Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 03:38:17 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: malware or ? #1454789523  (Read 4789 times)

holt

  • Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #25 on: February 15, 2016, 02:34:40 AM »
On reboot winpatrol reported the mystery program asking to be added to the start menu.
Here are the screen shots of winpatrol, in case someone can spot any difference;
edit: Disclaimer; BTW, the laptop and its OS and content are 8 or 10 years old but I've only had it for a few months.
"This is the best bad idea we have, sir. By far." (cf. 'Argo'.)
« Last Edit: February 16, 2016, 12:29:55 AM by holt »

holt

  • Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #26 on: February 15, 2016, 05:04:51 AM »
It's back, right on cue. Sorry, but clicking on the "Open Folder" or "Properties" link in the warning dialog gives no visible result or clue about what the program is.
"This is the best bad idea we have, sir. By far." (cf. 'Argo'.)
« Last Edit: February 15, 2016, 08:29:17 AM by holt »

Dirhael

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
    • defreitas.no
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #27 on: February 15, 2016, 12:06:53 PM »
I'm thinking this might explain what you're experiencing: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1654402

Quote
[...]Speed Launcher is adding a HKCU RunOnce entry over and over again and assigning a random number to it.  This is then of course alerting WinPatrol who is monitoring new startup programs[...]
Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,405
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2016, 01:07:44 PM »
I'm thinking this might explain what you're experiencing: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1654402

Quote
[...]Speed Launcher is adding a HKCU RunOnce entry over and over again and assigning a random number to it.  This is then of course alerting WinPatrol who is monitoring new startup programs[...]

Good find!  Hopefully that's it...

holt

  • Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #29 on: February 15, 2016, 11:27:54 PM »
I'm thinking this might explain what you're experiencing: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1654402

Quote
[...]Speed Launcher is adding a HKCU RunOnce entry over and over again and assigning a random number to it.  This is then of course alerting WinPatrol who is monitoring new startup programs[...]
The only Adobe entry I could find in winpatrol's Start list was AdobeARM, which I have thankfully disabled. It is reported to be unnecessary to normal operation of the OS, can be started when needed anyways, and -yes- is reported to be variously problematic. This may indeed be the culprit; and as a legitimate program, no anti-virus or anti-pup scan would find it. I can't thank you and the other respondents enough for all your help!  :)
"This is the best bad idea we have, sir. By far." (cf. 'Argo'.)

mwb1100

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,520
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #30 on: February 16, 2016, 01:12:14 AM »
I'm thinking this might explain what you're experiencing: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1654402

Very good catch!

The only Adobe entry I could find in winpatrol's Start list was AdobeARM...

"Adobe Speed Launcher" shows as the 3rd item in your "winpatrol 7.jpg" screen capture. Maybe it doesn't last long in the list due to whatever bug it has.  The directions in Dirhael's link should fix your problem.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,405
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #31 on: February 16, 2016, 01:37:46 PM »
I'm thinking this might explain what you're experiencing: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1654402

Very good catch!

The only Adobe entry I could find in winpatrol's Start list was AdobeARM...

"Adobe Speed Launcher" shows as the 3rd item in your "winpatrol 7.jpg" screen capture. Maybe it doesn't last long in the list due to whatever bug it has.  The directions in Dirhael's link should fix your problem.


And look at the command- I didn't pay enough attention.  It appears to be a number.  WinPatrol strikes again!

holt

  • Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #32 on: February 17, 2016, 02:12:33 AM »
I'm thinking this might explain what you're experiencing: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1654402

Very good catch!

The only Adobe entry I could find in winpatrol's Start list was AdobeARM...

"Adobe Speed Launcher" shows as the 3rd item in your "winpatrol 7.jpg" screen capture. Maybe it doesn't last long in the list due to whatever bug it has.  The directions in Dirhael's link should fix your problem.


And look at the command- I didn't pay enough attention.  It appears to be a number.  WinPatrol strikes again!
Dirhael, it's an outrageously good catch! Ever since I disabled AdobeARM, "Adobe Speed Launcher" isn't showing up, but I'll start looking for it.
Donation Coder does it again! :)
"This is the best bad idea we have, sir. By far." (cf. 'Argo'.)
« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 02:00:06 AM by holt »

holt

  • Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #33 on: February 23, 2016, 11:29:09 PM »
Every time I click on any .pdf file, WinPatrol immediately pops up with a random number string that is a mystery program it says is asking to be added to the Start menu; it's definitely Adobe-related. So I just click on 'reject' and it goes away and quits bugging me; but you have to disable the above-mentioned Adobe software -AdobeARM or Adobe Speed Launcher- from the Start menu to prevent it bugging you on a daily basis. Once again, many thanks to everyone who helped me so patiently, and especially to Dirhael.
"This is the best bad idea we have, sir. By far." (cf. 'Argo'.)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #34 on: February 24, 2016, 04:39:50 AM »
@holt, did you install the recommended patch?
(https://helpx.adobe....ated-every-user.html via Dirhael's link above)
Tom

holt

  • Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #35 on: February 24, 2016, 10:00:43 PM »
@holt, did you install the recommended patch?
(https://helpx.adobe....ated-every-user.html via Dirhael's link above)
Somehow I missed that. Got it. Thanks tomos!
"This is the best bad idea we have, sir. By far." (cf. 'Argo'.)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: malware or ? #1454789523
« Reply #36 on: February 25, 2016, 01:52:21 PM »
^ in theory, that should solve any related problems...
Tom