Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 07:25:20 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: DC Forum Post Notifier Lite (a.k.a. Pop-Up Cody) - v1.1.6 - May 21, 2007  (Read 60208 times)

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,032
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
I've been silent, but I've been using it!  Two issues, probably not new, but still a problem...
  • It keeps bypassing my proxy - need proxy dialog?
  • Steals focus - yes/no/sometimes... I know this doesn't help much, but this IS what is happening.  Seems like it did not used to so this,but then it started??
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:16:37 PM by CodeTRUCKER »

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
I've been silent, but I've been using it!  Two issues, probably not new, but still a problem...
  • It keeps bypassing my proxy - need proxy dialog?
  • Steals focus - yes/no/sometimes... I know this doesn't help much, but this IS what is happening.  Seems like it did not used to so this,but then it started??

I have been holding back from writing because I was waiting for a pattern to emerge.  None has, except now it is to the point where it grabs focus every time.

Any ideas?

Calvin, does the new upload work for you wrt proxy and stealing focus problems?  :)  (here I experienced a lot of the Notifier taking away focus from active app recently)


Update: the problem of grabbing focus is still there, guess I'll have to explore win32 api methods  :(

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,563
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
This is pretty cool!  :Thmbsup:

One small problem I haven't seen mentioned yet:

The links to posts open in the default browser, which is nice, but if the post contains a link and you click it, it opens in IE (yuck!)

Screenshot:
SNAG-0316.png

Oh...and autorun at startup would be better for current user and not local machine. It's more polite. There could be other users on a pc that might not appreciate this application as much as we do.  :-[

And I have a feature request for the Pro version, if possible:

Ability to mark a post as read.

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,563
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
I have had some time to enjoy this now, and I am loving it...but...

I am afraid I won't be able to run this any longer. It's causing my general cpu usage to run much higher than normal (50-75%) for some reason...and of course raising the cpu temp (to near 67C).

Closing it seems to drop things back down to normal. (under 10% and about 52C or less)

For some reason, Explorer is going nuts while this is running.

Just for statistical reference:

P4 Prescott 3.2 ghz
Windows XP Home
1G ram
IE 7

What a shame too, because I really liked it.  :(

If you need more info, let me know.

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
Thanks for the input app103. :)  I'm sure the notifier needs a serious revamp and I'll get back to it asap (just needs to finish this DC web project first  :-[)

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
New version v1.1.4 uploaded!  ;D


Quote
Changes:

1. Links embedded in posts now open in default browser (instead of IE)
Yuck!

2. Autorun at startup option now modifies registry settings in CurrentUser only.
3. Use less system resources.


As for "Ability to mark a post as read.", I'm not able to tell the notifier to read your firefox forum logon cookie/credential.

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
btw, v1.1.4 allows you to read posts in their entirety inside the notifier.

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,563
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
YAY!

and cpu usage is much lower.  :)   :Thmbsup:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
i haven't used this much but it looks very nice.. :Thmbsup: btw, the links open in IE eventhough my default browser is Firefox..

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
btw, the links open in IE eventhough my default browser is Firefox..

R u sure? If u are already using the latest version (v1.1.4), then congratulations you have found a bug for me to fix!  ;)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
a colleague had used my computer and inadvertently changed the default browser settings.. sorry, false alarm.. :-[

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,563
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
I have a small feature request:

It would be nice if when you hover over links within a post that you could have a tooltip with the url it leads to.

Without a statusbar to show this, I have no idea where they go.

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
You have it, app103! Download the new version 1.1.41.

Nice idea indeed. Ty!  :Thmbsup:

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,563
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Thanks!

and it works great!  :Thmbsup:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
yet another request, how about an option to turn off the transparency and fade-in/out effect? sometimes i'm stuck at a low-end pc with on-board graphics card.. :(

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
YOU MADE ME DO IT, lanux128!!   :onfire:   :D

4.pngDC Forum Post Notifier Lite (a.k.a. Pop-Up Cody) - v1.1.6 - May 21, 2007



v1.1.5

Changes:

1. Move mouse cursor to the exact top-left corner of the screen to hide notification window instantly. YES!
2. Multiple user options added
3. Displays "Last Checked on" time in tray icon tooltip
4. Notifies connection error



justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,896
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hey Wordzilla I just installed this program and it's great maybe now I won't check the forum every 15 minutes at work.
However all the post contents are empty for me, even in the Show Recent Posts option! The title is displayed but nothing else.
2007-05-16_120938.pngDC Forum Post Notifier Lite (a.k.a. Pop-Up Cody) - v1.1.6 - May 21, 2007
 :( Any idea?
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 06:11:15 AM by justice »

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
Quote
The title is displayed but nothing else.

Have u set up any proxies in IE?

justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,896
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
No proxies

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
No proxies

Possibly your antivirus / access control program is preventing the notifier from creating a temporary file in C:\ (root directory).

Do you see C:\dcloadhtml.htm when running the notifier? :)



justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,896
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Ah I see. I'm running vista. You're only allowed to create a file in the root directory when run as administrator passing through UAC.
If you could change it to the Temporary files environment variable %temp% then it would run as normal user.

A file doesn't get created otherwise.

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
Ah, i have UAC (user account control) disabled on my vista so i didnt see the prob

I'll come up with a solution very soon, stay tuned! :)

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Donate to Member
Justice: vista bug fixed, plz download the latest version :)

Thanks!!  :Thmbsup:

justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,896
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
 :-* It works! now I have to stop the habit of checking the forum manually...

 :tellme: Oh, and a feature request to keep you off the streets ;) Could you make it somehow that I could switch between:

Thanks so much :D

Maybe by allowing us experts to change the RSS feed the notifications are based on? (don't know if that would work)
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 07:26:02 AM by justice »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
YOU MADE ME DO IT, lanux128!!
thanks a bunch, Wordzilla.. :) :Thmbsup: