Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:27:46 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity  (Read 1297 times)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« on: October 03, 2016, 08:43:54 PM »
I have a sort of fever about this last weeks.
It's the first pc i bought by components mounted with my own hands.
I have a lot of old monitors and even a monitor/TV of 52". (ejem is only 42")
At the present moment I have three monitors in extended way connected with two old graphic cards.
I am thinking about connect the fourth....
The fourth may be the 52" size.
So I think i need software to divide the 52" monitor in four independant displays and make a lot of operations with this option.
Some years ago I was experiencing with virtual desktops. Even in Linux with 3D desktops.
In my environment what I need is not powerful graphics, only see the documents simultaneously.

My equipment
motherboard Asus z170k
RaM 32 GB DDR4
Main SSD 480 GB
Intel i7 6700k

It's not a very powerful pc, but is enough for me now.

What software do you recommend to obtain more productivity working with multiple monitors.

Best Regards

Add notes 04.10.2016.08.55 : under windows 8.1

« Last Edit: October 05, 2016, 09:39:06 PM by Contro, Reason: correction 52" is not, is 42" »

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,474
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2016, 12:03:59 AM »
Windows 10 has Virtual Desktops you can switch between.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,780
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2016, 01:35:46 AM »
You surely would need JGPaiva's GridMove to manage all the windows nicely on your large monitor.

You failed to mention what OS is on your system.
Seeing the specs it is a rather modern, top of the line, powerful PC, even though you stated it isn't :huh:.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2016, 01:39:34 AM »
im a big fan of multiple monitors (2-4), but not huge monitors like you are talking.  27" is about as large as i would want, and i think there are diminishing returns after 3 or 4 monitors.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2016, 02:54:21 AM »
Windows 10 has Virtual Desktops you can switch between.
Thanks a lot. I forget to say i am an user of windows 8.1 for some years. Until windows 11 resolve its problem with my CRM. Or I decided reprogram all the macros with an alternative language to that included in my CRM and incompatible with windows 10.


Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2016, 02:56:59 AM »
You surely would need JGPaiva's GridMove to manage all the windows nicely on your large monitor.

You failed to mention what OS is on your system.
Seeing the specs it is a rather modern, top of the line, powerful PC, even though you stated it isn't :huh:.
Yes I fail. It's windows 8.1
Running to try JGPaiva

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2016, 06:14:26 AM »
im a big fan of multiple monitors (2-4), but not huge monitors like you are talking.  27" is about as large as i would want, and i think there are diminishing returns after 3 or 4 monitors.

Yeap. That's because you don't have a huge monitor without use. I have now three extended monitors
http://www.acer.com/...t/model/UM.VG6AA.B02
is a 23"
second hand
http://www.lg.com/ca...g-L1718S-lcd-monitor
is a 17"
second hand
http://www.lg.com/es...lg-W2453V-PF-monitor
is a 24"
second hand
http://www.lg.com/uk...s/lg-42SL8000-lcd-tv
is a 42" (not connected)
second hand
I have another smaller than the LG Flatron L1918S. But sure goes well. Only VGA interface.

If I buy the graphic card VisionTek Radeon 7750 2GB GDDR5 6M (6x MiniDP) - 900614 perhaps I complicate my life.

With three monitors i am "almost" happy. Much better than one.

I agree with you than a 42" break the equilibrium....

I am trying to find an answer and perhaps the best I can do is a gift of that TV/monitor.

And even a gift of a Laser because i prefer to print in the copier service. Times are changing so fast....

 :P

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2016, 06:22:06 AM »
I have problems with GridMove. Don't feel comfortable. I don't know why. Seems the more simple program. Any other alternative ?

 :-[

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,780
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2016, 07:25:57 AM »
Seems the more simple program.
I'd say GridMove is a not very simple application, so it might take some more time to get used to, and get the configuration just right.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,327
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2016, 10:50:10 AM »
So I think i need software to divide the 52" monitor in four independant displays and make a lot of operations with this option.

can you describe in more detail what you mean by "a lot of operations" ?

And how independent do you want the displays to be ?
Tom

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2016, 09:12:14 PM »
Seems the more simple program.
I'd say GridMove is a not very simple application, so it might take some more time to get used to, and get the configuration just right.
I am trapped in configuring. Just after window+G hotkey.
I don't understand the instructions or help.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2016, 09:13:36 PM »
So I think i need software to divide the 52" monitor in four independant displays and make a lot of operations with this option.

can you describe in more detail what you mean by "a lot of operations" ?

And how independent do you want the displays to be ?


Nothing special. Configurable. Better if easy to configurate. GridMove may be the answer, but I have problems with it.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2016, 09:23:33 PM »
So I think i need software to divide the 52" monitor in four independant displays and make a lot of operations with this option.

can you describe in more detail what you mean by "a lot of operations" ?

And how independent do you want the displays to be ?


a lot of operations - configurable . Able to change windows, size. Able to configure one program or another to appear in that window.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,327
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2016, 04:47:27 AM »
Seems the more simple program.
I'd say GridMove is a not very simple application, so it might take some more time to get used to, and get the configuration just right.
I am trapped in configuring. Just after window+G hotkey.
I don't understand the instructions or help.

the way I use it is:

Win+G
=> you should see a grid with numbers overlaid on the screen
=> pressing a number will move the active window to that position
If you dont want the layout shown. pressing the 'N' key will move onto the next layout, press again for the next, and so on

If you want a layout that is not included, have a look at the gridmove section in the forum, you can add new layouts, or make your own.

Disclaimer, I've never used gridmove with multiple monitors

EDIT// this on Win.7 (see Ath's post below)
Tom
« Last Edit: October 05, 2016, 06:42:54 AM by tomos »

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,780
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2016, 06:23:11 AM »
GridMove's default hotkey Win-G isn't going to work on Windows 10 (and probably Win 8.x) as it has a different function predefined. (I tried that already and changed it to Win-W)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2016, 09:03:03 PM »
GridMove's default hotkey Win-G isn't going to work on Windows 10 (and probably Win 8.x) as it has a different function predefined. (I tried that already and changed it to Win-W)
In windows 8.1 I think we can mantain the combination win+G with no problem.
It goes well in my case.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2016, 09:06:29 PM »
I obtain the same grids in the three monitors i have.
In one of them  to the last right appear a little window with two -
Something like this :    - -
When I select that window and put by example 04 the active windows move to that grid.
In the rest of the method i am lost.
 :-[

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2016, 09:14:10 PM »
Seems the more simple program.
I'd say GridMove is a not very simple application, so it might take some more time to get used to, and get the configuration just right.
I am trapped in configuring. Just after window+G hotkey.
I don't understand the instructions or help.

the way I use it is:

Win+G
=> you should see a grid with numbers overlaid on the screen
=> pressing a number will move the active window to that position
If you dont want the layout shown. pressing the 'N' key will move onto the next layout, press again for the next, and so on

If you want a layout that is not included, have a look at the gridmove section in the forum, you can add new layouts, or make your own.

Disclaimer, I've never used gridmove with multiple monitors

EDIT// this on Win.7 (see Ath's post below)
Owww I see your post now !!!!!!!!

In windows 8.1 i can mantain the hotkey win+g
In multiple monitors goes well.
If with the standard grid you see three portions, with three monitors you see the same rule repeated into the three monitors and subsequently nine portions or grids.
I have tried the way you tell and works fine for me too and so I don't need to put the cursor in the little window with two "-"
I have to put 04 because the program reserved a number to undo in each of the monitors.

So I have 1-Undo, 2,3,4,5-Undo, 6,7,8,9-Undo,10-11-12

I am beginning to feel more confortable with this....

 

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2016, 09:19:03 PM »
In my case the Key "N" seems not work in any way. If I insist write the letter N in the active window

How do you get that feature.

The interesting thing with three monitors may be to have different patterns in each one.
By example :
one grid in the smaller one,
two grid in the middle one,
and four grid in the largest one.

 :-*
Any experienced user to give a good advice ?

 ;D

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2016, 09:26:39 PM »
Some time ago I get scripts to launch a "program scenery" . Launch several files o folders with predefined programs.
So was I am expecting of GridMove is something like that.
Launch automatically several programs, files and folders and distribute in the grids.
In a few seconds I can have all the necessary tools for a work.

Another feature may be to open a program in a predefined grid.

 :P

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #20 on: October 05, 2016, 09:29:47 PM »
By example.
The script open the projects folder. And the folder opens in a predefined grid.
When I open the word file associated does in a predefined grid.
If we open autocad does in a grid predefined too.
With a little imagination you can mount sceneries to your needs.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #21 on: October 05, 2016, 09:33:19 PM »
Perhaps an answer may be :
Launch the scenery or bunch (group) of programs, files and folders associated to the work.
Then launch GridMove.
And like the program Fences have rules to assign a fence to a condition. With GridMove something of the sort.  :-[

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #22 on: October 05, 2016, 09:36:16 PM »
I was searching my database to find the program I used to create sceneries : yLaunch2

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2016, 09:43:46 PM »
Some programs like Goldmine have alarm windows that are not moved to the selected grid.....


Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Number of monitors (or virtual monitors) and productivity
« Reply #24 on: October 05, 2016, 09:52:59 PM »
GridMove don't scale the window when move. So this is not confortable at all. Even because if you maximize you lose the grid.

I don't see the advantage.
 :-\