Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 26, 2016, 12:24:03 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: run FindAndRunRobot from command line ?  (Read 635 times)

reckoner

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
run FindAndRunRobot from command line ?
« on: December 15, 2015, 08:40:30 AM »
I am trying to integrate  FindAndRunRobot with some other  scripts and I would like to do something like the following,
Code: Text [Select]
  1. c:> FindAndRunRobot  <the text that would normally go in the input box>

Is this possible?

Thanks!


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,248
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: run FindAndRunRobot from command line ?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2015, 12:48:01 PM »
the main question is, what do you want FARR to do when you run that.
if what you want is farr to open up and display the results of that search, then yes you can.  see the commandline usage help page.

zircle

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: run FindAndRunRobot from command line ?
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2015, 12:02:23 AM »
In case anyone else is wondering how to do this without having to jump through some hoops, this question was asked a few years back here.

The solution provided by mouser was:
Quote
FindAndRunRobot.exe -search "blah blah"

with additional information...

In the help file look for a chapter called "Commandline Options", in it you will see a bunch of commandline options you can use to tell FARR to do stuff.

    -standalone = start FARR visible and in taskbar, and exit on close of window
    -search "search string" = start FARR visible (or bring up any running copy) and start a search
    -show = start FARR visible (or bring up any running copy)
    -hide = hide FARR if visible
    -toggle = toggle display of farr
    -exit = exit any running copy of FARR.
    -exitifnotrunning = exit FARR unless it was already running and this was a second instance launched just to search or launch
    -launch = start FARR (or invoke in a running copy) and launch a command (can use any normal FARR launch strings including setting user variables, etc.)
    -unloadplugins = tell running instance of FARR to unload all plugins temporarily, so that plugin files can be replaced
    -loadplugins = tell farr to reload temporarily unloaded plugins (must be balanced # of calls)


NOTE: You can launch a second instance of FARR with these arguments, and they will be PASSED ON TO THE FIRST INSTANCE and executed, without actually leaving a second instance running (so don't specify -exit unless you want to kill all running instances)