Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 03:59:25 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Are you satisfied with BDS 2006 (Turbo C++) IDE ??  (Read 2494 times)

Blaster

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Are you satisfied with BDS 2006 (Turbo C++) IDE ??
« on: September 24, 2006, 06:09:27 AM »
I can't say i'm satisfied with BDS 2006 (Turbo C++) IDE


I personaly like Borland 6 IDE more.

--I like palettes more where they where in BCB 6. That way they take less of valuable work space and it was easier to work with them .

--Also, the thing i like in BCB 6 is that I can freely move Forms where ever i like on desktop...In BDS 2006 and Turbo C++ Forms are "static".Something like in VB?? I think this is really bad!It's easier to work with Forms you can move where ever you like....Why did they made it static?

Because of these things , no matter how big your screen is, with new IDE you never get enough space...
"Structure","Object inspector", "Project manager" and "Tool Palette" take allmost half of screen!! I really think that there is no need for this!
I have a TFT monitor, 17' with 1280 x 1024 resolution and i'm allways short in work space. This has never happened to me in BCB 6 ....

Is there a way to set BDS 2006 (Turbo C++) to look like BCB 6?? :-(

Which IDE do YOU like better, and why?


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Are you satisfied with BDS 2006 (Turbo C++) IDE ??
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2006, 06:17:25 AM »
i think i read you can make bds behave more like bcb6, can't remember where though.
if you figure it out let us know.

personally i am used to bcb6 more still, but i expect its more a matter of getting used to it.

SkyIDE

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Are you satisfied with BDS 2006 (Turbo C++) IDE ??
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 03:47:51 AM »
I have to agree with you. I like BCB 6 interface better. It's much easier to use. I am used to it. When I used BDS2006 demo, I simply could not get used to it. The space is more limitted.  The very first veresion of BCB I have used is BCB 3 and the interface is pretty much the same as BCB 6. When my BDS2006 expired, I decided to buy BCB 6 because BDS2006 was not available and I managed to use and do development without the features of 2006 BDS. I started SkyIDE on the BDS2006 demo which ran for 30 days and before it expired I purchased BCB 6 Standard and later on I entered the contest :) Of course, downgrading the project was a pain. I had to copy/paste entire code literally and redraw the interface. Once I get BDS2006 Enterprise, I will upgrade the project :)
« Last Edit: September 25, 2006, 03:51:06 AM by alexk »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Are you satisfied with BDS 2006 (Turbo C++) IDE ??
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2006, 03:51:22 AM »
hahahaaha  ;D ;D
I'm just imagining all you guys who won the bds putting them on the shelf and using bcb6  :o

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Are you satisfied with BDS 2006 (Turbo C++) IDE ??
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2006, 03:59:34 AM »
How to make Delphi 2005 look like Delphi 7

http://blogs.borland...005/07/06/20152.aspx