topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 6:55 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Are the tcl encrypt functions secure?  (Read 9361 times)

supra

• Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • default avatar
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Are the tcl encrypt functions secure?
« on: November 26, 2007, 05:01 PM »
I assume:
- aes256 > blowfish
- proven and cryptography implementations (like pgp/ssl) > own handmade implementation
- using the right tool for what it`s made > using something twisted
- the current implementation provides encryption, but no kind of authentication (an active man-in-the-middle attacker could store messages and send them later)

Just from what I read, I am not an expert.

That`s why I am about to suggesting to change the implementation off the tcl functions cbc_encrypt and cbc_decrypt.
- ssl has a lot of good cipher and is very well proven and used a lot but would be kinda overkill and only good for active sessions and not offline chats
- pgp is also not very user friendly, you have to learn to create a public and a private key and to give everyone your public key but still seams to be the most secure solution for chats if someone might be offline and the messages stored on a server
- otr looks also very interesting, although it`s not old and proven like pgp it can be very user friendly (users just have to check if a hash is ok over a pre-secure channel)

Just thoughts, discussion, no offence at all. What do you think?
« Last Edit: November 26, 2007, 05:20 PM by supra »

f0dder

• Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member