Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 30, 2014, 11:07:48 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: BBCeditor 1.1.35  (Read 87864 times)
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #75 on: June 06, 2009, 10:20:53 PM »

2cranioscopical
Do I understand correctly that the only difference would be to not have [] added and/or allow skipping HTML code for it at all?

If yes, I could do it in next version smiley

Yes. that's all it would need. 

Thanks!
Logged

Chris
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #76 on: June 06, 2009, 10:43:41 PM »

Unfortunately I have to be very wary every time I use a keyboard shortcut. There are too damn many on my computer as it is. I love using the keyboard but this is getting crazy! No software installations overwrite existing software's hotkeys, Or the existing ones refuse to yield and then I can't use them in the new software... unless it has a way to change the hotkeys manually.

I never know what will happen when I press the hotkeys now. Grrrr.  !!

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #77 on: June 06, 2009, 11:14:10 PM »

Quote from: J-Mac
No software installations overwrite existing software's hotkeys, Or the existing ones refuse to yield and then I can't use them in the new software...

As far as I understand, BBCeditor does not overwrite "existing software's hotkeys". It has it's own set but you can tell the same about any other application in your system. I don't think there is easy way to check which shortcuts are occupied globally because there are too many "tricks" behind it: registry entries, Start menu keys, services, background applications with keyboard hooks or drivers. Do you really think I should check all possibilities and disable not suited combinations?

The only solution I can see is to make my set configurable but this is something I still have to learn and can't do right away.

That is why I assumed that common shortcuts (i.e. Ctrl+B) are safe enough to be used. I thought the same thing about combinations which exist in other editors (i.e. Ctl+Space in Visual Studio).

Quote from: J-Mac
I never know what will happen when I press the hotkeys now. Grrrr.  !!
For BBCeditor: Help -> Shortcuts.

I've always thought that I should always expect that focused application keys have priority. If other application starts working while sitting in tray or background then it is its "fault". It is rather non-standard behaviour to be worried about hooks set by other applications. I.e. how can I predict that nVidia will take Alt+LeftArrow to rotate screen by 90 degrees or FARR will pop up? It is almost impossible to do.

I feel your criticism is undeserved because I simply did what I had thought would be the best: to follow other editors shortcuts as much as possible.

I will try to limit my keys a little bit (i.e. Ctrl+Space and Ctrl+Alt+Space for snippets only) but I don't really know how far should I go.
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #78 on: June 06, 2009, 11:36:57 PM »

I wasn't criticizing your program fenix. Just commenting in reply to Chris's post. I often can't use keyboard shortcuts because of the reasons I mentioned. If there is no other way to access a feature, I'm sometimes in trouble!

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #79 on: June 06, 2009, 11:47:34 PM »

2J-Mac
I see your opinion better now. There was no recipient in your message and that is why I overreacted a little bit Wink

I agree with you with some parts of ranting (I've mentioned nVidia already)…
« Last Edit: June 06, 2009, 11:49:22 PM by fenixproductions » Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #80 on: June 07, 2009, 12:12:22 AM »

2J-Mac
I see your opinion better now. There was no recipient in your message and that is why I overreacted a little bit Wink

I agree with you with some parts of ranting (I've mentioned nVidia already)…

Sorry about that. Actually I thought I had quoted Chris's post - guess I missed it.

I imagine the hotkey issue sounds weird to most - unless they have experienced it! I agree that the in-focus app should be in control, but I can tell you that is not always the case! It is maddening when you are working in one applications, use a hotkey that was defined for the program, and suddenly see a different program open and respond to the hotkey instead. And you didn't even know you had a hotkey available for that program!

Right after my last post I opened Tranglos's new app ActiveHotkeys and Autohotkey and decided try once again to learn AHK.  smiley  Maybe I can fix some of these that way.

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #81 on: June 07, 2009, 12:32:15 AM »

2J-Mac
I understand it completely because it happened to me few times too.

The strangest issue was with already mentioned nVidia. I am always switching off unnecessary garbage from my system tray in home PC but at office you've got preconfigured environment to work with and lot of apps you're not aware of. So it took me more than 15 minutes and physical screen rotation (hopefully: LCD) to figure out what happened. I was in the middle of writing and my whole screen rotated unexpected. I was wondering who, the hell, had thought it was "nice to have" feature Wink
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #82 on: June 07, 2009, 02:16:20 AM »

2J-Mac
I understand it completely because it happened to me few times too.

The strangest issue was with already mentioned nVidia. I am always switching off unnecessary garbage from my system tray in home PC but at office you've got preconfigured environment to work with and lot of apps you're not aware of. So it took me more than 15 minutes and physical screen rotation (hopefully: LCD) to figure out what happened. I was in the middle of writing and my whole screen rotated unexpected. I was wondering who, the hell, had thought it was "nice to have" feature Wink

Same thing almost happened to me last week! I recently purchased an Acer monitor and while installing the driver that came with it four programs were also installed. One was a configuration app that was OK; E.g., it has an auto-brightness adjustment depending on the ambient lighting and whether or not the screen is mostly white or a darker screen. I can live with that one, but the others were not necessary at all. One is a screen rotator and when using a hotkey that I use often in TextAloud a dialog popped up asking if I was sure I wanted to rotate my screen orientation 90 degrees. Yikes! I removed that one.

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #83 on: June 07, 2009, 04:20:16 PM »

Guys,

I believe the technical term for this issue is the hotkey hokey cokey.

 smiley
Logged

Chris
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #84 on: June 07, 2009, 05:00:22 PM »

1.0.18 is ready smiley

Most important change: "simple text" option for custom buttons!

Sample usage:

1. set your button like:



2. get result:

Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #85 on: June 07, 2009, 06:34:58 PM »

You're right, this is Cool   thumbs up thumbs up

Thank you very much for that.
BTW, I find the ability to have a larger font in the spelling checker very useful.

May I submit a wish list?
  • Is it possible to make the 'Spell Check' dialogue larger? It would be good, when using a larger font, to see more of the 'text being checked'. At the moment, a larger font means fewer words in view. I see the dialogue has a resizer, but it's disabled.
  • Is it possible to change the font in the preview pane? Or at least its size?
  • Can you display the icons attached to the new 'single tag, simple text' in the preview pane?


« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 06:36:31 PM by cranioscopical » Logged

Chris
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #86 on: June 07, 2009, 06:50:00 PM »

Quote from: cranioscopical
Is it possible to make the 'Spell Check' dialogue larger? It would be good, when using a larger font, to see more of the 'text being checked'. At the moment, a larger font means fewer words in view. I see the dialogue has a resizer, but it's disabled.

I will try to make it resizable (with width / height saving).

Quote from: cranioscopical
Is it possible to change the font in the preview pane? Or at least its size?
That is what style.css file exists for smiley

You can add this to it:
Formatted for CSS with the GeSHI Syntax Highlighter [copy or print]
  1. body
  2. {
  3. font-size:x-large;
  4. }

Quote from: cranioscopical
Can you display the icons attached to the new 'single tag, simple text' in the preview pane?

You need to specify proper HTML tag for your simple texts. Please, take a look on first screenshot from my previous post.

Simply written: <img src="YOUR PATH TO FILE" />

The best ways is to copy button image path into src attribute quotes.
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #87 on: June 07, 2009, 07:41:09 PM »



Sorry for being so dim!
Logged

Chris
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #88 on: June 07, 2009, 07:51:54 PM »

2cranioscopical
Small reminder: you can customize any element of the Preview panel using mentioned style.css file. Just investigate it a little bit more smiley

If you know HTML and CSS and miss some IDs / classes / tags, then take a look on generated Preview code (RMB -> View source). If you see what is behind, you should create nice layout easily.
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #89 on: June 07, 2009, 09:27:05 PM »

@fenix: Thanks, you did say that way back at the beginning but, to be honest, I'd forgotten.
Logged

Chris
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #90 on: June 07, 2009, 09:37:44 PM »

@fenix: Thanks, you did say that way back at the beginning but, to be honest, I'd forgotten.
That is why I've used "small reminder" phrase smiley
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,869


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #91 on: June 07, 2009, 10:39:05 PM »

Uh-oh.

1.0.18 is throwing errors here. I can open it, check or change settings, no problem. But as soon as I click in the left pane the following error dialog appears:



If I click continue it stays open but again I cannot click in the left pane or I get the same message.

Jim
« Last Edit: June 07, 2009, 10:41:06 PM by J-Mac » Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #92 on: June 08, 2009, 03:18:07 AM »

2J-Mac
Can you post "Detalis"? What happens with clean INI file?

Can you try debug version (just replace EXE and copy PDB files into BBCeditor directory) and post "Details" too?

If there is no problem with new INI, please post old one. Of course, use spoiler tag for it smiley

* Debug.zip (204.56 KB - downloaded 150 times.)
« Last Edit: June 08, 2009, 03:24:58 AM by fenixproductions » Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #93 on: June 08, 2009, 12:33:30 PM »

1.0.19 is out!

SpellCheck dialogue can be resized now.
I have also fixed small bug with new lines in HTML code generated for Preview panel.

2J-Mac
If you still have problems, please download standard version first and overwrite existing files with the ones from this archive:
http://fenixproductions.d...members.com/bbc/debug.zip

If some error will occur, post any details then.
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #94 on: June 08, 2009, 01:44:08 PM »

Quote from: fenixproductions
1.0.19 is out!
SpellCheck dialogue can be resized now.
That's very welcome, it is a great improvement as far as I am concerned thumbs up thumbs up

Plus, playing with style.css has set me up with text displays that suit my screen res.

Quote
I have also fixed small bug with new lines in HTML code generated for Preview panel.
I'd noticed noticed an occasional line break quirk but assumed it was something I'd caused... because it usually is smiley

Thanks again!
Logged

Chris
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #95 on: June 09, 2009, 11:08:26 AM »

2J-Mac
I think I found where "your" bug occurs. It should be solved with next release.
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #96 on: June 09, 2009, 03:50:51 PM »

1.0.20 is out!

I think I've fixed access violation error for code area click (reason: empty snippets list).

I have also added an option to have different overwrite warning while user wants to save code to file which already exists. This feature is switched OFF by default because I did not test it too much. Although I think there should be no problems with it.

I have also made few smaller changes like:
- additional Cancel button in "Save on close" message;
- click on URL button surrounds selected text with proper tags (same behaviour as for other buttons - i .e. B);

Now I am working on better BB parsing engine which will use regular expressions only. I hope it will speed things up a little bit.
Small part of it is already implemented and can be switched on via hidden UseAltParser=1 parameter but it still requires a lot of work.
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #97 on: June 09, 2009, 05:10:31 PM »

@fenix: More first-class improvements!

So, let me reward your efforts by being yet more of a pain!  Wink

CTRL-Z handles undo, but not in all cases.

"ddd eee" then CTRL-Z = ""
"ddd eee" then select "eee" then CTRL-U = "ddd eee" after which CRL-Z has no effect.

Logged

Chris
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #98 on: June 09, 2009, 06:03:12 PM »

2cranioscopical
I know that Undo is problematic. I have not look on my own implementation yet so it's using built-in functionality.

BTW I found one more bug so… do not open empty files untill next release (just wait few minutes).
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
fenixproductions
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,170



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #99 on: June 09, 2009, 06:38:09 PM »

1.0.21 release with quick fix for empty files opening bug.

I will stop "mad rush" for a while until I clean up code a little bit and finish parsing engine.
I don't think it will take long because only few standard tags left and, of course, custom ones.
Logged

Надо было учиться, а не камни в школу бросать...
--
When I am bored I write for displaynone smiley
--
f0dder is my personal hero smiley
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.049s | Server load: 0.12 ]