Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 28, 2016, 12:14:11 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation  (Read 1224 times)

zubinho

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation
« on: October 15, 2015, 01:22:42 PM »
Hi there,
first of all I want to thank you for this great software.
I have been using it for few years now and there has been no problem.

A month ago I upgraded my Windows 8.1. to Windows 10 (keeping my apps) and today I noticed that I cannot run UrlSnooper.
Tried reinstaling UrlSnooper and WinPcap but I always get EAccesViolation error message. There is no error code or anything.
Googled it but found only some posts in chinese (google translate couldn't help much).

So, is there anyone who experienced this problem before or a way to trace error?

btw. sorry for my english.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,261
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2015, 01:33:57 PM »
i think i just recently tested urlsnooper on win10 and it worked fine.

it may be some incompatible setting carried over from your old setup.. uninstall/reinstall does not remove old settings.

try this:
exit the app, then find the settings files -- these are normally in your documents\DonationCoder\UrlSnooper directory.

zubinho

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2015, 01:46:24 PM »
yes, I found it.
Backed it up, removed folder, tried new installation UrlSnooper, tried to start it - same error.

But now the folder Documents\DonationCoder\URLSnooper\ is empty. There is no settings.ini file in there (maybe because program could not start?!)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,261
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2015, 01:56:54 PM »
Hmm, and you are using the normal installer version not portable version right?

maybe try this:

uninstall url snooper, then delete the C:\Program Files x86\UrlSnooper directory, then reinstall.

if that still fails, try rebooting.

zubinho

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2015, 02:25:06 PM »
Yeah, it wast installer version.

Uninstallation process removed UrlSnooper directory from program files, I manually removed one from Documents, Rebooted, installed it and again same error.
When I first started it I saw that it created folder in Documents but without settings.ini file in it.

Could it be something with winpcap?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,261
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2015, 02:27:32 PM »
It's possible, but i'm guessing not.. something in the back of my mind is making me think we saw this problem before..

i'm assuming you are using the most recent version.

do you have a firewall that you could maybe add urlsnooper to some allowed list?

can you try it running as administrator?

email me (mouser@donationcoder.com) and i'll try to get you a debug build this weekend that we can use to figure out EXACTLY where things are going wrong.

zubinho

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2015, 02:50:59 PM »
I added inbound and outbound rules for URLSnooper.exe file in Windows Firewall, disabled avast anitvirus for an hour, run it as administrator but nothing.
Also tried to run it in compatibility mode (win 8) also didn't help.

I'll email you. thank you for generous help!

milo

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: UrlSnooper - EAccessViolation
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2015, 04:42:24 AM »
Hi, same problem here if i setup language program to french (or other non-english). On next start, "EACcessViolation". I have to delete URLSnooper.FRA file manually to revert back to english (I'm using portable version).