topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024, 9:02 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Bash script to search other bash files for nasty code  (Read 2579 times)

prupert

• Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • default avatar
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Bash script to search other bash files for nasty code
« on: November 07, 2009, 09:39 AM »
I have been thinking about this for a while, and sadly I am not very good with Bash, so I was hoping someone could help me.

I am well aware of the warning on the Ubuntu forums:

http://ubuntuforums....nnouncement.php?f=39

about nasty people telling less knowledgeable people like me to carry out commands that would toast their install.

Now, I love to mess around with Bash, and basically learn as I go, reading forum posts and using other Bash scripts that people have posted. However, I am always worrying that someone could have posted a mallicious bit of code in their Bash script for a laugh (I am meaning a script I find anywhere on the internets, not just from the Ubuntu forums). Obviously I only use scripts from what look like reputable sites where people have commented on the script afterwards, but still the risk exists.

I was wondering if it was possible to make a Bash script/program that reads another Bash script that you pass it (basically a text file) and looks for any nasty pieces of code in it (the nasty pieces of code taken from the examples given in the post above and then updated from time to time with other sources).