Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 03, 2014, 02:09:35 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: It's alive, it's alive!!! mwahaha! - WinButtons and 7" touchscreen works  (Read 22219 times)
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #125 on: December 11, 2011, 08:34:29 PM »

I see. Well, definitely only a single standard type cable on this MIMO. I wonder if there are any other differences with the "touch 2"?
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #126 on: December 11, 2011, 11:23:34 PM »

I wonder if there are any other differences with the "touch 2"?
Well, one trifling way in which it differs from yours is that it works  Grin

Logged

Chris
4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,293



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #127 on: December 12, 2011, 03:50:35 AM »

It wants 1.0A from a USB connection and comes with a double-headed connector (I use only one with no problems).

Not trying to rain on your parade or anything but USB ports are only rated to provide 0.5-0.9A, (USB2-USB3).
The only way to get more from a USB3 port is if it is able to go into charging mode and that's done by shorting the D+ and D- data lines.

I'd rather have the inconvenience of the loss of a USB port for purely technical reasons than risk burning out whatever protection may be on the one I'm drawing too much current from and losing it anyway.

There is a reason why they provide that 'Y' cable.  Wink
Logged

Four wheel drive: Helping you get stuck faster, harder, further from help...........and it's no different on this forum Evil
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #128 on: December 12, 2011, 07:05:03 AM »

I wonder if there are any other differences with the "touch 2"?
Well, one trifling way in which it differs from yours is that it works  Grin

Ah, but my MIMO now works perfectly, better than expected. I may even buy another just so I can have two perfectly working MIMOs.

And, as 4wd has pointed out, it sounds like you MIMO will soon not be working or, at least, your USB ports will be smoldering along with your burnt out motherboard.  tongue
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #129 on: December 12, 2011, 04:37:00 PM »

Not trying to rain on your parade or anything but USB ports are only rated to provide 0.5-0.9A
I did wonder Y. Thanks for the warming, I'll play safe.

Quote from: nudone
your USB ports will be smoldering along with your burnt out motherboard
Yeah, but can yours cook breakfast?  Grin
 
Logged

Chris
4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,293



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #130 on: December 12, 2011, 07:10:59 PM »

Some VIA chips were known for not providing enough power for the USB ports thereby causing all manner of strange weirdness in USB devices.  Then again, some powered hubs may provide more than enough power to individual ports but unless the hub specs say it does who knows....the only thing you can really go by is the USB specs.
Logged

Four wheel drive: Helping you get stuck faster, harder, further from help...........and it's no different on this forum Evil
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #131 on: December 17, 2011, 07:27:16 AM »

This is just beyond pathetic now...

I've just started the machine up and the MIMO isn't working. This is after an entire week of it working perfectly.

You'll be glad to know I won't bother making any more posts about whether the MIMO works or not. My final word will simply be that...

The MIMO Touchscreens do not work DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON ONE.
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #132 on: December 17, 2011, 10:39:50 AM »

This is after an entire week of it working perfectly.
The MIMO Touchscreens do not work DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON ONE.
Since I know SFA about hardware I should probably stay quiet but...
(I, know, I know, you don't want to know)

Given that mine works just fine and yours is capable of running, could it be some other piece of software? Driver corruption?
I really do sympathize with your issues, have had plenty of my own but, judging by your own comments it seems possible that it might not be the MIMO.
Have you some other sucker friendly computer user who might try it out to verify?

You seem to be having such a run of bad luck with hardware that it's almost unbelievable (no unpleasantness intended — only commiseration).

 
Logged

Chris
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #133 on: December 17, 2011, 11:27:19 AM »

I don't honestly believe it's the MIMO hardware itself. But what exactly I don't know and don't see how I can resolve.

DisplayLink drivers - maybe.

The OCZ ssd corrupting data perhaps (I've now learnt that this brand of ssd has problems that my machine is experiencing, i.e. the bluescreen and freezes).

Two internal graphics cards powering three monitors - this probably doesn't help the DisplayLink driver.

The whole system - just isn't stable maybe and I ought to reinstall everything.

I did make a change to the system last night so that is likely to be the reason why the MIMO doesn't work. I installed "ShareMouse" so that I could control a Mac Mini as if it were simply an extra monitor to my machine. This all worked perfectly last night - but I didn't reboot my PC whilst testing (I think).

I was going to try installing the DisplayLink driver (which I've now removed) but I don't know if it's worth all this trouble. I'll probably get it to work and then another week or month from now the MIMO will be playing up again.

I suppose I've got to try haven't I. Phuuuuuuuuuuuuurgh. Does this desire to fiddle about with computers never stop. If I wasn't trying to tweak everything all the time the whole lot would, probably, just work.

MIMO, here I come again...
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #134 on: December 17, 2011, 07:16:05 PM »

With as much stuff as you have, I still believe that your safest bet is to have a redundant machine. It seems to me that you can't really afford to walk on the wild side when relying on only one machine for some bread and butter.

Did the two recent machines, one returned and one kept, have the same MoBo?

MIMO, here I come again...
Hey, an idea! Will this help? Replace the M's with G's  Grin

Sorry  embarassed


 Grin Grin Grin
 
Logged

Chris
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #135 on: December 18, 2011, 04:11:11 AM »

No, the previous, returned, machine had different hardware throughout (and a different supplier). The problem with that one was either dodgy sata sockets or the Crucial ssd.

I'm going to try to get the MIMO working again in a minute. If you hear someone screaming, it will probably be me.
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #136 on: December 18, 2011, 05:49:44 AM »

MIMO doesn't work after reinstalling the DisplayLink driver. It's getting worse if anything; flashing screens of solid colour and other rubbish. Swapping the USB ports just creates different problems.

Also, whilst typing out this post (well, the original version of this post) my machine bluescreened.

I'm going to have to just forget about all this for a while. I'm wasting way too much time on it all. It was fun for a while but, really, the most satisfaction I'd get out of all this hardware right now is by destroying it with a suitable solid heavy object - a steamroller would be perfect.


Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,202



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #137 on: December 18, 2011, 05:58:49 AM »

Did you try a different USB cable?, as the one supplied could be broken or have a dodgy connection. Sad
Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #138 on: December 18, 2011, 06:05:57 AM »

It could be the cable. I haven't tried another and I'm not going to either. Good suggestion but I'm not trying anything else now. The whole touchscreen idea is dead to me.

In fact, if anyone wishes to pay for the postage, they can have the MIMO. Let me know.
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,202



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #139 on: December 18, 2011, 06:11:28 AM »

In fact, if anyone wishes to pay for the postage, they can have the MIMO. Let me know.

If nobody else responds I'll take it, just to know if it works here like mine has since day 1: Flawless. (Besides the driver-quircks of flashing during initialization, ofcourse)
Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #140 on: December 18, 2011, 06:28:23 AM »

Oh, I'm sure it will work fine. I just don't think it will work reliably with multi gfx card and monitor setups - it was working fine for the past week until I installed ShareMouse. This seems to have sent the display part of my system beyond repair.

I'd restore a backup (before ShareMouse was installed) of my system to prove the point - except that Paragon won't work and recover my backups.

You may think I'm being defeatist, but when I look around the web with people having similar problems with bluescreens and similar hardware, the guaranteed solution appears to be to throw the whole lot in the dustbin and just buy all new hardware. Something I shall contemplate doing sometime next year - of course, none of that is guaranteed to work either.

I think the sane thing to do is just accept sometimes things are just incompatible. Or just aren't worth trying to fix as it will take too much messing about. All I need is for the computer to help me do my job each day. Nothing more than that. I could probably do all my work on an old 386 running Windows 95 - so, providing this computer does a little more than that, I'm doing well.
Logged
4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,293



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #141 on: December 18, 2011, 06:52:51 AM »

In fact, if anyone wishes to pay for the postage, they can have the MIMO. Let me know.

Me, me, me...errr....please!

Let me know postage to Oz if it hasn't gone already.
Logged

Four wheel drive: Helping you get stuck faster, harder, further from help...........and it's no different on this forum Evil
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,202



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #142 on: December 18, 2011, 06:53:59 AM »

I googled a bit on mimo and multiple video cards, and finally found the issues you've been talking about. Should have done that earlier embarassed

Your issues will eventually be solved once DisplayLink fixes their drivers to work with multiple (ATI) video adapters mounted in a system, and not earlier then that. They should be pun(i)shed for not providing properly working Windows 7 drivers for over 2 years now, as they where aware of the issues even before Windows 7 was released. Angry
Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #143 on: December 18, 2011, 07:20:09 AM »

Interesting. And not surprising. Though, I have two Nvidia cards - no doubt with the same issues as ATI.

I'm not too upset. I went into this (as I've said before) with the view that touchscreens may not work very well. Without WinButtons I'd still have to say that touchscreens are 100% totally and utterly useless - perhaps the MIMO manufactures share this view about their own products otherwise they might fix the inherent issues they have.


4wd and Ath, you will have to decide who should have the Touchscreen. I imagine the postage to Australia from the UK will be in the 30 to 40 pounds area. Is this something you'd be happy to pay, 4wd?
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #144 on: December 18, 2011, 07:37:12 AM »

Rethink...

You'll have to forgive me for going back on my word.

Now that Ath has stated that there are known issues with multiple graphics card setups that means I could get the MIMO to work quite happily with a single card.

I think I should try the MIMO with my Wacom Cintiq before I decide that I cannot use it at all. Using it with that system is probably the best use for it.

Sorry to get anyone's hopes up for a free touchscreen. I hope you understand that I need to get the dammed thing working for myself before I do anything else with it - it will cheer me up to have it working with the Cintiq if nothing else.
Logged
4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,293



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #145 on: December 18, 2011, 07:57:26 AM »

Sorry to get anyone's hopes up for a free touchscreen. I hope you understand that I need to get the dammed thing working for myself before I do anything else with it - it will cheer me up to have it working with the Cintiq if nothing else.

No problem, I didn't have a specific use for it other than as a possible second monitor/input/system status device I could incorporate into my tower case somehow.

I'm always on the lookout for a bargain cheesy

But even better if you can get it working with your system, good luck!
Logged

Four wheel drive: Helping you get stuck faster, harder, further from help...........and it's no different on this forum Evil
wraith808
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,229



"In my dreams, I always do it right."

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #146 on: December 18, 2011, 10:28:45 AM »

In fact, if anyone wishes to pay for the postage, they can have the MIMO. Let me know.

I'd like it if anyone else doesn't.  I was thinking about getting one, but the price has been a limitation.

Nevermind... a day late and a dollar short it appears...

Hope you get it working in any case!
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,295



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #147 on: December 18, 2011, 10:33:43 AM »

Quote
You'll have to forgive me for going back on my word

Don't think of it as going back on your word, think of it simply as episode 156 of the "Watch Nudone Lose His Mind" show.  I hear it's just been picked up for another season, and season one will be on dvd soon.

Someone please send nudone a few more of these little touchscreens and film him opening them up on christmas.
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #148 on: December 18, 2011, 11:26:38 AM »

think of it as going back on your word, think of it simply as episode 156 of the "Watch Nudone Lose His Mind" show
Grin Grin Grin

It is some of the best entertainment around (the poor devil)!

Unless, that is, one happens to be having similar problems — then it's hard to muster a chuckle.

Logged

Chris
Stoic Joker
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 5,218



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #149 on: December 18, 2011, 11:45:24 AM »

For example... Can you say "server down"?

Actually yes. I'm on the phone with a client who's edge router just went tits up (e.g. their Exchange server is "down").

But, muster a damn chuckle I will!
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.065s | Server load: 0.16 ]