Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 20, 2014, 02:59:07 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Network Adapter Detection Fails  (Read 18092 times)
hypemnd
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 22, 2007, 06:07:56 PM »

I am using URL Snooper v2.18.01 with WinPcap 4.00.755 on Windows Vista 32-bit.  My network adapter is on the Nvidia 680i chipset and is using the Nvidia nForce MCP Networking Adapter Driver.  When I try to use the "Auto Determine Network Adapter Now" function, the test fails.  I have also tried deselecting the "Auto determing Network Adapter on Startup" checkbox and manually selecting the network adapter, but this yields no URL results when sniffing.  Any ideas?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,365



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2007, 06:10:08 PM »

on vista, url snooper may need to be run with administrative rights.

try right clicking on the url snooper shortcut and selecting the option to let it run as administrator, then restart.

let me know if it works please.
Logged
hypemnd
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2007, 06:23:10 PM »

I have user account control turned off, and it is being run with admin rights.  Still no luck.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,365



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2007, 09:15:43 PM »

Keep automatic network adapter detection turned off and select your card manually.  Does your network card show up in the list?  When you start snooping and then open pages in your web browser, does the status bar of url snooper show that it is scanning packets, or does it just stay at 0 packets scanned?
Logged
hypemnd
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2007, 05:24:08 PM »

It just says "Sniffing network traffic from WinPcap NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter Driver (IP 192.168.1.104).."   The packet counter never starts.
Logged
hypemnd
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2007, 07:23:11 PM »

Any ideas on this?
Logged
enar
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2007, 04:57:22 PM »

Mouser: This may help some people.

I started this reply by explaining that I'm running Vista Home Premium, that Network adapter detection also failed for me, that device manager shows that I have an Intel PRO/100 VE, that clicking on Auto Determine Network Adapter didn't do anything, that you mentioned selecting "your card manually" however I couldn't because the drop-down list for Network Adapters was empty, blah, blah, blah......

...then before calling it quits and uninstalling the program, I read your suggestion to run url snooper with administrative rights... I right clicked on the icon, ticked run as administrator, restarted the program and voila ....IT WORKS.... it's showing the adapter as Intel PRO/100 VE and the program works as its supposed to.....

Apparently guys don't like getting or taking instructions.....had I tried running as administrator earlier I would have saved myself some grief.... btw, I thought I installed v2.18.01 but going to About shows that it's v2.17.01... did someone forget to change some text in the source code or does clicking on the download for v2.18 actually give you v2.17??
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,365



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2007, 05:48:49 PM »

Thanks for the report enar  Thmbsup

I think need to either make it so it don't need admin rights OR have some kind of check that reports on vista that its not running under admin rights and needs to be.  And also try to have the installer set it to run as admin automatically.

As for version:
I think i probably just forgot to update the about box (ask people around here it's something i regularly mess up  embarassed ).  My about box shows i'm running 2.17.01 as well smiley
Logged
hypemnd
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2007, 10:26:33 PM »

Thanks for the help.  I had the same problem as enar originally, and after running with admin rights I was able to see the network adapters.  However, it still won't auto-determine the network adapter and when the adapter is selected manually and sniffing is started, it just says "Sniffing network traffic from WinPcap NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter Driver (IP 192.168.1.104).."   The packet counter never starts.
Logged
kajinofe
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2007, 02:16:48 AM »

Similar problem but I use Win XP pro.  I downloaded 2.18.01 beta and had the problem detecting the NIC.  I didn't change any hardware or anything, same old settings for my windows as well.  I tried v2.14.02 and it worked like it used to.  Not sure where the problem lies but that's my story.  Some of you who are having problems detecting the card should download that version and try it.  It's still on the website.
Logged
SpectreGadget
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2007, 09:14:34 AM »

Something you may not know about turning UAC off.  When you do that, you lose access to the temp directory, and that causes issues.  Turn UAC back on and turn on "run this program as an administrator".  See if that works for you then.  I also am using Vista with the Nvidia networking chip and it works correctly in this setup for me.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2007, 09:31:18 AM by SpectreGadget » Logged
MichaelTCohen
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2007, 02:00:20 PM »

I have an adapter detection problem as well.  I'm running xp on my laptop.  Although it detects my Soundbridge and other networked devices, the adaptor detection test fails.  When I try to set the adaptor manually, the network adaptors show up on the drop down list and I can select one.  But, when I attempt to sniff, it launches the auto detector again and it fails again.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,365



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2007, 04:01:09 PM »

you need to actually turn off auto detection option, in addition to selecting it manually (i really should make it turn off autodetection as soon as user selects one).
Logged
MichaelTCohen
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2007, 05:34:06 PM »

That fixed it.  Thanks.
Logged
TheFSD
Participant
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2007, 10:03:50 AM »

I realize that it's been a while since this topic has had any posts, but I'm having a similar issue in XP SP2, and I didn't see any posts similar to my problem.

I downloaded this program, installed everything, went to start it up and here was what happened:
URLSnooper.exe - Application Error
X The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000022). Click on OK to terminate the application.

Anybody have a suggestion? I've uninstalled and re-installed, used a copy from different sources, all the same version number (2.2) and all the same error.


* errorocode.jpg (26.75 KB, 551x132 - viewed 418 times.)
« Last Edit: December 13, 2007, 10:08:07 AM by TheFSD » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,365



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: December 13, 2007, 11:27:12 AM »

Can you try this version and see if the problem is still there:
http://www.donationcoder..../beta/URLSnooperSetup.exe
Logged
TheFSD
Participant
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: December 13, 2007, 11:35:10 AM »

Wow! starts up fine! I'll test it now. If you don't mind, what was wrong? a bug for SP 2 or something I could have done to avoid it?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,365



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: December 13, 2007, 12:40:32 PM »

The truth is I have no idea why you were getting that error, which is a pretty extreme one.  The new version was rebuilt to address a different issue but also include a new version of winpcap, the network sniffing driver that it uses, so perhaps the error was in winpcap and has been solved in the latest version of winpcap.
Logged
Muspp
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2009, 01:13:38 AM »

Error saving packet C:\Program files\URL Snooper2\workingdir\PacketFile2.dat appears when I try to run Network adaptor now.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,365



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2009, 08:57:09 AM »

sounds like it doesnt have permission to write the file -
exit the program and try to go delete that file manually, then restart.
Logged
waffles
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: September 20, 2009, 12:43:20 PM »

I made an account just so I can report my fix in case anyone had the same issue I was having.

I too was having problems with URL snooper auto detecting my network adapter.  Even when selecting the adapter manually, URL snooper was unable to sniff my traffic.

I have two built in NICs in my PC, and I was only using one.  I went to device manager to uninstall the NIC I wasn't using so URL snooper would only pick up the one network adapter.  As soon as I did that, URL snooper was able to autodetect my NIC and start sniffing my traffic.

Hope this helps out.  Cheers!
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,365



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: September 21, 2009, 05:03:53 AM »

Thanks for taking the time to post Waffles -- that's definitely a strange behavior.. I wonder why the other adapter was messing with URL Snooper..
Logged
carlosjeddah
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: April 05, 2010, 12:36:20 AM »

enar thank you i was unable to determine network adapter , now it's fine  cheesy
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.06 ]