Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:40:47 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Bugs 'n' suggestion  (Read 22395 times)

gottadoit

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #50 on: August 31, 2005, 09:11:32 AM »
thanks gottadoit i will try to fix long filenames issue and clipboard issue.

so the clipboard issue shouldnt be from screenshot captor since screenshot captor doesn't grab clipboard info - is it from our other clipboard help+spell tool? OR maybe i think you are saying that the nature of capturing a screenshot makes clipmate get confused about the running app.. if so, could you elaborate what you would like clipmate to see when you capture a screen?

what i would like to do for autocapture is specify options like this:
[] capture a screenshot every __ seconds
[] capture a screenshot whenever screen changes

One the Clipmate side of things I would like it to see the real app (somewhat obviously...) the question was where is it getting its information from and how are you interacting with a printscreen operation so that clipmate doesn't see the correct application when it gets notified of something new in the clipboard. Its a little annoying but not such a big deal really, I can just start captor when I want it (using find&run) and the rest of the time allow clipmate to do its thing

In terms of the autocapture, it would be nice to also be able to capture "new" windows being created, and maybe when a window is refreshed (something along the lines of it getting a WM_PAINT or WM_NCPAINT message, seeing as from my limited understand of these things that happens on a new window and when a window has updates to display)
Given the overhead of monitoring (intercepting these messages) and checking to see if things had actually changed this sounds like something that would probably be noticable if it was left enabled... for that reason it might also be worth changing the tray icon to have a different colour screen during this type of capture

gottadoit

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #51 on: August 31, 2005, 09:14:36 AM »
i think it might be the %num% thing might be confusing it somehow - that is what i am going to try to look into.  probably it is something simple.  if you figure out any more clues as to what makes it not save please do let me know; meanwhile i will test and try to trigger it myself.

may i ask what operating system you are using and what file format you have screenshot captor saving as?

i will fix the issue that happens when you ahve whole image selected, thank you.

as for the undo past blur,dim, grey - yes this is by design but quite confusing i know.
maybe i will just make it so there is only one undo to undo all 3.  the command actually performs all 3 operations, so it lets you undo them one at a time..  i think that command is the only one that does it.
XP Pro SP2 and saving as PNG (with compression level set to the third bar - 30%?)

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #52 on: August 31, 2005, 10:04:35 AM »
Maybe it's Clipmate ?
I had some trouble too with hamsin clipboard and excel.


i took 15 quick PrnSrc and Alt+PrnSrc snapshots and i got it all 15.

Also my clipboard clipper CLCL has 15 bmps.
Testet with SC v1.02.02 in .png on W2kSP4.

--------
But what is "chosen#"  and "selected" in right bottom?
Both increase by every click of an thumpnail.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #53 on: August 31, 2005, 10:11:51 AM »
Quote
But what is "chosen#"  and "selected" in right bottom?
Both increase by every click of an thumpnail.

debug info i was using to test :) will be removed in next version.

gottadoit

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #54 on: September 01, 2005, 10:41:20 AM »
If I change my default filename to
  ss%num% %productname%
It seems to save without issues

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #55 on: September 01, 2005, 11:13:23 AM »
...
In Templates :

my Default File Name is   "ss%num% %productname% - %windowtitle%"

If "ss%num% %productname% - %windowtitle%" longer than 260 chars .... (API function   WritePrivateProfileString)

gottadoit, is your productname + windowtitle such as long ?

gottadoit

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #56 on: September 01, 2005, 12:35:33 PM »
The initial filename pattern I chose could have been, but for the problem I posted about I doubt it

Another way to describe (part of my) problem :
  - during a number of screen shots *of the same window*  (actually it was a few windows but this was also true)
  - some of them didn't get saved to a file  *but did get picked up by captor*

That does tend to help eliminate it being a simple bug based on the length of the string....
I suspect that mouser would have found and corrected that within a few minutes of my posting if that was all it was

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #57 on: September 01, 2005, 12:50:18 PM »
it could be string length or some other filename issue.

basically screenshot captor saves all its captures to disk, it doeesn't try to keep them in memory.

and currently (i am fixing it now), it does not report an error on file save.

what most certainly was happening with you is it was having an error when it tried to save the file and was not complaining, just discarding the image after the failed file save attempt.

in next version it will complain if it cant save the file, so that should clear that up.

i will also attempt to truncate file names so that file name length isnt an issue.

gottadoit

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs 'n' suggestion
« Reply #58 on: September 01, 2005, 01:12:49 PM »
great, its a nice program and the update will be appreciated