Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 19, 2014, 09:33:31 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Help!!! Cannot change settings once in transparency mode  (Read 8540 times)
mudrummer
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 22, 2007, 01:31:36 PM »

I am having a pretty serious problem - I have installed and set up a window at the bottom of my screen then set it to transparency mode.  However now I want to change remove it but cannot.  I cannot right click in the area for options, uninstalling the software is not working either - there is also no process running that I can shut off - any help would be much appreciated!
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,673



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2007, 01:32:39 PM »

open the options from the tray icon and change them there smiley
Logged
jbdonation08
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2008, 06:19:10 AM »

What is one supposed to see when using this program Wink all I see is a blank space at the bottom of my screen and I have not changed any settings within the program.

Here is a link to a screen shot of my desk top when the program is running.

http://picasaweb.google.c...photo#5200933109096306690
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,673



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2008, 06:21:41 AM »

once its transparent and docked, you are stuck forever!!!!  huh

just kidding -- you can still access settings from the tray icon right-click.

the general process for configuring Desktop Coral is to make it non-transparent, then dock it where you want, then change settings and make it transparent after you have it exactly how you want it.
Logged
jbdonation08
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2008, 06:34:45 AM »

Sorry I still do not see what the objective of this software is tellme
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,673



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2008, 06:42:04 AM »

DesktopCoral is a program that is only useful for very specific types of uses.
See these discussions for why some people use it:
Logged
jbdonation08
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2008, 06:48:26 AM »

OK I understand now Thanks
Logged
kustomer
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2008, 01:49:56 PM »

i'm having the same problem as the original poster! i cant get the top of my screen back, even with uninstalling, and when i reinstalled it, it just works under the blank area that is stuck there, aaaaah help please!!!!  tellme
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,673



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2008, 01:59:08 PM »

right click on the system tray and choose exit.
Logged
kustomer
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2008, 02:27:46 PM »

thanks for the fast reply, but i have tried that, i have even uninstalled it and rebooted, the top of my screen is still sectioned off! Even tried reinstalling it and uninstalling again. no good.
Does the program change something in the registry or system folder that maybe didnt get changed back even upon uninstalling? theres not even any process running ( that i can tell of) that i could shut off. i guess there must be a hidden process though that loads during start up, because the blank area suddenly click in during startup, i can tell by my wallpapers.

i'm contemplating doing a system restore, i know, not normally a big deal, but i have done a lot of installing on my computer in the last few days and even installed windows service pack 3 today, so i'll have some rebuilding to do if i take that option.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,673



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2008, 02:35:51 PM »

do NOT do a system restore.
there is no reason to do that.

if the program is killed unusually, it's possible that the space will be reserved until the next reboot.
so just reboot your computer -- there is absolutely no reason to do a system restore, and nothing permanently changed in the system by this program.
Logged
kustomer
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2008, 06:25:57 PM »

well, i tried doing some system restores, it wouldnt let me. and as of now i suddenly have no restore points, so thats no longer an option anyway.

I guess that somewhere during start up , something that makes the top space still load, is still functioning.or whatever settings desktop coral changed is stil in effect? even though its uninstalled! i already reinstalled it several times and disabled docking etc but that doesnt effect the top blank spot, all it does is make a new one under it, the top one is uncontrollable and i just want to get rid of it.  all i want at this stage is my desktop back to normal. any idea what i should be looking for or where? thanks.

 oh yeah and all this is when coral is already undocked and exited,and uninstalled ( the program folder is even empty) and the system restarted! so obviously something is still stuck in there somewhere. any help will be MUCH appreciated!

i hope you can help me out as i dont look forward to having a permanent gap at the top of my screen  Sad
Logged
kustomer
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2008, 04:21:56 AM »

ok, this is weird, better, but weird.  When i shut down samurize, i get the top of my screen back, but when i start samurize again, it starts but with that big gap again, hmmmm, any ideas? i might back up my samurize settings and reinstall samurize maybe? 

anyway, thanks for bearing with me, this is a really good program if it will work right for me smiley
Logged
kustomer
Participant
*
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2008, 03:55:11 AM »

well i solved it, i switched samurize to "pin to desktop(compatible mode)" then back to regular " pin to desktop mode" and all is ok.

sorry about all the multiple postings, just letting you know how it went and hopefully my posts might help someone else.

this is a really cool little program you got, sorry it didnt go down well with my system for whatever reasons though, keep up the good work.   smileythumbs up
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,673



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2008, 05:28:14 AM »

Well I really appreciate you following up and letting us know how you solved the problem.
Far too often I find that I search on the web for some issue, find some forum thread about it, and find that the original poster never posts how the issue was eventually solved or resolved, etc.  And it's extremely frustrating.
So it's really nice that you took the time to post the solution, for the next person who comes along and experiences the same thing  thumbs up
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.033s | Server load: 0.05 ]