Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 06:52:55 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA  (Read 14420 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« on: February 18, 2012, 07:33:59 PM »
If anyone wants to try the new screenshot captor addon for capturing DirectX full screen images, I have uploaded it here:


You will need to install the new screenshot captor release, and then the addon.  The addon will also make you install the SlimDx runtimes, and you will have to reboot your pc after the install.

Then you can set a hotkey for DirectX full screen capture (may default to Ctrl+Alt+Shift+X).



How well does it work?

Well.. It's a bit hit or miss at this point -- and I have to warn you that there is a fairly good chance it will crash your directX application when invoked.

If your directx game has its own way to take screenshots, that will without a doubt be a better solution than trying to use SC to take them.

So this is only for people who really like testing stuff early.  But I would like to hear reports of whether it works for you.



Thanks to Justin S, who's code powers this addon.  See this thread for a more discussion of the issues involved: http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=29890.0
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 08:13:05 AM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 08:11:45 AM »
No brave souls with DirectX games to capture want to give this a try?

y0himba

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
  • Yar.
    • View Profile
    • y0himba.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2012, 10:27:55 AM »
I am able to get captures of "The Ball" and "Counterstrike:Source" but not Crysis2 or Skyrim. Rapid shots crashed Counterstirke. I pressed the key about 2 time a second.
Screenshot - 2_20_2012 , 10_48_27 AM.pngScreenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
My Web Site:  http://www.y0himba.net

y0himba

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
  • Yar.
    • View Profile
    • y0himba.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2012, 10:30:16 AM »
Screenshot - 2_20_2012 , 10_59_31 AM.pngScreenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
My Web Site:  http://www.y0himba.net

spazzarama

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2012, 08:27:43 PM »
(see attachment in previous post)
I am able to get captures of "The Ball" and "Counterstrike:Source" but not Crysis2 or Skyrim. Rapid shots crashed Counterstirke. I pressed the key about 2 time a second. (see attachment in previous post)

I think because it is running a command line to do the inject and copy multiple screenshots are likely to be a bit buggy in the same app.

Mouser - it is probably worth investigating the reverse p/invoke method so you can communicate to the .NET assemblies directly. This can be done in C++ .NET using some attributes, or via a custom build process with C# (decompile to MSIL, edit, recompile -> also known as creative roundtripping).
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 08:45:49 PM by spazzarama »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2012, 08:38:50 PM »
Interesting.. Well it shouldnt be invoking more than one at a time, so I'm not sure why it would make a difference how rapidly you *try* to capture from the directx window -- it should only be doing one attempt at a time.

However it's possible that the code to unhook is not being given enough time to do its thing before the commandline tool exits?

Also, given my testing which shows that success is a bit random -- it may not have to do with trying to do lots of captures in a row -- and more to do with simply an X% probability of failing to capture on any given request?

spazzarama

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2012, 09:03:18 PM »
Interesting.. Well it shouldnt be invoking more than one at a time, so I'm not sure why it would make a difference how rapidly you *try* to capture from the directx window -- it should only be doing one attempt at a time.

However it's possible that the code to unhook is not being given enough time to do its thing before the commandline tool exits?

Also, given my testing which shows that success is a bit random -- it may not have to do with trying to do lots of captures in a row -- and more to do with simply an X% probability of failing to capture on any given request?

Yeah I don't know how reliably EasyHook cleans up the hooks after itself... I haven't experienced any issues with a percentage of injections failing - generally once it works on my system I'm good to go.

Btw - I will give your screenshot application a try soon, just haven't had time :)

spazzarama

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2012, 06:09:00 AM »
Worked for Battlefield 3 and World of Tanks (both D3D 10 I think)

Didn't work for Global Agenda (I think it is D3D10), AV in presenthook (something to do with that game it would seem)

Battlefield3_Screenshot.pngScreenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
WorldOfTanks_Screenshot.pngScreenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA

BoomWav

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2012, 02:36:55 PM »
I was looking for that. Sad that it doesn't seem to work properly. I'll just take the screenshot using Steam or FRAPS and then I'll upload them using ZUploader. I'd still be awesome if I could do all this without additional efforts! I wonder how FRAPS' doing it.

spazzarama

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2012, 12:11:44 AM »
The Direct3DHook code is now hosted on GitHub : https://github.com/s...zzarama/Direct3DHook

Still have to make some changes for you mouser - I have released an alpha of the EasyHook library that has the required changes to continue with the GAC'less injection process.

Time is of course a little short so it's taking me a little longer that I would like to get around to it all :)

Cheers,
J

If anyone wants to try the new screenshot captor addon for capturing DirectX full screen images, I have uploaded it here:


You will need to install the new screenshot captor release, and then the addon.  The addon will also make you install the SlimDx runtimes, and you will have to reboot your pc after the install.

Then you can set a hotkey for DirectX full screen capture (may default to Ctrl+Alt+Shift+X).



How well does it work?

Well.. It's a bit hit or miss at this point -- and I have to warn you that there is a fairly good chance it will crash your directX application when invoked.

If your directx game has its own way to take screenshots, that will without a doubt be a better solution than trying to use SC to take them.

So this is only for people who really like testing stuff early.  But I would like to hear reports of whether it works for you.



Thanks to Justin S, who's code powers this addon.  See this thread for a more discussion of the issues involved: http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=29890.0

damek125

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2012, 01:51:09 PM »
I just checked the addon on Trackmania game, works flawlessly :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2013, 06:04:47 PM »
Does anyone want to try a new version of the directx capture addon?

NOS

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2013, 10:17:01 PM »
Does anyone want to try a new version of the directx capture addon?
Yes please since the older link is not working for me. Thanks again

furynick

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2013, 01:35:17 AM »
Does anyone want to try a new version of the directx capture addon?

Interested too, thanks.

Matt714

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2013, 12:18:40 PM »
Also interested.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2013, 12:53:23 PM »
We're just waiting for Justin to update his directX code, and then i'll release a new version.

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,141
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2013, 05:42:07 PM »
Add me to the list for this, please. Ta.
(Tag: scdxcap.exe)

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,724
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2015, 01:22:33 AM »
I noticed in the latest version of Screenshot Captor that there's an option to do a DirectX capture, but it says the addon must be downloaded first. Was this feature ever finished?

If not, you may want to remove the DirectX capture option from the latest stable release (4.12.0) of SC.

« Last Edit: June 02, 2015, 01:40:27 AM by Deozaan, Reason: correct version number of latest SC as of this post »

Mattes57

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2015, 10:11:42 AM »
Is it possible to use the DirectX PlugIn with the portable version of SSC ?
Especially, is there a portable version of the plugin?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #19 on: June 04, 2015, 07:39:03 PM »
The addon is an amazing feat of work written by another coder, but it just never worked reliably enough to be usable.
Part of the problem from a coder's standpoint was that it had to keep trying to hit a moving target, with all the new versions of directx, etc.

Mattes57

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2015, 01:55:49 PM »
Do you know another tool that can make DirectX Screenshots? (besides Hypersnap)?

FemShep

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2016, 08:12:47 PM »
When I am trying to download the DirectX addon, I am getting an error message: "404, We're sorry.. The page you have requested could not be found."
Please, reupload the addon for the newest version of Screenshot Captor, thank you.

Cheers!

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor DirectX Capture Addon - EARLY BUGGY BETA
« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2016, 01:08:44 PM »
When I am trying to download the DirectX addon, I am getting an error message: "404, We're sorry.. The page you have requested could not be found."
Please, reupload the addon for the newest version of Screenshot Captor, thank you.

hi FemShep,
see the post above:

The addon is an amazing feat of work written by another coder, but it just never worked reliably enough to be usable.
Part of the problem from a coder's standpoint was that it had to keep trying to hit a moving target, with all the new versions of directx, etc.
Tom