Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 02:14:43 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...  (Read 8118 times)

Ampa

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 592
  • I am cute ;)
    • View Profile
    • MonkeyDash - 2 Player strategy boardgame
    • Donate to Member
TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...
« on: July 14, 2006, 03:55:19 AM »
Hey Skrommel,

Just started trying out this little util (to monitor just how much time I waste on various activities during the day), and noticed a few things...

1) The tool tip on the system tray seems to be one item behind. Eg I am currently 'Surfing' but my tool tip reads 'Still working on task PAUSED for 0 minutes?'

2) When I add new tasks in the settings I have to quit the util and rerun to see the tasks on the menu. Is this intended behaviour? It would be more helpful if news tasks appeared without the restart.

3) And on that note... when I am prompted with 'Are you still working on X' and I say No it would be very nice to allow a new sort of task to be added directly at this point (rather than going in to the settings and out again). Could there be an input box in which I could enter 'Ordering Pizza' (or any other worthy task) which would then be added to the list of choices available in the future?

Thanks as usual for the superb programs :)

Ampa

Ampa

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 592
  • I am cute ;)
    • View Profile
    • MonkeyDash - 2 Player strategy boardgame
    • Donate to Member
Re: TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2006, 01:19:54 PM »
Have now used this for 24hrs or so and had another thought...

On occasions I get called away from the PC and forget or don't have time to pause the log before I go.  Then when I return (often hours later) I find that 180 minutes has been logged against my last activity.

Would it be possible to have a mode where the utility enters pause mode / stops logging if there is no response to the 'Are you still...' prompt after a reasonable time out (eg 3 minutes)?

Perhaps this needs its own name... such as No Activity.

Or even a secondary check - has there been any mouse / keyboard activity in the last 3 minutes?

Just my thoughts :)

Ampa

Arjen

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • Codingspace.org
    • Donate to Member
Re: TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2006, 04:54:33 AM »
I think TaskLog is a great tool but I have the following problems with it (version 1.1):

  • If I change the task names in Settings they don't take effect until I restart TaskLog. (Also reported above.)
  • If I unselect "Show reminder dialog" it will still keep coming up, even after restarting TaskLog.

I hope you can help me with this!

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2006, 05:54:11 PM »
 :) Great suggestions, guys!

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

Ampa

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 592
  • I am cute ;)
    • View Profile
    • MonkeyDash - 2 Player strategy boardgame
    • Donate to Member
Re: TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2007, 08:01:54 PM »
Update to original post item 1...

I don't think that the tooltip ever changes - it stays at the value when the program is first run.

Skrommel: Any chance that you have time to look at the suggestions in this thread? I'd  really appreciate an update if you have the time, an would gladly donate to the cause.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2007, 04:28:14 PM »
 :) Try TaskLog v1.2.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,523
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2007, 01:42:28 PM »
Hi Skrommel

I've been trying this out today -

is there any way you can get TaskLog to recognise when the computer goes into hibernation mode -
I tend to use this when i leave computer for any length of time & of course I forget to tell TaskLog and
& come back to
Quote
still at task XYZ running for 168mins?


thnks for any help
tom
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,523
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: TaskLog v1.1 - Small bug and an improvement or 2...
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2009, 08:11:01 AM »
is there any way you can get TaskLog to recognise when the computer goes into hibernation mode -
I tend to use this when i leave computer for any length of time & of course I forget to tell TaskLog and
& come back to
Quote
still at task XYZ running for 168mins?

I'll give this a friendly bump :) -
standby doesnt work properly on my machine so I use hibernation fairly often...
Tom