topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • July 22, 2019, 09:01 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 13 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Encoding issue with arrow texts  (Read 488 times)

amrtn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2017
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Encoding issue with arrow texts
« on: June 17, 2019, 06:26 AM »
Hi, I have an issue with the end label text of arrows.

Non-ANSI text in arrows will be displayed with weird characters. The same text in text objects works fine.

Any clue how to fix it?

I'm using v4.31.2 and have already reinstalled SC a couple of times and deleted any configuration I could find (application folder and also "My Documents/Donation Coder"

Thanks in advance

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 39,332
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Encoding issue with arrow texts
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2019, 04:01 AM »
Let me look into it.  The fact that the text works in the text boxes but not in the arrows suggests it might be fixable, but my code isn't super friendly for some foreign character sets.

amrtn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2017
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Encoding issue with arrow texts
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2019, 01:23 AM »
Ok, I think I can shed more light on this issue. I noticed that if I uncheck the "Use Unicode UTF-8 for worldwide language support" in the Region settings, Screenshot Captor works as intended and accented characters in arrow texts render correctly.

Screenshot - 09_07_2019 , 8_16_52.pngEncoding issue with arrow texts

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 39,332
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Encoding issue with arrow texts
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2019, 12:30 PM »
That is a fascinating clue.. I'm still curious why it works on in text box but not in arrows.. It suggests I should still be able to fix it without you having to change that setting globally..