updated 10-12-06:
Quote
moves windows smaler than a given size to a place closer to the mouse position.
[Forum Topic] [.ahk Version] [.exe version] [About Box]

[edit] Thanks nudone... LoL, i'm so messed up that i even mix my own stuff Wink [/edit]
« Last Edit: December 10, 2006, 09:32:59 AM by jgpaiva » Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #137 on: December 10, 2006, 08:28:25 AM »

fantastic - but don't you mean you've updated DIALOG MOVE not gridmove.  cheesy

will now download.
Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #138 on: December 11, 2006, 08:53:17 PM »

DialogMove v1.8.93 updated 10-12-06:

The occasional problem that I was having where a window jumped that wasn't supposed to, either shrinking or not, seems to have gone away.

Do you thing the revised code (which I didn't really look over) is responsible?

Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #139 on: December 12, 2006, 03:58:43 AM »

The occasional problem that I was having where a window jumped that wasn't supposed to, either shrinking or not, seems to have gone away.

Do you thing the revised code (which I didn't really look over) is responsible?
Well... That's good! cheesy
I don't think the few lines i added to the code could make any difference. On the other hand, this new version was compiled with a way newer version of AHK, which means that might have been a bug in the ahk code that has already been fixed. (i haven't noticed it in the changelogs, though..)
But anyways, it's good to know it's gone now cheesy
Logged

jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #140 on: January 21, 2007, 04:25:17 PM »

You think DialogMove was smart? Well.. It got smarter.
Now with auto-detection of buttons' names.
The window focus will be set on buttons named "save", "ok" (and the similar ones in portuguese, so that i could test it Wink).
Notice that this will work regardless if there are any other focused controls. If these exist, they'll be beneath your mouse.

Other names of controls to look for are welcome.
(if these controls are not present, it'll move to the active control. if there's no active control, it'll move to the middle of the window)


DialogMove v1.8.97 updated 21-01-07:
Quote
moves windows smaler than a given size to a place closer to the mouse position.
[Forum Topic] [.ahk Version] [.exe version] [About Box]


PS: this was a first atempt, to see how it works out. If it doesn't work out, i'll have to think of a way of configuring it per window. I've just been having some trouble figuring out how to do it.
Logged

jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #141 on: January 21, 2007, 05:01:54 PM »

New update:
Added configuration of which controls to look for. You can find those under the "rules" tab in the settings. (notice that it is just a comma-separated list of the words that have to be in the text of the controls to look for)


DialogMove v1.8.98 updated 21-01-07:
Quote
moves windows smaler than a given size to a place closer to the mouse position.
[Forum Topic] [.ahk Version] [.exe version] [About Box]

« Last Edit: January 21, 2007, 05:07:27 PM by jgpaiva » Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #142 on: January 21, 2007, 05:12:48 PM »

fantastic. christmas has come very early for me this year. very, very early it seems.

i'll have to try this tomorrow but i'm overjoyed that you've done this update.
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #143 on: January 22, 2007, 05:28:24 AM »

i think the new version is working perfectly. seems to know what's going on with larger windows a bit better too.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #144 on: January 22, 2007, 06:22:10 AM »

i think the new version is working perfectly. seems to know what's going on with larger windows a bit better too.
I'm very happy to hear that!!  cheesy
If you find anything you'd like to add, don't existate to post Wink
Logged

AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #145 on: January 22, 2007, 07:30:10 AM »

So far so good.

Thanks jgpaiva!
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #146 on: January 23, 2007, 02:03:17 PM »

i haven't thought for too long about this so i may be talking complete rubbish:

i'm wondering if the rules for matching smaller window sizes before moving the dialog is actually superfluous to making dialogmove work.

now that the rules are there to move windows depending on their 'in focus' button (okay, save, cancel, etc) it looks to me that is all that is required, i.e. no need to look for size.

as the windows that are moved by dialogmove tend to have the types of buttons mentioned above then perhaps we could try a version that abandoned the size method.

i mention this as there are still a few windows that don't behave as they should. sometimes they move, sometimes they don't. making a specific window NOT move often effects another window not moving also. these are slight issues but i'm wondering if the size function is the one that is getting in the way.

i need to experiment for a bit and then i'll report back.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #147 on: January 23, 2007, 02:10:29 PM »

Sorry nudone, but i didn't exactly understand what you meant.
Please give me some examples, so that i can better understand the problem smiley
Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #148 on: January 23, 2007, 02:17:56 PM »

well, the main problem seems to be with the 'save as' dialog. that's the one that troubles me.

i've specified for it to be moved by dialogname 'Save As', sometimes it moves, sometimes it doesn't i can't see any pattern to the problem. i admit it's larger than the rules i've set for size which are 1920 x 200 but as it moves sometimes i just wonder why it doesn't move all the time.

i shall try to follow exactly what is happening when i use the machine tomorrow and then i'll try and give a detailed report.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #149 on: January 23, 2007, 02:56:54 PM »

Notice that dialogmove is made so that this new addition doesn't actually tell the window to move, it only tells it where to move, if it is moved.
Also, while testing this, i found this:
Remember that dialogmove doesn't move windows if they'll appear beneath the mouse. A save box is quite big, so there's a good probability this will happen. Please confirm if that's the reason it doesn't move sometimes and others it does.
Logged

Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.048s | Server load: 0.1 ]