Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 04:24:37 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: UNFINISHED: Change screen brightness w/ hotkey  (Read 7256 times)

kli6891

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
UNFINISHED: Change screen brightness w/ hotkey
« on: August 23, 2010, 09:19:04 PM »
Hi,

is it possible to change a laptop's LCD brightness using F2 and F3?

I tried using autohotkey (see http://www.autohotke...orum/topic42443.html), but the code given is complex.

Can someone give some clarification?

Thanks.

P.S. Checked out DimScreen, but that doesn't actually change screen brightness, so battery life doesn't change.

Target

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,605
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change screen brightness w/ hotkey
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 12:42:10 AM »
what sort of laptop is it (mine has that functionality built in)

kli6891

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change screen brightness w/ hotkey
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 06:18:08 PM »
It does that have built in, but the software that it requires brings on too much baggage :(

scancode

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 638
  • I will eat Cody someday.
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change screen brightness w/ hotkey
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2010, 01:48:24 PM »
What OS are you running?

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Change screen brightness w/ hotkey
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2011, 12:16:24 PM »
have you tried using the built in function without installing the software? On my laptop(dell) I don't have the software installed when I was using windows, and the function still worked, and it also works in ubuntu which is what I use now. My mom's laptop (toshiba) also works in windows without any special software.
[Insert really cool signature here]