topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • November 18, 2018, 10:51 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 13 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!  (Read 1427 times)

huancoi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« on: June 19, 2018, 11:03 PM »
I have a pc with 2 monitor, i already use screenshot captor to capture complete workspace. But i want to slip screenshot of each monitor in 2 file (not in just one like default setup).
Please hlep.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,964
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2018, 11:08 PM »
Oh that's an interesting idea.. First time it has come up.. Let me chew on it...

huancoi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2018, 11:32 PM »
The software is geat, but i need to slip the screenshot everytime i capture. And when i capture to many screenshot, the work is hard.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,288
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2018, 01:27 AM »
but i need to slip the screenshot everytime i capture
What does "slip" mean in this context?

huancoi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2018, 01:46 AM »
oh, i mean separate picture for each monitor.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,288
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2018, 02:39 AM »
Ah, well, but for now you could use "Grab current Screen" (default hotkey is PrtScr I think), switch to the other screen and press the same hotkey again? Yes, there will be a time difference of a few (milli)seconds, but the filename timestamps will be quite close.
Eventually you'd want the screen number to be part of the filename as the files will/should have the same timestamp, but I think (from looking at the File Naming config screen) that's not yet available for the filename pattern.

huancoi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2018, 09:37 PM »
So , i have to do it twice, quite unconvenient.

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2018, 12:54 AM »
oh, i mean separate picture for each monitor.
So , i have to do it twice, quite unconvenient.
You want one-action to do several different seperated things, a bit uncommon.

Suggestion to Mouser: add simple scripting like support where User can run script by Hotkey to capture whatever scriptfile contains?
eg for a Region script: Monitor 1, xPos 50, yPos 100, xSize 640, ySize 480, Interval 0
eg for Grab Window: Monitor 0, GrabWindow_Name, Interval 0

Something like that would make this User happy.

edit
Or way more easy scripting handling, scriptfile just contain "action 1;action 2;action 3" etc
And in your GUI let User define Actions. In my head this sounds nice. :tellme:
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2018, 01:01 AM by KodeZwerg »

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,288
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2018, 01:24 AM »
So , i have to do it twice, quite unconvenient.
That's why I wrote "...for now you could use..." (emphasis added).
I'm assuming you have turned off all dialogs and popups from SSC, just saving the image? That would make it a quick action.

@Mouser said he'll look into it, and that will probably take a few days, please apply some patience.

Another alternative is you grab the entire desktop and split the images that are wider than 1 monitor into multiple images using ImageMagick (no affiliation)
You can configure that as a Post-Capture tool in Screenshot Captor, if you like.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,964
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2018, 02:37 AM »
I'm surprised that I don't have a commandline option to capture a specific monitor screen by monitor # in my MiniCap program (the little brother to Screenshot Captor), so the least I can do is add that right away in the next day or so.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,288
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2018, 06:09 AM »
Adding a "save for separate monitors" feature to Screenshot Capture would also give the desire/requirement/prerequisite to get the matching monitor number in the filename, so you'd have to add that as a variable too, I guess. And maybe also for MiniCap?

huancoi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #11 on: June 21, 2018, 11:09 AM »
I'm surprised that I don't have a commandline option to capture a specific monitor screen by monitor # in my MiniCap program (the little brother to Screenshot Captor), so the least I can do is add that right away in the next day or so.
Thank you, that would be nice.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,964
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2018, 01:52 AM »
I have added the commandline option "-capturemon #" to minicap, it will be in next upload.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,288
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #13 on: June 24, 2018, 05:33 AM »
I have added the commandline option "-capturemon #" to minicap, it will be in next upload.
To ease the use of this new feature I wrote a CMD script to capture multiple monitors to multiple files, as close in time as possible:
(only used PowerShell code highlighter for readability)
Change any settings to your likings, can be fired from a AHK hotkey script, optional parameter: nr. of monitors to capture sequentially, defaults to 2
Code: PowerShell [Select]
  1. @echo off
  2. :: MultiMonitorShot.cmd: Grab multiple monitors screenshots to separate files
  3. :: Usage: MultiMonitorShot [monitors]
  4. :: Monitors defaults to 2
  5. :: Settings:
  6. :: Number of monitors to capture, override with 1st argument to script
  7. set SSCOUNT=2
  8. if not "%1" == "" set SSCOUNT=%1
  9. :: Screenshot storage path, including a trailing \ when not empty
  10. set SSPATH=
  11. :: Filename and monitor prefixes
  12. set SSPREFIX=screenshot
  13. set SSMONPREFIX=monitor
  14. :: Extension, not including the period
  15. set SSFILETYPE=png
  16. :: Set date format using variables as in https://www.donationcoder.com/software/mouser/popular-apps/minicap#commandline-options
  17. :: Initially set to YYYY-mm-DD-HH-MM-SS
  18. set SSDATE=$dt:%%Y-%%m-%%d-%%H-%%M-%%S$
  19. :: Aditional MiniCap options can be specified here
  20. set MCOPTIONS=
  21. :: Path to MiniCap.exe, include trailing \ if not empty
  22. set MCPATH=
  23. :: ----------------------------------
  24. :: Leave the rest of the script as is
  25. setlocal EnableDelayedExpansion
  26. set /a LMAX=%SSCOUNT%-1
  27. :: Start multiple MiniCap instances in parallel to get screenshots as close in time as possible
  28. for /l %%N in (0,1,%LMAX%) do (
  29.         set /a O=%%N+1
  30.         start %MCPATH%MiniCap.exe -save "%SSPATH%%SSPREFIX%-%SSDATE%-%SSMONPREFIX%-!O!.%SSFILETYPE%" -capturemon %%N -exit -stderr %MCOPTIONS%
  31.         REM Append the part after the colon to the previous line for logging any errors: >>"%0.%%N.errorlog"
  32. )

Edit1: Modified to number the screenshots according to the Windows monitor numbers (1..n) instead of from 0 to n-1
Edit2: Fixed setting to not have a double period before the extension
Edit3: Added setting for additional MiniCap options
« Last Edit: June 24, 2018, 06:22 AM by Ath »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,964
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #14 on: June 24, 2018, 01:09 PM »
Awesome, thanks Ath! huancoi, maybe that will be useful to you.

huancoi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #15 on: July 03, 2018, 02:15 AM »
Awesome, thanks Ath! huancoi, maybe that will be useful to you.

Thank you!

huancoi

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Multiple screen capture but slip each in to each file!
« Reply #16 on: July 03, 2018, 02:15 AM »
I have added the commandline option "-capturemon #" to minicap, it will be in next upload.
To ease the use of this new feature I wrote a CMD script to capture multiple monitors to multiple files, as close in time as possible:
(only used PowerShell code highlighter for readability)
Change any settings to your likings, can be fired from a AHK hotkey script, optional parameter: nr. of monitors to capture sequentially, defaults to 2
Code: PowerShell [Select]
  1. @echo off
  2. :: MultiMonitorShot.cmd: Grab multiple monitors screenshots to separate files
  3. :: Usage: MultiMonitorShot [monitors]
  4. :: Monitors defaults to 2
  5. :: Settings:
  6. :: Number of monitors to capture, override with 1st argument to script
  7. set SSCOUNT=2
  8. if not "%1" == "" set SSCOUNT=%1
  9. :: Screenshot storage path, including a trailing \ when not empty
  10. set SSPATH=
  11. :: Filename and monitor prefixes
  12. set SSPREFIX=screenshot
  13. set SSMONPREFIX=monitor
  14. :: Extension, not including the period
  15. set SSFILETYPE=png
  16. :: Set date format using variables as in https://www.donationcoder.com/software/mouser/popular-apps/minicap#commandline-options
  17. :: Initially set to YYYY-mm-DD-HH-MM-SS
  18. set SSDATE=$dt:%%Y-%%m-%%d-%%H-%%M-%%S$
  19. :: Aditional MiniCap options can be specified here
  20. set MCOPTIONS=
  21. :: Path to MiniCap.exe, include trailing \ if not empty
  22. set MCPATH=
  23. :: ----------------------------------
  24. :: Leave the rest of the script as is
  25. setlocal EnableDelayedExpansion
  26. set /a LMAX=%SSCOUNT%-1
  27. :: Start multiple MiniCap instances in parallel to get screenshots as close in time as possible
  28. for /l %%N in (0,1,%LMAX%) do (
  29.         set /a O=%%N+1
  30.         start %MCPATH%MiniCap.exe -save "%SSPATH%%SSPREFIX%-%SSDATE%-%SSMONPREFIX%-!O!.%SSFILETYPE%" -capturemon %%N -exit -stderr %MCOPTIONS%
  31.         REM Append the part after the colon to the previous line for logging any errors: >>"%0.%%N.errorlog"
  32. )

Edit1: Modified to number the screenshots according to the Windows monitor numbers (1..n) instead of from 0 to n-1
Edit2: Fixed setting to not have a double period before the extension
Edit3: Added setting for additional MiniCap options

OMG! You are so awesome!