Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 30, 2016, 11:55:47 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Easy/Default access to presets  (Read 509 times)

naveed

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Easy/Default access to presets
« on: May 24, 2016, 11:19:47 AM »
I have preset that I'd like to apply on all pastes. Is this possible to apply it as a default? Or alternatively, is it possible to have a shortcut to directly use a preset. Looks like someone asked for something similar a long time ago, but I am not sure if anything came out of it.

Thanks for your great work, mouser!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,276
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Easy/Default access to presets
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2016, 12:31:53 PM »
You can set hotkey shortcuts to directly apply a preset.
Just modify the preset and set your hotkey on the Preset Hotkey Trigger tab, and then make sure you RESAVE the preset.

naveed

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Easy/Default access to presets
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2016, 01:25:27 PM »
Thanks mouser! That worked.

However there's a 1-2 second delay when I use the preset, which is just one string replace. The regular paste and everything else works fine. I'm on Windows 10/i5/16GB RAM if that matters.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,276
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Easy/Default access to presets
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2016, 01:27:13 PM »
i think that's because the preset is actually trying to FIRST capture what might be selected by the mouse, and the cut and repaste it, and the delay is the program trying to make sure it has a chance to copy it.
(see the help text on the hotkey tab for a longer explanation).

i probably need to add an option for if you want the formatting preset just to be applied to whatever is already in the clipboard.

naveed

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Easy/Default access to presets
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2016, 01:28:47 PM »
Applying to whatever's in the clipboard would be really useful.