Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 04:08:40 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]  (Read 15854 times)

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #25 on: December 29, 2007, 12:20:08 PM »
The split process model is smart, since it ensures your shell wont crash if an explorer.exe browsing your filesystem crashes (usually because of a third-party plugin).

I've been running windows like that for some time and disabled it last week to check out what XPMyths has to say about it: http://mywebpages.co...hs.html#Optimization (ctrl-f "launch folders in a separate process" will take you there).

I can report that I get a lot more crashes without it than I did with it, so am going to re-enable it now  :Thmbsup:
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #26 on: December 29, 2007, 12:33:05 PM »
Don't put absolute faith in that XPMyths site... but I believe that was already discussed here. *cough*.
- carpe noctem

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #27 on: December 29, 2007, 12:44:55 PM »
Yes, I recall that thread well! Anyway, you're right about not putting absolute faith in XPMyths, as my own experience with "launch folders in a separate process" illustrates!

Tom - you probably don't have "launch folders in a separate process" enabled as it's not a default setting. I recommend that you DO enable it! Go to Windows Explorer and select the tools drop down menu then Folder Options. Select the view tab and you'll find it there.
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #28 on: December 29, 2007, 12:48:37 PM »
PS Tom - I recommend that you do the above because you're running Dopus 8, as I recall? I'm pretty sure that GPSoft recommends that you do this as well...
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Lashiec

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,374
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #29 on: December 29, 2007, 12:50:09 PM »
Reality: Even if Windows XP is a stable operating system, the peace of mind will cost you a mere 8-10 MB, released as soon as you exit any explorer window.

I'll try typing that secret phase in Notepad, never bothered to do so 'til now ;D

EDIT: Ow, a "piece of mind" is running cheap these days ;D
« Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 01:27:17 PM by Lashiec »

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #30 on: December 29, 2007, 12:53:14 PM »
Reality: Even if Windows XP is a stable operating system, the piece of mind will cost you a mere 8-10 MB, released as soon as you exit any explorer window.
Yeah, and using a second explorer.exe instance isn't THAT bad, because of the copy-on-write sharing windows does of executable images (including DLLs).

And if you use an alternative file browser (like you should ;), xplorer^2 being a goooood alternative), you won't be launching the second explorer.exe instance very often anyway.
- carpe noctem

Lashiec

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,374
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #31 on: December 29, 2007, 01:26:23 PM »
Hmmm, I wonder what is doing that window called xplorer² in my taskbar ;)

The only thing for what I launch a explorer window these days is for the Control Panel, just because it's not arranged in alphabetical order in xplorer :)

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #32 on: December 29, 2007, 01:48:52 PM »
Hmmm, I wonder what is doing that window called xplorer² in my taskbar ;)

The only thing for what I launch a explorer window these days is for the Control Panel, just because it's not arranged in alphabetical order in xplorer :)
What about "my network places" then? That doesn't work for me in xplorer^2 :/
- carpe noctem

nosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #33 on: December 29, 2007, 01:53:44 PM »
I've never given the "launch folders in a separate process" much thought, it's always been disabled. Had I known about the less crash0-damage bit I'd have enabled it in a heartbeat. Better late than never.

Read this recently at Shellcity...   
Quote
XTRA WINDOWS STABILITY.......... Xtra Windows Stability was designed to enhance Windows stability and to minimize loss of your work on Windows crash. This is done by forcing Windows to run its subsystems as separate processes. These subsystems are: Desktop, Explorer (Folders) and Internet Explorer. Using these enhancements can slightly increase memory usage while running several folders or Internet Explorer Windows. If you run only few of them, there should be no difference.....(free).....GO THERE!

I assume it's doing more than just enabling this tweak but haven't had a burning urge or anything to try it out. ;)

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #34 on: December 29, 2007, 01:57:36 PM »
Personally I use and like FreeCommander.

It can show whatever you want and has some cool options and default toolbar buttons. And being free is very cool.

http://www.freecommander.com/

I won't replace windows explorer though. I'll just leave it cuz I like it sometimes. I've added freecommander to RocketDock, so it's easy to access.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,333
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #35 on: December 29, 2007, 02:05:24 PM »
Tom - you probably don't have "launch folders in a separate process" enabled as it's not a default setting. I recommend that you DO enable it! Go to Windows Explorer and select the tools drop down menu then Folder Options. Select the view tab and you'll find it there.
thanks Mike
turns out I did have it enabled - via nlite I think [or maybe Autopatcher] cause I aint done it post-windows-install
so I'll leave it that way, thanks f0dder too :up:
Tom
« Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 02:19:48 PM by tomos »

Lashiec

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,374
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #36 on: December 29, 2007, 02:06:27 PM »
What about "my network places" then? That doesn't work for me in xplorer^2 :/

Ah, I don't have a network set up at home, nor I'm connected to any other network, apart from the Internet, so I don't have much use for it :)

nosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #37 on: December 29, 2007, 02:13:00 PM »
What about "my network places" then?

Works fine here. Or are you talking about Vista?

Clipboard01.jpg

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #38 on: December 29, 2007, 02:17:23 PM »
Nah, XP, and I was talking about "Network Connections" and not "My Network Places".

Seems like I can get it to open if I go to settings and double-click the (expanding) "Network Connections" menu item, but if I double-click a network icon in my tray it... uh... it... works.

Must've been my old windows install that was b0rked then, because usually it would bring up some random folder.
- carpe noctem

nosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #39 on: December 29, 2007, 02:22:32 PM »
How nice for you! I just tried that and it opened D:\Nero  :-\

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #40 on: December 29, 2007, 05:54:17 PM »
Is it the search feature, Curt? Or is it Windows Explorer? As noted above, if I run Windows Explorer with the QTTab plugins I get a second explorer.exe process running as well... If, as f0dder notes, I have "launch folders in a separate process" enabled the second instance of explorer.exe doesn't close with Windows Explorer. What With "launch folders in a separate process" disabled, the second instance does close...


Hmmm... I am not too sure what is causing what. Testing: As I am typing this I only have a single explorer.exe running and no Explorer window / shell open. As I open C\Programs (incl QTTab, and with six other folder tabs ready) there is still only one explorer.exe. Using QT to move files to another folder: one copy only. Using Explorer to copy2 = one. I am beginning to be confused again again. How did I even manage to have two copies of explorer.exe? I have seen two of them many many times (latest when I typed my previous post), but it is only now I am realizing that I actually don't know WHY there sometimes are two instead of merely one copy open. Apparently I have changed the "seperat process" settings without remembering, but I am using QT a lot right now and with only one explorer.exe open, so I will have to eath my words about the use of "Stifinder" (what is the English name?).

EDIT1+2: One explanation on my XP is that when ALzip has extracted a container it will open an extra copy of Explorer in order to display the folder's content. (I do this several times a day).

Well, that was one reason...
« Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 06:18:13 PM by Curt »

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #41 on: December 29, 2007, 06:18:40 PM »
Stifinder = explorer. Although, iirc, "stifinder" is a shortcut for launching explorer.exe with the tree-view open.
- carpe noctem

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #42 on: February 02, 2008, 10:22:56 AM »
I'll try typing that secret phase in Notepad, never bothered to do so 'til now ;D

 :huh:
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Lashiec

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,374
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #43 on: February 02, 2008, 01:32:16 PM »
I'll try typing that secret phase in Notepad, never bothered to do so 'til now ;D

:huh:

In the page you linked in your message, search for "Notepad Phrases" :)

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #44 on: February 02, 2008, 01:38:25 PM »
I'll try typing that secret phase in Notepad, never bothered to do so 'til now ;D

:huh:

In the page you linked in your message, search for "Notepad Phrases" :)

 ;D Good thing one of us can remember things that happened earlier than last week  :o Thanks for clearing that up  :Thmbsup:
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Replace Windows Explorer [SOLUTION]
« Reply #45 on: February 02, 2008, 02:33:55 PM »
 :-\  I am quite sure Lashiec do not have a job i the service sector...

notepad.gif

+
http://blogs.msdn.co...004/03/24/95235.aspx and
http://apipes.blogsp...s-api-can-break.html

[/  ;) ]