Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 04:56:03 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Integrating Google Search into SkyIDE - Am I allowed to do this?  (Read 2651 times)

SkyIDE

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
I am about to implement an online help system into SkyIDE. This is how it will work.

E.g: Word at carot is "file". You press F2 and Google opens up searching for that word.
Another example: Word at carot is getline(), you press F2 and Google opens up searching for that word.

I wish there was some C++ help file in a Windows Help file format or in a HTML with JavaScript format which I can freely re-distribute. I would pass the selected word to the JavaScript engine to search for the keyword where it would bring up that page.

For now, I will use Google, if there is anything else I could use, let me know.

Later on I will provide an option for more search engine choices....


I hope I am not violating any rights?

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Integrating Google Search into SkyIDE - Am I allowed to do this?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2007, 07:37:17 PM »
If you can support the Sherlock standard, you can use any/all of the ones from this page in addition to google:

http://mycroft.mozde...ch=no&category=9

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Integrating Google Search into SkyIDE - Am I allowed to do this?
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2007, 09:41:08 PM »
A possible idea that should be possible is to make it to where you can enter the search engine(s) and have a special code like FARR does where the user can put at a specific place ($$1) and it will be replaced by the selected word???
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

SkyIDE

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Integrating Google Search into SkyIDE - Am I allowed to do this?
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2007, 11:08:36 PM »
Quote
A possible idea that should be possible is to make it to where you can enter the search engine(s) and have a special code like FARR does where the user can put at a specific place ($$1) and it will be replaced by the selected word???

Interesting concept. I will have to look into it.

Concernng the search, I know Google has a DLL but I was actually thinking of something else. Instead of using their copyrighted DLL, I will open up a browser window and manually input the search syntax in the address bar. E.g: word at carot is Microsoft, than you would insert

h t t p://w w w.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=Microsoft&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

Selected word is "int"

h t t p :// w w w .google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=int&btnG=Google+Search&meta=


Ignore the spaces


I can do the same for Yahoo etc...

:)
« Last Edit: June 24, 2007, 11:12:34 PM by SkyIDE »

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Integrating Google Search into SkyIDE - Am I allowed to do this?
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2007, 11:48:02 PM »
Also, Maxthon uses %us for unicode search and %s for ansi search thru the address bar searching which you can specify in a list.

Like for google I use this in Maxthon

http://www.google.com/search?q=%us
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

SkyIDE

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Integrating Google Search into SkyIDE - Am I allowed to do this?
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2007, 12:48:12 AM »
Thanks hamradio

SkyIDE

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Integrating Google Search into SkyIDE - Am I allowed to do this?
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2007, 04:18:40 AM »
app103, thanks for that link.

I have many options on the table now :)