Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • November 19, 2017, 02:39 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Show name of printer in popup box  (Read 373 times)

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Show name of printer in popup box
« on: November 01, 2017, 03:14 PM »
I believe I had contacted you about this earlier.
I requested that the print image window have the name of the active printer on it.
I have printed to the wrong printer so many times since it remembers the previous printer.

Are you planning on showing the name of the active printer in the print image window?

Please let me know.  If not, is there a way to keep the default printer each time a capture is done?

If not, I will need to get another capture program that shows the printer, as much as I love yours.  Thanks.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,597
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2017, 09:27 PM »
If I can display the active printer on the print preview dialog i will (that's what we're talking about right, the print preview dialog shown before printing?)

Quote
If not, is there a way to keep the default printer each time a capture is done?
Can you explain what you mean -- do you mean that you want to be able to change the printer used for the current print, but then have it revert to default printer for next time?

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2017, 06:43 AM »
Two things...
1.  Show the current printer in the print image window...this is the much preferred option!, or
2.  Have a preference to use the system default printer.  In this way, each time the system default printer will be used, and the user can change it by going to the print setup box if desired.
Of course, both would be optimal!  Thank you.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,597
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2017, 06:46 AM »
Quote
Have a preference to use the system default printer.
Does it not already work this way?

Or are you saying that you occasionally change the system configured default printer, and SC does not change when that changes?

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2017, 06:50 AM »
No.  SC remembers the last printer used.  This is the entire basis of my inquiry.  Almost all of my printouts are with my default b&w laser printer, so that is what I would like to keep as default for your program.
If I print to my color laser, your program remembers it and prints to it next time unless I specifically change it back to my default printer in the print setup dialog box.

This is why I requested these two things...

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,597
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2017, 07:10 AM »
Ok I understand now -- you occasionally print to your color printer in SC, and then in the future when you print from SC, you want it to remind you that it's now set to print to color printer so you can change that.  Or alternatively always reset back to default printer after each print.

Let me see what I can do.

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2017, 07:13 AM »
Yes!  or both...

Thank you for being so responsive!

Let me know if an when you have made these improvements...