Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 02, 2014, 11:46:27 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2013! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: Faster boots combining hibernate and restart (Boot Snooze)  (Read 61228 times)
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,481



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2010, 04:11:30 AM »

Tomos, does the same thing happen with both the .ahk and the .exe?

that was with the AHK
will try out the exe now, but I'm heading out shortly - so if you dont hear from me shortly that will hopefully mean it was successful smiley

Working so far with the exe - timer is at 7 minutes and counting  Thmbsup
Logged

Tom
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2010, 12:59:29 PM »

Cool.  Let's come up with a name for this and I'll package it up as a regular Skwire Empire application.
Logged

wep
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 31


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2010, 01:11:07 PM »

I like this Great idea!
Now I have restart2hibernate.cmd file on my desktop with following command lines:
[copy or print]
REG ADD HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce /v HIBERNATE /t REG_SZ /d "rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState"
shutdown -r -t 00

I'm seeking for how to make possible to call hibernation on logon screen, using any possible programming method.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 01:30:39 PM by wep » Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2010, 02:31:14 PM »

Cool.  Let's come up with a name for this and I'll package it up as a regular Skwire Empire application.
Off To Sleep?
Logged

Chris
scancode
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 636



I will eat Cody someday.

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2010, 02:43:29 PM »

I like this Great idea!
Now I have restart2hibernate.cmd file on my desktop with following command lines:
[copy or print]
REG ADD HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce /v HIBERNATE /t REG_SZ /d "rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState"
shutdown -r -t 00

I'm seeking for how to make possible to call hibernation on logon screen, using any possible programming method.

Are you using Windows XP (won't work on Vista/7)?

If so, make a Winlogon Notification Package

http://www.codeproject.co...;exp=0&select=1732221
http://msdn.microsoft.com.../aa374783%28VS.85%29.aspx

Cheers.
Logged

f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: January 31, 2010, 03:43:50 PM »

Here's an AHK prototype:
I wouldn't launch the "10 mins wait then hibernate" command via Autostart but the "runonce" registry setting (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/137367)
The "10 mins wait" command should also check if the system is idle and/or do a "10 seconds to hibernate" countdown.
I'd prefer not to muck about in a user's registry if at all possible.  However, if the startup folder method proves to be a problem, I'll go that route.
RunOnce is cleaner than mucking around with the filesystem - it's made exactly for situations like this.
Logged

- carpe noctem
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: January 31, 2010, 04:59:17 PM »

Cool.  Let's come up with a name for this and I'll package it up as a regular Skwire Empire application.
Off To Sleep?
"Faster boots " -> Running Snooze?
Logged

Chris
wep
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 31


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: February 01, 2010, 02:59:04 AM »

Are you using Windows XP (won't work on Vista/7)?

I'm using both Win7(office) and XP(home).
I checked out, it works in Win7 too.

Quote
If so, make a Winlogon Notification Package
Thank you for the links. I meant to use script/command programming (ahk, vbs, js, dos commands etc), not using dll (I have not experience in dll programming).
« Last Edit: February 01, 2010, 12:31:01 PM by wep » Logged

skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: February 01, 2010, 03:21:19 AM »

Boot Snooze?  We could shorten it to, wait for it, Booze.   tongue tongue
Logged

skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: February 01, 2010, 04:14:21 PM »

Website | Download
v1.0.1 - 2010-02-01
    * Boot Snooze now uses the RunOnce registry key.  (Thanks, wr975 & f0dder)


 
« Last Edit: February 01, 2010, 04:33:59 PM by skwire » Logged

doctorfrog
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 134


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: February 02, 2010, 01:23:45 AM »

What a marvelous idea.
Logged
redstarnyc
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 33


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: February 02, 2010, 07:28:16 AM »

This has to be one of the best ideas in a long time.  If I was smarter I might have thought of it myself.
Logged

RedstarNYC
Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: February 02, 2010, 08:02:49 PM »

Great idea - will try it out now...

OK back - had an issue with the buttons not showing the full text. I am sure this has to do with my visual style. Indeed if i turn off the theme or reset to Luna the buttons look correct.

A mild annoyance, but can it be fixed?

Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: February 02, 2010, 09:07:01 PM »

Ampa, please try the interim build I just uploaded: v1.0.1.2

If that doesn't work, I'll just widen the buttons a bit.  Thanks.
Logged

MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 886


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: February 03, 2010, 06:20:27 AM »

would it be possible to add a timer so that the reboot (then the hibernation) only starts after a given time ?
Logged

.merle1.
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: February 03, 2010, 06:51:08 AM »

Sure, it's possible.  Could you give me a scenario where this would be necessary, though?  What I mean is...this app is meant to be used when you're done with everything and ready to reboot.
Logged

Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: February 03, 2010, 07:34:21 AM »

Still missing the words Hibernate and Standby with the newest build.

Also: my system shuts down, reboots, the Hibernate warning appears, but no Hibernation occurs.
I have been impatient and clicked the Hibernate now button, so don't know whether Hibernation happens at the end of 10 mins.
I have not tested Standby.
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #42 on: February 03, 2010, 07:42:21 AM »

Still missing the words Hibernate and Standby with the newest build.

Okay, I'll make the buttons wider in the next build.

Also: my system shuts down, reboots, the Hibernate warning appears, but no Hibernation occurs.
I have been impatient and clicked the Hibernate now button, so don't know whether Hibernation happens at the end of 10 mins.
I have not tested Standby.

For hibernation to work, your computer must have "Enable hibernation" already checked under your Control Panel, Power Options, Hibernate tab.  Is this enabled?  If so, which OS are you using?
Logged

MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 886


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #43 on: February 03, 2010, 07:49:36 AM »

Sure, it's possible.  Could you give me a scenario where this would be necessary, though?  What I mean is...this app is meant to be used when you're done with everything and ready to reboot.

For instance, when I leave home in the morning, I put my XP desktop in hibernation, it wakes up just before I get home.  This morning, I had a huge download to perform, and had either to stop it and hibernate OR to leave it running.  With BootSnooze, I could have asked for a reboot/hibernate in 3 hours time, then, when coming home, my PC would just resume from hibernation and the download would have been complete.
Logged

.merle1.
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #44 on: February 03, 2010, 07:55:29 AM »

Ampa, grab the build I just pushed, please: v1.0.1.3

Does that fix the button issue?
Logged

skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #45 on: February 03, 2010, 07:56:36 AM »

For instance, when I leave home in the morning, I put my XP desktop in hibernation, it wakes up just before I get home.  This morning, I had a huge download to perform, and had either to stop it and hibernate OR to leave it running.  With BootSnooze, I could have asked for a reboot/hibernate in 3 hours time, then, when coming home, my PC would just resume from hibernation and the download would have been complete.

Ah, I gotcha.  Sure, I'll add it in.   smiley
Logged

parkint
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 119


It's bad luck to be superstitious

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #46 on: February 03, 2010, 08:23:42 AM »

Cool.  Let's come up with a name for this and I'll package it up as a regular Skwire Empire application.
Off To Sleep?
I really like that name!!
Or, perhaps, "Off to Snooze"
Logged

Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #47 on: February 03, 2010, 01:26:04 PM »

OK testing version 1.0.1.3 and the buttons still don't show the whole text.

FYI the visual style I am using is Tener VS

Perhaps you could change the UI so that the label reads "Restart then..." and the buttons simply say Hibernate and Standby? But this may be bad user interface practice - I don't know!

As for Hibernation - it is enabled and works just fine if I do it manually. My suspicion is that Defence+ (part of Comodo Firewall) is preventing Boot Snooze from operating correctly by preventing some registry keys being created or something. I shall experiment with the firewall down / setting BS as a trusted app.

Thanks for the effort you are putting in to this smiley

UPDATE: Added Boot Snooze as a trusted app, and also tried taking down the firewall, and still no Hibernation Sad

Update 2: Tried with Standby - same result (reboots, message box appears with countdown, click the button to standby, but nothing happens).


Using WinXP SP3 (custom install - somewhat slimmed down - perhaps something important for Boot Snooze is missing?)
« Last Edit: February 03, 2010, 09:44:41 PM by Ampa » Logged
wep
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 31


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #48 on: February 03, 2010, 10:08:51 PM »

For hibernation to work, your computer must have "Enable hibernation" already checked under your Control Panel, Power Options, Hibernate tab.  Is this enabled?  If so, which OS are you using?
Also, it might be resolved by means of "powercfg -h on" command execution in the "Boot Snooze" - just for user convinience.
Logged

skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,038



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #49 on: February 04, 2010, 12:03:36 AM »

Also, it might be resolved by means of "powercfg -h on" command execution in the "Boot Snooze" - just for user convinience.

Ah, very nice.  Thanks for the heads up.
Logged

Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.049s | Server load: 0.06 ]