topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 1:01 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Double Right Click Start Menu  (Read 5755 times)

icekin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
    • icekin.com Technology,Computers and the Internet
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Double Right Click Start Menu
« on: July 23, 2007, 05:33 PM »
I was trying to implement a start menu that will fly out anywhere on the screen upon a double right click. I also removed all the icons for speed. That part is similar to eaticons (http://www.regxplor.com/other.html)

Problem : Upon execution, the program seems to lack the ability to distinguish between single and double right clicks properly.

I get erratic behaviour : sometimes it pops up the start menu of a single right click, other times it gives a regular right click menu even on the double.

How can I implement this properly? Either on Powerpro or some other scripting program?

Upon searching many forums, I found a similar product called LaunchOnFly (http://arturdev.com/...;product=launchonfly), but it doesn't do the same thing.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Double Right Click Start Menu
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2007, 05:50 PM »
Here's a "proof of concept" of how it can be done in autohotkey:
code inside
flag := false

RButton::
  if flag
  {
    send,{lwin down}{lwin up}
    settimer, click, off
    flag := false
  }
  else
  {
    flag := true
    settimer, click, 200
  }
  return

click:
  send,{rbutton}
  flag := false
  settimer,click, off
  return


It isn't perfect, and it will break any kind of mouse gestures you have on your OS or webbrowser, but it does work. (adding it the part about moving the StartMenu to the mouse is quite simple)

icekin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
    • icekin.com Technology,Computers and the Internet
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Double Right Click Start Menu
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2007, 07:41 PM »
Thanks. I will try this out on AHK.

I forgot to mention that I use Strokeit, and the gestures got messed up when I tried the Powerpro method. After some searching, I also located Panekiller (http://www.maddogsw.com/panekiller/) and it has the right idea of what I want, even with the no icons start menu, but cannot be activated on double right click.

icekin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
    • icekin.com Technology,Computers and the Internet
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Double Right Click Start Menu
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2007, 07:52 PM »
After some research, I have realized that any double right click, whether AutoHotKey or AutoIT messes up the gestures because I use right click as the gesture activating button as well.

I have now set the start menu to pop up when I use CTRL + Right Click using PaneKiller (http://www.maddogsw.com/panekiller). My mouse (http://www.microsoft...details.aspx?pid=045) happens to have an extra button, which I have assigned to act as CTRL, so the whole thing can be mouse activated.

The end result has been good for improving efficiency a bit.  :up: While there is always Launchy and FARR to replace the start menu, sometimes we tend to forget the name of the program we are looking for and still have to click the start menu. Now, the start menu can be launched anywhere on the screen in an instant without having to even move the fingers away from the mouse. 

Screenshot - 18_08_2007 , 10_45_59 AM.gif

This was a feature I greatly enjoyed when using Blackbox on Linux and now I am glad it works on Windows as well.

ak_

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
    • wopah
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Double Right Click Start Menu
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2007, 08:40 PM »
You could even make a simple ahk script that would send Ctrl Click whenever you press the 3rd button of the mouse. It's even simpler if the mouse driver allows combination of keys directly.