Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 04:09:31 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: activate by hovering  (Read 5599 times)

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
activate by hovering
« on: August 16, 2007, 05:37:07 AM »
hello

can you tell me please a program/script that will autofocus/autoraise/activate the window by hovering over its button in the taskbar in WinXP?

tweakui doesnt work with taskbar buttons and I basically need it to work ONLY with taskbar buttons

thanks!

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2007, 08:11:48 AM »

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2007, 12:39:27 AM »
thanks but I really dont get how this will enable me to do what I want

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2007, 09:55:07 PM »
re-reading your post, i realized that i didn't register the taskbar button thingy completely.. KatMouse can't activate a window by hovering on the taskbar button.. however, a small AHK script could do that.. i'm going to check if it's not already on Skrommel's arsenal.. :)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2007, 10:31:04 PM »
ok, here is one by Skrommel - MouseActivate.. :) it sends mouse-clicks when left inactive on a window.. maybe this can be modified to trigger only when the mouse is on the taskbar only..

ws-mouseactivate-1.png

http://www.donationc...x.html#MouseActivate

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2007, 08:10:27 PM »
while browsing through the AHK forums, i found this script that more or less will be able to achieve this request..

Auto-raise / mouse hover


sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Niche Review Blogs
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2007, 01:01:51 AM »
Lanux: Does that script work for you? I get an error. Posted there.
<a href="http://www.sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2007, 01:14:15 AM »
i don't know, try updating your Autohotkey.. :)

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Niche Review Blogs
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2007, 05:26:27 AM »
Thanks. Updating to the latest version fixed it. But this script doesn't work on Office 2007 suite apps' windows.
<a href="http://www.sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2007, 05:48:59 AM »
i think any compatibility with Office2007 will depend on luck, since the Office dev team do not conform standard gui implementation - this is an on-going problem..

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2007, 02:29:09 PM »
is skrommel's script updated to activate by hovering over the taskbar or I am wrong?

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Niche Review Blogs
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2007, 12:04:42 AM »
kalos: Auto Raise AHK script that lanux128 linked to works fine. Give it a try.

Edit: You might want to edit the script and set

Code: [Select]
hover_task_min_info = 0;
so that even minimized windows in the taskbar are activated upon mouse hover.
<a href="http://www.sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>
« Last Edit: September 23, 2007, 12:13:46 AM by sri »

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2007, 09:39:08 AM »
ok, here is one by Skrommel - MouseActivate.. :) it sends mouse-clicks when left inactive on a window.. maybe this can be modified to trigger only when the mouse is on the taskbar only..
 (see attachment in previous post)
http://www.donationc...x.html#MouseActivate

this script is very nice and powerful

however I would like more options to be able to specify where "click when hover" should work

I mean, I would like to make it work only in windowsxp taskbar buttons, in windows area (like the x-mouse option of tweakui), in the small minimize/maximize/close buttons at the top right of each window, etc etc

also I would like to be able to specify specific hover times for each of the above

can you implement these please?

(I dont know where to post this)

thanks

PS: also you may have a look here to implement the features of this script

http://www.autohotke...iewtopic.php?t=22763

1) to ignore (second) hovering over the same taskbar button? and to un-ignore hovering if the mouse goes to another taskbar button? generaly to recognize only first hovers over a taskbar button
2) to have the option disable hovering to minimize an active window by hovering over its taskbar button and preserve only the ability to activate and inactive window (or to specify different hover time for minimizing an active window)
3) to ignore hovering if the mouse buttons are pressed (especially when we are talking about taskbar buttons)

and all the other features

thanks !

Kuntau

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • My English is bad :(
    • View Profile
    • Tech.Kuntau | Info Sharing Blog
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2007, 11:27:00 AM »
I always use tune up for this kind of stuff..

[attachimg=#1][/attachimg]

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2007, 03:58:32 PM »
thanks but this doesnt offer more than tweakui

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: activate by hovering
« Reply #15 on: October 19, 2007, 05:31:12 PM »
anyone please ?

this will be a life saver indeed