Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 05:33:22 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: change an existing Windows Explorer's location?  (Read 2203 times)

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
change an existing Windows Explorer's location?
« on: February 21, 2008, 06:21:15 PM »
When I FARR-browse to a folder, it always opens in a new Windows Explorer.  Is there a way to get it to find an existing Windows Explorer and point to the new folder? 

If not, does that functionality work with any of the replacement explorers?

And regardless, Mouser, is there a Windows Explorer replacement that you endorse?


lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,216
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: change an existing Windows Explorer's location?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 07:49:01 PM »
if you use a file manager that has option for running in "Single Instance only", then it's possible that the path will be opened in the existing window/pane/tab. as for Windows Explorer, an AutoHotKey script can be used to detect any existing Windows Explorer and point to the new folder. i'll post one if nobody comes forward in a day or two..

about that Explorer replacement, check out this thread: What's your preferred File Manager? ;)

softwarerock

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: change an existing Windows Explorer's location?
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 06:23:37 AM »
Hi Lanux128
I am using Ultra Explorer for file management. I want to use Ultra explorer for Custom File manager for FARR. Could u please help me in this.

Thanks in advance.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,216
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: change an existing Windows Explorer's location?
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2008, 06:46:08 AM »
it's actually straight-forward; just go to the options and in the "General" tab browse to or fill-in the path to UE. check out this topic also.