Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:14:35 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013  (Read 35060 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #50 on: October 13, 2011, 01:39:55 PM »
ok im going to have a new version for you to test soon.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #51 on: October 13, 2011, 02:22:56 PM »
i really wish i had never used the dbisam database engine in this program, it has been nothing but trouble.

I don't know anything from the programmer's point of view, but I've never seen CHS lose or mangle any data it had captured.  Hence I'd rate the engine as sound from the users' point of view.

mouser, would it be a workaround to install CHS as portable rather than installed "normally?"  Would that put the temp directory somewhere less sensitive to AV programs?  And, is there an easy way to make the CHS SFX archive able to install as portable without having to remember to edit the INI file before first use?  I don't know about recent versions of WinRAR, but DOS RAR came with a "mini batch language" for making installations.  For the INI file, you'd just have to make it choose between a standard and portable?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #52 on: October 13, 2011, 02:37:57 PM »
I have actually thought about packing the zip-compatible installs in a way such that if you unpacked the files, it would start by default in portable mode -- i should do that.

As for the other thing -- unfortunately it doesn't look like running portably helps this weird locked database file problem..

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #53 on: October 13, 2011, 03:12:26 PM »
I have actually thought about packing the zip-compatible installs in a way such that if you unpacked the files, it would start by default in portable mode -- i should do that.

As for the other thing -- unfortunately it doesn't look like running portably helps this weird locked database file problem..

I had the locked database stuff a couple of times. I'm going now to avoid it like the plague — a sure trigger for disaster.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #54 on: October 14, 2011, 03:32:07 PM »
Mark and spknapp,

Can you download the latest alpha and give that a whirl?


spknapp

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #55 on: October 14, 2011, 04:45:43 PM »
I don't know what you did, but you went backwards. Just downloaded "latest" version per your request
Quote
Mark and spknapp,

Can you download the latest alpha and give that a whirl?
and upon starting it up was promptly presented with
Capture.JPG
clicking OK dismissed it. I get the same error EVERY time I left-click on the tray icon. Bringing up the main window give me a bad looking one
Capture2.JPG
so I closed down CH+S. Upon restarting the program I am presented with
Capture3.JPG
and clicking OK dismissed it. Again, every time I left-click the tray icon I get
Capture4.JPG

I'm going back to the version I loaded yesterday because it was working perfectly fine.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #56 on: October 14, 2011, 05:10:27 PM »
Maybe you can try the different temp file settings tweaks you tried before?

Im 99% certain these problems are related to a security software locking the temporary files, if you can only disable the scanning inside the folder you configure for the temporary access, that should solve it (of course that doesn't help others)

spknapp

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #57 on: October 14, 2011, 05:19:09 PM »
As you can see, it's set to the same setting as the version that doesn't throw errors:
Capture.JPG

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #58 on: October 14, 2011, 05:24:28 PM »
yes but id like to see if it might work now when you go back to the default of database temp directory.
unlikely but possible..

deepskytraveler

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #59 on: October 14, 2011, 05:27:08 PM »
Uninstalled and deleted the old database. Installed the latest alpha,  2.09.02, and getting the same errors as spknapp.

On startup....

image002.jpg

After a ctrl-c...

image004.jpg

The errors dismiss and CHS continues to run. The grid doesn't look as I expect it to look and none of the grid presets are showing in the pulldown....

image006.jpg


Mark

deepskytraveler

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #60 on: October 14, 2011, 05:36:33 PM »
Switched back to database temp directory as you suggested. CHS started up without error. First clip okay. Grid looks as expected. Moved clip between folders. No problems. On second clip however got this error...

image002.jpg

Dismissed this error and took another clip - successfully.  Go figure.

Mark

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #61 on: October 14, 2011, 05:40:53 PM »
It's hard to know if those "CreationDateTime" must have a value errors are related to the previous 11013 error -- that's why i'm ignoring them until we get the main bug fixed.

Let me know if you see any other errors now that the temp directory is changed.

deepskytraveler

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #62 on: October 14, 2011, 06:02:00 PM »
Worked through a series of new clips from MegaStar. Manipulated within the grid and tree structure. Printed clips and exported clips successfully. No errors. Closed CHS and restarted it. Captured more clips and did more manipulation. No errors. Will run through some more sequences over the weekend and will let you know if I run into any issues.

Mark

spknapp

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #63 on: October 14, 2011, 06:09:56 PM »
Nope. Still no good, no matter what I set the temp file tweak setting to.

Bringing CH+S up the first time after the new install it throws
Capture.JPG
and throws this every time I left-click the tray icon, too.

Shutdown and restart CH+S gives me this upon starting
Capture2.JPG
and every time I left-click the tray icon.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #64 on: October 14, 2011, 06:12:18 PM »
I appreciate all the patience you guys are exhibiting.. you are my heroes.

i'm building a new version with a different attempt at fix.. let's see how this one goes, stay tuned..

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #65 on: October 14, 2011, 06:20:24 PM »
Ok can you try the new download.. I'm trying now to retry when it gets a locked database file.. i don't know if this will work, let's see.

Error or not, paste me another screenshot of your stats with the new version.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #66 on: October 14, 2011, 09:56:43 PM »
Come on guys, give me some good news  :P

spknapp

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #67 on: October 14, 2011, 10:13:27 PM »
I uninstalled the version that works good, and installed your latest version. Immediately on startup it threw
Capture.JPG
I clicked OK and it went away. I then went into options to change the tweak Temp Directory setting and when I clicked "Accept" I got
Capture2.JPG
followed by
Capture3.JPG
Left-clicking on the tray icon gives me
Capture4.JPG
every time I left-click on the icon. When I open the main window it looks wrong
Capture5.JPG
I have exited and restarted CH+S with the same reults.

This is the same thing that has happened the last three times I have tried your "latest" versions.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #68 on: October 14, 2011, 10:58:47 PM »
can you screenshot me the Statistics tab?

deepskytraveler

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #69 on: October 15, 2011, 01:03:35 AM »
Downloaded the latest alpha version per your 6:20PM post.  Just ran through a quick sequence of capturing clips. No problems. Dragged and dropped clips between folders in the tree. No problems at first. However after clicking around a half dozen or so times on different folders in the tree I began getting multiple access exceptions. Once they were all dismissed I was unable to switch to a different folder. Exited and restarted CHS. Was able to recreate the same problem. Exited and restarted CHS again. This time the grid window looked like this...

image002.jpg

Just had to try it one more time...restarted CHS the grid window looked as I expected it to...

image004.jpg

Here's my stats page...

image005.jpg

Going to call it a night. Will be out of pocket until Saturday afternoon. But will be glad to continue to test.

Mark




mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #70 on: October 15, 2011, 10:47:29 AM »
New alpha version uploaded for my brave alpha tester team  :up:
Fingers crossed (again).

deepskytraveler

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #71 on: October 15, 2011, 10:31:45 PM »
Alpha tester Mark reporting on the latest version...

 :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:
Good news! Looking good!! Just went through my series of test cases. No errors. No unexpected behavior. Will continue to exercise it over the weekend and report back. Hope it works as well for spknapp.  Here's my stats page...

image002.jpg

Mark

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #72 on: October 15, 2011, 10:42:41 PM »
yeah!!! thank you Mark!! keep me informed if you get any more.
now we wait for spknapp to report in.

spknapp

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #73 on: October 16, 2011, 12:18:30 AM »
Looking good!! It starts up without any complaints; I can backup/restore/verify the database without any errors; and I have clipped and pasted several text and graphics all without incident! Here's my latest statistics (notice the default temp location!):
Capture.JPG

I'll keep playing but it looks the best so far! Thanks!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,411
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Error EX4: DBISAM Engine Error #11013
« Reply #74 on: October 16, 2011, 05:44:06 AM »
Awesome.
Thank you guys soo much for sticking with me and helping me test things.
Keep me informed if you get any more errors.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2011, 06:09:30 AM by mouser »