Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 23, 2017, 06:09 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Total lines count (and selected lines count) inside selected clip  (Read 1265 times)

jathri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hello!
Thanks for this great app. Seems to be much more stable and usable than Clipcube, Ditto, Clipmate etc. At least for me. I miss some features though. First of them is line counter in clips section. Could you add it?
https://i.imgur.com/cLKxByw.jpg
It would show total line count (and selected lines count) inside selected clip. See image link above.
It would be also nice to see lines numbers as in notepad++.
https://i.imgur.com/6vDgjoi.jpg
Thank you for considering my request.
jathri
« Last Edit: July 30, 2016, 05:51 PM by jathri »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,324
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Welcome jathri!

Not a bad idea.
So let's look at a screenshot:
Screenshot - 7_31_2016 , 12_38_26 AM.png

So I show the clip size when you select a clip (total number of bytes), and you can add a column for the clip size in the grid if you choose.

It wouldn't be hard for me to add a LINE COUNT to that bottom row when you select a clip.

It would be a little more inconvenient for me to add line count to the grid columns, but it could be done going forward for new clips.

Now as for adding "selected lines" that is a little messier, so im not sure about that.  But maybe.


jathri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
So I show the clip size when you select a clip (total number of bytes)
> I didnt notice!

It wouldn't be hard for me to add a LINE COUNT to that bottom row when you select a clip.
> That would be great! Looking forward to see it implemented.

And what about line numbers inside a clip? As shown here:
https://i.imgur.com/6vDgjoi.jpg

Can you please comment this idea too?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,324
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Quote
And what about line numbers inside a clip? As shown here:
let me see how easy that would be to add.

jathri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Total lines count (and selected lines count) inside selected clip
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2017, 04:19 AM »
Hello!
Any progress here?
Code: Text [Select]
  1. It wouldn't be hard for me to add a LINE COUNT to that bottom row when you select a clip.
  2. It would be a little more inconvenient for me to add line count to the grid columns, but it could be done going forward for new clips.
  3. Now as for adding "selected lines" that is a little messier, so im not sure about that.  But maybe.
  4. And what about line numbers inside a clip? > let me see how easy that would be to add.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,324
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Total lines count (and selected lines count) inside selected clip
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2017, 05:23 PM »
Thanks for the reminder.. It's on my todo list.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,324
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Total lines count (and selected lines count) inside selected clip
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2017, 07:32 PM »
In latest beta, line count is now shown on bottom right statusbar when you select a clip.

jathri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
In latest beta, line count is now shown on bottom right statusbar when you select a clip.
Thank you. But could you please show line counts even if clipboard contains only one line -> 1L. I consider it bit confusing without it.

jathri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I also noticed that sometimes line counts are not showing even if they should (text has more than one line). Notepad++ shows line numbers OK. Example:
Code: Text [Select]
  1. http://www.donationcoder.com/Software/Mouser/esr/
  2. http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=1772.0
  3. http://www.donationcoder.com/Software/Mouser/findrun/
  4. http://www.donationcoder.com/Software/Skrommel/
  5. http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=43045.0;topicseen
  6. http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=42879.msg401141
N++ shows CRLF in the end of lines (when show all characters checked).