Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 31, 2014, 09:36:00 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: VDesktops  (Read 14999 times)
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: December 31, 2006, 09:37:38 PM »

This is a program i had already done some work on, and found it was worth making it a bit more complete.

It's a simple virtual desktop manager. Almost as simple as it gets!
It is limited to 4 virtual desktops: 3 "normal" virtual desktops and one (named as 0) where all the windows appear.

It is mostly hotkey based, although it has a minimalist gui too.
The hotkeys are defined as follows:
  windows + 0: show desktop 0
  windows + 1 / 2 / 3: show corresponding desktop
  windows + left / right: show next desktop
  windows + shift + 1 / 2 / 3: add window to that desktop
  windows + c: show the "changer", which allows you to change desktops using only the mouse.

Windows cannot be removed from desktops (that's still a problem to be solved), but each window can appear in more than one desktop.

Now... Why did i make it?
2 reasons:
  • low memory usage (about 3mb)
  • It's a script!
This program being a script means i (and anyone else) can change it to suit my own needs!
Of course, source code in AHK is in the zip package. I only ask for recognition if you decide to change it and distribute it.


VDesktops - v1.003 - January 2, 2007

    * Fixed bug mentioned on reply #2 (window wouldn't disappear right away when added to a different group)

VDesktops - v1.002 - January 2, 2007

    * Fixed bug where Win+Left / Win+Right would crash the script
    * Fixed misplacement of "changer"
    (thanks deozaan!)

VDesktops - v1.0 - December 31, 2006

    * First public release.


WHAT IT DOES:
This is a simple virtual desktop manager.

SCREENSHOT:



note: if when using the program, something disappears, don't be scared, that's the point. To bring everything back, press Win+0

* VDesktops.zip (205.08 KB - downloaded 1492 times.)
« Last Edit: January 02, 2007, 08:24:40 AM by jgpaiva » Logged

Arjen
Charter Member
***
Posts: 93



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2007, 08:12:11 AM »

Really nice to have a small utility like this for managing virtual desktops, thanks!

A few issues:

  • On startup, all windows are shown on all desktops. You have to add windows to groups/desktops first for the program to become usable. I think it's a nice feature to have the option to show a window on all desktop and definitely worth keeping, but I think it's confusing the way it works now.
  • When I add a window to a group that isn't the active group, the window doesn't disappear until I change desktops.
  • When I add a program to a group, and then later add it to another group, it seems to be included in both!
  • Give us a nicer icon than the standard AHK one!
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2007, 08:22:29 AM »

On startup, all windows are shown on all desktops. You have to add windows to groups/desktops first for the program to become usable. I think it's a nice feature to have the option to show a window on all desktop and definitely worth keeping, but I think it's confusing the way it works now
Actually, i made that on porpouse, since i used it more to hide programs from view. But i've also noticed it confuses people, it shall be changed smiley

When I add a window to a group that isn't the active group, the window doesn't disappear until I change desktops.
Makes a lot of sense, fixed smiley

  • When I add a program to a group, and then later add it to another group, it seems to be included in both!
That's intended to be like that, so that a window can be in more than one desktop but not in all of them. The problem is that there's no way to remove windows from groups. I'm thinking about how to do it.

Give us a nicer icon than the standard AHK one!
You are absolutelly right, there should be a better icon. But i suck at art.. Sad If anyone is available to do an icon, please step up!! cheesy
Logged

Arjen
Charter Member
***
Posts: 93



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2007, 08:31:44 AM »


  • When I add a program to a group, and then later add it to another group, it seems to be included in both!
That's intended to be like that, so that a window can be in more than one desktop but not in all of them. The problem is that there's no way to remove windows from groups. I'm thinking about how to do it.
How about this: when you add it to a group it's already in, it will be removed.

Quote
You are absolutelly right, there should be a better icon. But i suck at art.. Sad If anyone is available to do an icon, please step up!! cheesy

How about these? :-)
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2007, 08:43:03 AM »

How about this: when you add it to a group it's already in, it will be removed.
The simplest solution is always the best! Thanks, i'll do it like that cheesy

How about these? :-)
The problem is that most of those can't be used in other people's work, inly for private use. The silk iconset can be used for this, but i couldn't find any appealing icon. This requires a more thorough search.
Logged

Laughing Man
Charter Member
***
Posts: 103


V for Viktor

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2007, 05:26:35 PM »

Very nice! Took me a while to realize you had to add windows before it would work. But it's good!
Logged
mystique1
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2008, 08:26:56 AM »

I haven't figured it out yet  embarassed  How do add windows to it?
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2008, 03:43:24 PM »

I haven't figured it out yet  embarassed  How do add windows to it?
You press windows key + shift + 1 to add the current window to desktop 1. Then, if you press windows key + 2, only windows on the desktop 2 are displayed, thus the window you added to desktop 1 is hidden.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.036s | Server load: 0.08 ]