Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 28, 2016, 07:02:40 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: DONE: Open images without program window showing.  (Read 46585 times)

kilele

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #75 on: November 22, 2012, 07:59:44 AM »
yep, I meant the program's context menu, the enterer key might suffice if you consider interesting this feature.
My apologies for not understanding your misunderstanding  ;)
One more suggestion: scale images when their size  is too big to fit in the screen dimensions, something like what Vista's  "Windows Photo Gallery" does to keep images within the screen limits.

therube

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #76 on: December 21, 2012, 06:38:05 PM »
Frameless does not display CMYK, YCCK JPEGs correctly.

One is attached to this bug report, https://bugzilla.moz...how_bug.cgi?id=44781.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #77 on: December 22, 2012, 12:25:31 AM »
Frameless does not display CMYK, YCCK JPEGs correctly.
One is attached to this bug report, https://bugzilla.moz...how_bug.cgi?id=44781.

From my tests, this appears to be a limitation of the standard Windows picture control that AHK implements.  In other words, I don't think there is anything I can do about it.  Apologies.

joeyT

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #78 on: February 03, 2013, 03:17:49 PM »
Hi!  The Frameless program is exactly what I needed! Thank you very much! This is not the only time you have helped me out with your fantastic programs!

However, I have one question.  Would there be any way to display the image 'always on bottom' so as to be behind other windows that will run while Frameless runs, in my batch file as opposed to allowing the program to run 'always on top' (aot = yes). And would it be a considerably all right question to ask you to implement such feature?

I have been trying to figure out a way to keep my command prompt window to always remain ontop of the Frameless picture window but I am having a lot of trouble trying to find a way to do this.
The command window always runs before any other file is loaded in the batch file, so as Framless runs only after the command window shows, the image appears on top of the command window.

I know I can just switch to the command window after it has loaded but my desired effect is that the command window will start on top of the Frameless picture - or that the Frameless picture will always stay under other windows.

I should explain that I want the command promt to be able to be used quickly as I am creating a Java built game and wish for a 'background' behind the command window to get rid of other desktop distractions.

Much appreciated,
Joey.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #79 on: February 03, 2013, 07:29:10 PM »
Hi, Joey, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.  Please give this version a try and see if it's what you had in mind:

Website | Download
v1.0.9 - 2013-02-03
    + Added aob=yes parameter to display an image at the bottom of the z-order.
      (Thanks, joeyT)
    + Added update check to the image context menu.

joeyT

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #80 on: February 04, 2013, 01:50:54 AM »
That is exactly what I had in mind! Thank you for the quick reply and especially for updating your program. Seriously, you have saved my skin and it is much appreciated!

I think I'l stick around :)

joey

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #81 on: February 04, 2013, 07:55:53 AM »
Great to hear.   :)

Bziur

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #82 on: March 11, 2013, 04:17:44 AM »
Is it possible to delete a file with this viewer? I'm missing that in First Impression :(

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #83 on: December 20, 2013, 05:42:30 PM »
Is it possible to delete a file with this viewer? I'm missing that in First Impression :(

Doh!  Sorry, Bziur, I must have missed your post.  No, you cannot delete a file with Frameless.

Website | Download
v1.1.2 - 2013-12-20
    ! Frameless errored out if x/y values were not specified.  Default x/y values
      are now zero (0).  (Thanks, Attila)

struggler

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #84 on: February 13, 2014, 12:44:29 PM »
Hello skwire,

I have tried Frameless and it appears an excellent program when opening JPG images.  However I only want to use it for animated GIFs. These work but the GIF is not completely frameless. It seems to open a box about 40% larger than the GIF with the moving image positioned in the top left corner. So I get an animated GIF with thick bands of white on the bottom and right hand sides only. I have tried setting the parameters w and h to the size that displays in the right click context box but this just reduces the overall size so that the image is cropped and the white bands remain, albeit slightly smaller. The whole block is positioned correctly as required using x & y parameters and the duration function is also working fine.

As no-one else on the forum has this problem, maybe it is my PC or some mysterious setting. I am using 64bit windows 7 OS. The Gifs run normally with IE 9, WMP & 7GIF so it is not the images that are bad. Have you any clever weezes that might sort this out. I have tried removing the program a number of times and reinstalling but the same problem occurs.

As my username suggests, I am a virtual illiterate when it comes to computing. Any suggestions will be gratefully received.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #85 on: February 13, 2014, 02:13:50 PM »
Hi, struggler, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.   :Thmbsup:

Unfortunately, the GIF support that Frameless has is handled by an old third-party DLL so there isn't a whole lot I can do about how it displays your GIF files.   :(  
« Last Edit: February 13, 2014, 05:35:09 PM by skwire »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #86 on: August 12, 2014, 03:54:38 PM »
Website | Download
v1.1.3 - 2014-08-12
    + Added option to use PNG alpha transparency.  Use trans="alpha" to take
      advantage of this feature.  (Thanks, Adam B.)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #87 on: August 24, 2014, 08:30:56 PM »
Website | Download
v1.1.4 - 2014-08-24
    ! Images sizes weren't reset when using the hotkeys to navigate a folder of images.
      (Thanks, Ed)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #88 on: October 10, 2014, 09:04:15 PM »
You can now resize images as you would a normal window.  Hold down the shift key while resizing to keep the images's original aspect ratio.  Resizing is not supported for GIF files nor when the trans=alpha option is in use.

Website | Download
v1.1.5 - 2014-10-10
    + Images are now resizable.  This excludes GIF files and files where the
      "trans=alpha" parameter are in effect.  Holding down the shift key while
      resizing keeps the image's aspect ratio.  (Thanks, B. Johnson)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #89 on: October 11, 2014, 01:41:51 AM »
Website | Download
v1.1.6 - 2014-10-11
    + Added "noactivate=yes" option to show an image without activating the
      window and taking focus.  (Thanks, lanux128)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,634
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #90 on: November 10, 2014, 01:34:33 AM »
Website | Download
v1.1.7 - 2014-11-09
    ! With some Windows themes, a border would appear along the bottom and right
      edges of the image.  (Thanks, lanux128 & Alex N.)

bandit012345

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Open images without program window showing.
« Reply #91 on: November 08, 2015, 03:03:42 AM »
I recently used a program called "Image Overlay Utility" and it had 2 features that were really cool.
- Click Thru (keeps the open image always on top and cannot be moved, but objects can be moved under it)
- Region transparency (if an image contains areas of transparency, you can see the desktop in those areas - but the rest of the image remains solid)
If Frameless is still being developed, I would like to add these options as a suggestion.

P.S. "Image Overlay Utility" requires a license to work with command-line. That's why I still use Frameless.