Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 09:06:30 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: FARR Plugin: FCalc v1.12 (Mar 25, 2015)  (Read 67080 times)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #50 on: May 03, 2008, 10:43:51 AM »
I know what's the problem with DCUpdater.
Probably it has the wrong link, just like the addons page has:
http://www.donationc.../downloads/FCalc.zip

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #51 on: May 12, 2008, 12:36:24 PM »
Quote
Is it possible to have an option so that the ` key would only clear FC display and not persistent values

Added and will be in next release.

I've also added functions to list variable values, clear specific variables, and a few more things.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #52 on: May 12, 2008, 12:45:39 PM »
I should say that i'm not very happy with using muparser as the mathematical expression parser.  It's very well suited for some things but it's not very flexible or end-user customizable.

It would be pretty easy to replace the parser with a different one -- if someone wants to recommend another free c++ math parsing library let me know.

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #53 on: May 16, 2008, 02:29:22 PM »
Mouser how easy would it be to make fc little easier to use? They way I am thinking is that we should not be needing any suffix to enter calculator. if someone starts typing 12 probably are going after some math. 12+24= should calculate the result without needing any alias in my opinion.

Or at least invoking the calc should be little more convenient. For example "`" can be a nice invoker rather than typing fc and space.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2008, 02:31:08 PM by kartal »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #54 on: May 16, 2008, 02:34:25 PM »
you can do this already, and quite easily, using aliases and the dosearch special alias action.
you just need to make an alias that matches on mathematical expressions with the result "dosearch fc $$1"
i think actually joto did something like this already, maybe he will post.

ps.
i have already built a slightly improved version of FC with some new features -- it will be released when i release the new FARR version soon.

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #55 on: May 16, 2008, 02:51:01 PM »
thanks for the update Mouser. I am looking forward to use new version. Do you need beta tester :)

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #56 on: May 16, 2008, 03:44:00 PM »
Quote
Do you need beta tester


i volunteer too  :D

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #57 on: May 16, 2008, 08:55:43 PM »
My :two: is...You can also setup a special hotkey to hit when you need a calculator and it starts with fc and a space ready for input with the hotkey system.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #58 on: May 16, 2008, 09:23:23 PM »
Nice tip Hamradio, but to be honest I am out of shortcuts on my keyboard :) I prefer it if it is more streamlined and tied to only one hotkey. That is what I like about Farr, I can even use it as toolbar without using another shortcut.

searchingforsurf

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #59 on: May 21, 2008, 08:11:38 PM »
hey mouser,

i already have something that responds to fc - a trace tool in visual studio

is there another command i can use to start fcalc?

thanks!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #60 on: May 21, 2008, 08:58:28 PM »
just go to the plugin options page, select fcalc and choose to override the regex expression for it.

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #61 on: May 22, 2008, 06:55:14 PM »
Mouser, regex field is not editable?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #62 on: June 09, 2008, 10:38:25 AM »
Updated to version 1.19.01:
  • Fixed ability to set variables using (VARNAME=VALUE)
  • Added errors for referring to undefined variables
  • Upgraded to new FARR plugin api so pressing Enter saves result again.
  • Added functions to list defined var vals or clear them
  • Operation of ` now only clears history not variables

You need to be using FARR 2.04.02 or later for this version.

herojoker

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #63 on: June 09, 2008, 11:03:57 AM »
Typing sqrt(-1) opens an extra window showing the error message "sqrt: DOMAIN error"
Would be nice if this could be suppressed.

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #64 on: June 09, 2008, 11:33:56 AM »
great version keeping variables is a very good idea

i have a small request for the next release
what if i already use the ` key for something else (hotkey when FARR is focused)
it would be great to be able to have an additionnal way to clear history (say clearh for instance)

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #65 on: June 09, 2008, 11:14:55 PM »
You need to be using FARR 2.04.02 or later for this version.
Should not there be a compatibility check in DC updater for those having stable release of FARR, so it will not be prompted and installed to them?
My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #66 on: June 09, 2008, 11:20:08 PM »
it's a good point.. currently i don't have such a check in the updater, but its an extremely good idea to add it.

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #67 on: June 12, 2008, 06:47:23 PM »
Sorry for my inexperience.  I spent *days* tuning up FARR a few months ago when I first got it and I haven't touched it since, except for using it 10,000x/day every day.  And enjoying it every single time.

I got a dialog about an fcalc update, accepted it, and now my (alias? hotkey?  I'm not sure) does not work to launch fcalc, and neither does 'fcalc' when I type it into the FARR window.  I had it rigged up to use '=' somehow, but I'm not sure how I did it.  I could type "=3+4", and the dialog would show "= 3+4" (added space) along with the result(s) and the rest of the fcalc window.

Under the plug-in manager, it shows fcalc is up to date.  I also did the "Install from the web even though that version is identical to the one installed", and still nothing gets found when I type 'fcalc' or use =.

Again, sorry for the noviceness.  I gave it a good try, about 45 minutes now, but no luck.

Thanks for any help.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #68 on: June 12, 2008, 06:59:19 PM »
ottenm, i apologize.

the problem is that a new release of FARR was put out but is not yet on the updater, and it changes the way it works with fcalc.  so your problem is you have a new fcalc but not a new farr.

you can get the new farr here: http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=10505.0

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #69 on: June 13, 2008, 05:46:56 AM »
I ran the installer, but still no FCalc showing up.  My version says 2.00.145.

When I "Click To Examine And Configure Plugins", the "Plugin Manager" dialog opens but no plugins are listed (at the top?).  This is (was) the page where I "custom override"-ed "fc" so it would work with "=".  When I click "Find and Reload All Plugins", I get a message that all plugins  were unloaded.  When I click "Check For Plugin Updates", the DcUpdater dialog opens an lists five "Installed Packages", including FCalc 1.09.01, all are checked and all say "Up To Date".  I've tried installing them with the right-click "Install from the web even though the latest version is identical to the version that is already running".

Thanks for any help.  And apologies for the long explanation and inability to resolve this on my own.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #70 on: June 13, 2008, 06:03:28 AM »
Install this version of FARR (no need to uninstall previous version, this will install on top of it):
http://www.donationc...AndRunRobotSetup.exe

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #71 on: June 13, 2008, 10:06:26 AM »
All is perfect again.  Thanks Mouser.

cansee

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #72 on: July 31, 2008, 12:21:11 AM »
Hi all.
Sorry for my bad English - i'm from russia.

FCalc is great.  :up: But i have some troubles. Spent hour trying to find any help, manual, instructions how to use this plugin, but find nothing. Is any help available? In the "readme.txt" file only this text:
"INSTRUCTIONS FOR USE By default this plugin is set to trigger when you start your search with:  fc
You can type any keywords after the ff to filter and score your results,
 e.g.: fc 2+2"
and
"NOTES: None yet."
I can't find how to define variable, can't see list of supported functions like sin() and avg()...  :(
Help file - that would be a good idea for this good plugin. May be it already exists?
Thanks for any advice.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #73 on: July 31, 2008, 10:35:42 AM »
hi cansee.

yes, fcalc needs more documentation.. i guess i originally expected it would just be a sample plugin and someone would come up with a better one.

to assign variables, just do:
a=5
cost=2322.23

etc.

then just use the variables whereever you want.

you can edit the variables from the plugin advanced configuration options.

as for functions available, they are from muparser:
http://muparser.sour...features.html#idDef2

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New FARR Plugin: FCalc
« Reply #74 on: July 31, 2008, 01:18:51 PM »
and "lv" gives you the last value