Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 07:21:30 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: compose hotkeys  (Read 9272 times)

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
compose hotkeys
« on: July 29, 2007, 05:17:25 PM »
Hey mouser, I wonder if you could add a little feature request?

On another forum, by accident I pressed Ctrl+B, and lo and behold - a <B></B> pair was inserted (of course with square brackets, but I dunno how to do square brackets in a post without it acting as bbcode). For longer posts, I compose my stuff in notepad++, but for shorter (and thus quick) posts, Ctrl+B, Ctrl+I and Ctrl+U shortcuts could be pretty decent... (also, if a selection is detected, wrap the selection in tags, just like the icons work currently).
- carpe noctem

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2007, 05:45:05 PM »
Ctrl+B would conflict with my browser's hotkeys...that would open the window to manage my bookmarks.

None of the others conflict with mine, but they could conflict on some other browser.


f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2007, 05:48:20 PM »
Ctrl+B would conflict with my browser's hotkeys...that would open the window to manage my bookmarks.

None of the others conflict with mine, but they could conflict on some other browser.
True - that could be a problem. Imho you probably don't want to bookmark the "make new post" page after you've hit reply, but it's a problem for the quick-reply field. BUT... if the hotkeys could somehow be 'local' so they're only active when the quick-reply field has focus?
- carpe noctem

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2007, 06:45:47 PM »
I see what you are saying, but wouldn't the application hotkeys over-ride that and open that window any way?

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,085
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2007, 02:20:12 AM »
no offense, but maybe this

AHK BBCodeWriter v7.0.2 - An offline BBCode Editor

is something from interest for some of you?

found at
http://www.autohotke...amp;highlight=bbcode


[edited to attach picture]
screen_main.png
« Last Edit: July 30, 2007, 02:37:35 AM by mouser »

Nxqd3051990

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 78
  • Train to become GTD Master
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2007, 04:45:50 AM »
It doesn't supp unicode  :down:
nXqd
KEEP IT SIMPLE !
Hardware ASUS K8N |AMD 2800+@2,6 with WC| Ram Kingmax 512@235 2-4-4-11
Software   Firefox 2.0.0.5 | XYplorer | Foobar 0.9.4.2 | VLC | AutoHotkey | SciTe | Pidgin
Sites Y!Blog | Facebook | Tumblog | Last.fm

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2007, 09:18:56 AM »
I see what you are saying, but wouldn't the application hotkeys over-ride that and open that window any way?
Not necessarily, and I just checked with the other forum, it works the way I described... so it's definitely doable!  :up:

no offense, but maybe this
AHK BBCodeWriter v7.0.2 - An offline BBCode Editor
is something from interest for some of you?
Why would anybody take offense at a good suggestion? :)

I still think the hotkeys would be a nice addition, but the BBCodeWriter might be a good idea for external posting, instead of Notepad++ (since np++ lacks those specific shortcuts etc.)
- carpe noctem

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2007, 08:46:57 PM »
yes, some forums offer handy keyboard shortcuts.. even gmail has shortcuts for compose, reply & etc.. but since they (forums shortcuts) are not available everywhere, i have come to depend on BBCode, a fx extension which appear on the context-menu when the focus is on a textarea.. :)



https://addons.mozil...php?DiscussionID=446
http://www.donationc...20.msg40015#msg40015



f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2007, 08:19:29 AM »
Context menu is way too slow though, I'd have to reach out for my mouse (or use the context-menu shortcut key, but still having to wade through menus) - the idea of keyboard shortcuts is that they're very convenient and fast to use.

Still, thanks for pointing it out :)
- carpe noctem

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2007, 07:42:11 PM »
np, f0dder. btw, i just found out that the BBCode site is not functioning. i was thinking of emailing the author with the hot-keys idea but now i guess it will have to go to the back-burner.. :o

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,085
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2007, 12:05:32 PM »
Wuhpp, just found this and think off you:  :-\

BBComposer FireFox extension
https://addons.mozil...e/firefox/addon/3795

The BBComposer allows you to edit textarea contents
by switching in a WYSIWYG mode with a right click on it.
You can choose 4 content types : XHTML, BBCode, XBBCode and Wiki.
Especially useful for CMS, Wiki and Forums.



Maybe someone wants to test?


----

Also seen:

It's All Text! FireFox extension
https://addons.mozil...e/firefox/addon/4125
Edit textareas using an external editor, because it's all text!
Right click on a textarea, select "It's All Text!" and edit the text in the editor of your choice.



------

And BTW,
i use Resizeable Form Fields FireFox extension
http://justinsomnia....-fields-for-firefox/

"A lot of forums and boards provide very small textareas for new postings.
If you type a longer posting, you have to scroll up and down, to read what you have written and to proceed." (Text from 'Resizeable Textarea')


-
« Last Edit: August 01, 2007, 12:12:05 PM by AbteriX »

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2007, 06:24:13 PM »
AbteriX: does it have hotkeys though? That's what I'm all about :)
- carpe noctem

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,085
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2007, 06:00:54 AM »
AbteriX: does it have hotkeys though? That's what I'm all about :)

upps yeees  :-[ Hot keys?, ummp :(
For all that i forget this point i think.
I have installed it last night but not restarted FF so i didn't tested it. Will do this this night.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,969
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2007, 06:18:18 AM »
Isn't it strange that I was just about to post about BBComposer !!

Now that BBCode extension seems to have died (it isn't compatible, at least by default, with recent FF updates and the website has disappeared) I was looking for an alternative.

I just discovered BBComposer and it seems quite neat to me, espeically for people who can't be bothered to remember all those BB codes.

As well as the links AbteriX provided it has its own website

You still can't easily add square brackets inline without having to use a code block though.

I'm pretty sure there is a BB code for cancelling formatting temporarily - but I can't remember what it is!

Edit: OK I found it .. the code required for no formatting of any kind (and without putting stuff in boxes etc) is NOBBC

eg. [B]test[/B] is generated by the fragment

[NOBBC][B]test[/B][/NOBBC]

Mouser - how about a NOBBC button in the editor near the Code button ?

A useful source of further BBCode tags is at SMF's website
« Last Edit: August 02, 2007, 06:50:52 AM by Carol Haynes »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2007, 06:57:50 AM »
Now that BBCode extension seems to have died (it isn't compatible, at least by default, with recent FF updates and the website has disappeared) I was looking for an alternative.

Carol, you can make it compatible with Nightly Tester Tools.. :Thmbsup:




Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,969
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2007, 11:09:27 AM »
Yep - I know you can make it compatible but it seems to have ceased development and the default action of FF upgrader is to disable it. Actually you don't need anything to make things carry on working after upgrade - you just need to change one setting in the config file to stop version checking on extensions.

Just type about:config in the address bar and scroll down to extensions.checkCompatibility and change its value to false
Note this stops ALL version checking on extensions so if something really is incompatible you might get some odd issues.

Personally I find MR Tech's Local Install addon really helpful for this sort of thing (and lots besides)

There is also BBCodeXtra which adds context menus for BBCode, HTML and XHTML
« Last Edit: August 02, 2007, 11:22:39 AM by Carol Haynes »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,976
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #16 on: August 09, 2007, 06:41:55 AM »
Quote
Mouser - how about a NOBBC button in the editor near the Code button ?

hey now that's a good idea.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #17 on: August 09, 2007, 07:38:50 AM »
Quote
Mouser - how about a NOBBC button in the editor near the Code button ?

hey now that's a good idea.

w00t! it's already here.. :Thmbsup:

ws-nobbcode-001.png

« Last Edit: August 09, 2007, 07:41:54 AM by lanux128 »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,976
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #18 on: August 09, 2007, 07:41:31 AM »
 8)

ak_

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
    • wopah
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #19 on: August 09, 2007, 08:35:47 AM »
fodder> how about an AHK script with customizable hotkeys ? It shouldn't be too difficult, i already use one to handle [url=][/url] code. I'm willing to try that if it looks like a good solution to you.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #20 on: August 09, 2007, 08:45:20 AM »
Humm, would be a solution, but it'd feel clunky... I'll try to find out it the other forum users custom code or some already existing mod to do the hotkey stuff.

But thanks for the offer :)
- carpe noctem

ak_

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
    • wopah
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #21 on: August 09, 2007, 08:47:36 AM »
Maybe a greasemonkey script exists...

I think i'll make the ahk script for myself anyway :D

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,969
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: compose hotkeys
« Reply #22 on: August 09, 2007, 10:01:19 AM »
Quote
Mouser - how about a NOBBC button in the editor near the Code button ?

hey now that's a good idea.

Thanks - great

Now to try it out:

How to do [b]bold[/b] hey it works great.

I presume you can't nest the nobbc tag?
« Last Edit: August 09, 2007, 10:07:49 AM by Carol Haynes »