Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 02:56:20 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network  (Read 12999 times)

KenR

  • Super
  • Blogger
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« on: February 20, 2007, 11:22:24 AM »
Here's an interesting program that allows you to expand your desktop on networked machines.

Quote
Solution for extending your desktop display using displays of another computers (including Pocket PC), having network connection with main host. In some features it is similar to NetMeeting, Remote Desktop and VNC, allowing mirroring local desktop to another computer in the network. The main difference is that it also allows extend desktop, not only mirror it. Also, you could use ZoneScreen for Windows Mobile to extend/mirror your desktop to screen of your handheld.
All you need for ZoneScreen to work is...

Kenneth P. Reeder, Ph.D.
Clinical Psychologist
Jacksonville, North Carolina  28546
« Last Edit: February 20, 2007, 11:27:05 AM by mouser »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 11:25:37 AM »
Beautiful!!
Another important note: it's freeware!

2stepsback

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
    • My "2stepsback" blog - Updated!
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2007, 03:11:45 PM »
Hi,
a slightly different question, I have a single monitor, keyboard and mouse. But I have two cabinets - one runs Win XP Pro on a P4 2.4GHz, 512MB RAM and the other runs Knoppix on a ;D P1-166MHz with 128MB RAM(!). How do I control both cabinets with one set of Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse?

I looked up "KVM", but you get hardware devices which are often a bit too much to spend on, especially, when there seems to be free software alternatives available. I've used UltraVNC before and on that basis, I ask: Can I setup my old Knoppix box to run UltraVNC server (or similar), and then connect to it via an ethernet/LAN card (having connected both via cable) and I then have my WinXP running normally and I can access Knoppix through the VNC window?

Is that possible? Seems not because the Knoppix box has no video for the VNC to send to the XP box.
Any suggestions?

~2stepsback
An apple a day keeps the doctor away. A good deed a day keeps the Devil away.
See http://www.codinghor...archives/000735.html
------------
<a href="http://www.w3schools.com/">W3Schools</a> - A collection of free HTML, CSS, JavaScript, DHTML, XML, XHTML, WAP, ASP, SQL tutorials with lots of working examples and source code.

xingus

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2007, 04:04:29 PM »
@2stepsback:

Check out http://www.maxivista.com

Very cool software, but not free though. Anyway, its just $40

It does both, the same as ZonScreen but at much faster performance, and it also allows you controlling four computers from a a single mouse n' keyboard.

Xingus

2stepsback

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
    • My "2stepsback" blog - Updated!
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2007, 04:21:29 PM »
Firstly, thanks for the super fast reply! :-)
Check out http://www.maxivista.com
Does it allow a single monitor? Does not look like, they say you have to move the mouse to the edge of one screen and then it will jump onto the other box's OS/GUI
I have just one set of KVM.

~2stespback
An apple a day keeps the doctor away. A good deed a day keeps the Devil away.
See http://www.codinghor...archives/000735.html
------------
<a href="http://www.w3schools.com/">W3Schools</a> - A collection of free HTML, CSS, JavaScript, DHTML, XML, XHTML, WAP, ASP, SQL tutorials with lots of working examples and source code.

xingus

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2007, 05:05:58 PM »

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2007, 06:30:22 PM »
Firstly, thanks for the super fast reply! :-)
Check out http://www.maxivista.com
Does it allow a single monitor? Does not look like, they say you have to move the mouse to the edge of one screen and then it will jump onto the other box's OS/GUI
I have just one set of KVM.

~2stespback

Hmm, I seem to recall that somebody mentioned a tool for this some time ago, cannot remember who or where though. But iirc it was free and supported multiple OSes.
- carpe noctem

ameniac88

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2007, 05:52:23 PM »
Firstly, thanks for the super fast reply! :-)
Check out http://www.maxivista.com
Does it allow a single monitor? Does not look like, they say you have to move the mouse to the edge of one screen and then it will jump onto the other box's OS/GUI
I have just one set of KVM.

~2stespback

Hmm, I seem to recall that somebody mentioned a tool for this some time ago, cannot remember who or where though. But iirc it was free and supported multiple OSes.


You probably mean Synergy 1.3. http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/. I love it.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2007, 09:32:01 AM »
ameniac88: I think that just might be it, thanks for posting the link... my memory isn't what it used to be (and it never was very good to start with :) ).
- carpe noctem

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2008, 07:12:38 PM »
Unfortunately, the site is unavailable, but you can still download it through archive.org: http://web.archive.o...s.com/zonescreen.htm

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2008, 01:29:47 AM »
too bad 64bit downlkoad is broken :(

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2008, 02:51:21 AM »
too bad 64bit downlkoad is broken :(
Yes, I noticed that too. Only the xp 32bit version link works. And that version doesn't work in vista 64 :(

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2008, 12:54:03 PM »
64bit version is up. It works amazingly great!!!!!!!


http://zoneos.com/zonescreen.htm

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2008, 12:58:21 PM »
 :huh: ZoneScreen is back! yay!!  :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:
Thanks for the heads up, kartal :)

Jimdoria

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ZoneScreen: Expand your desktop on the network
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2008, 10:22:33 AM »
I've used Synergy, Win2VNC and also purchased MaxiVista. I'll have to try this out and see how it compares.

2stepsback, I'm wondering where you are looking for KVM switches, though, that you find them too expensive. You can get a decent one for 2 boxen in the $30 range, or even less, especially on ebay. Software is nice, but for just switching two PCs between 1 kb/mouse, it's hard to beat hardware.
  • Transitions are nearly instant.
  • There's no performance compromise. Sending video over ethernet almost always requires some kind of trade-off - color reduction, lag time, etc. Plus whatever it's doing to your network bandwidth.
  • There are no glitches/crashes/incompatibilities to worry about
  • You can always control either machine - even at boot time before the OS loads, which I sometimes find to be critical.
I bought a little 2 PC KVM with a USB port for around $20 if I remember correctly, and it's turned out to be one of the most useful pieces of kit I own.
- Jimdoria ~@>@

There are two kinds of people in the world: Those who divide everybody into two kinds of people, and those who don't.