Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 11:53:06 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Doing an append to the clipboard  (Read 6380 times)

superticker

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Superticker's SU reviews about technology
    • Donate to Member
Doing an append to the clipboard
« on: June 17, 2006, 11:06:27 PM »
How can I keep appending stuff to the clipboard in v1.08.01 of Clipboard Help+Spell?  Is there a hotkey or something that let's me do this?

Thanks in advance.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2006, 11:20:49 PM »
its one of the features that has been requested a lot - a merge functionality.. doesn't exist yet.. i'll see if i cant add it in the next week.. how would people like this functionality to work?

superticker

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Superticker's SU reviews about technology
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2006, 01:01:08 AM »
its one of the features that has been requested a lot - a merge functionality.. doesn't exist yet.... how would people like this functionality to work?
Please add a hotkey sequence to append the selected text to the current highlighted clip in Clipboard Help+Spell.  Honestly, I can't think of any other way to do this.  I suppose you could include a check box to add a line break (e.g. "\n" or arbitrary character string) between each appended segment.  In practice, the accumulated text will likely need to be edited anyway.

Please don't make this feature too complicated.  Simpler is beautiful.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2006, 11:45:23 AM by superticker »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2006, 04:57:28 AM »
I WANT THIS! :D
I'd like a way to just select several clips in the main window, and join them together, separated by some character. I think it'd be easier than adding another hotkey.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2006, 06:39:43 AM »
ok so one option is to merge with some separator string between them.

superticker

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Superticker's SU reviews about technology
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2006, 11:36:18 AM »
... just select several clips in the main window, and join them together, separated by some character. I think it'd be easier than adding another hotkey.
Well, the above suggestion is okay, but I also need a way to append clips from several different documents.

For example, I manage an e-mailing list, and I get bounces spread across 30 different e-mails.  I need to merge their address contents ("550 User unknown" from different mail daemons) into a single laundry list so I can unsubscribe them from this e-mailing list.  The append hotkey lets me do that easily.

Also, I'm trying to select multiple discontinous words right here in Firefox.  Can Firefox even do this?  I know how to select discontinous cells in Excel; but not in Firefox, Notepad, or Outlook.  If there's a way, please tell me know.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2006, 11:46:45 AM by superticker »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2006, 01:49:46 PM »
right, ok so too different things here.
superticker - wants a hotkey so he can select, hit hotkey to APPEND new selection to clipboard.
jgpaiva (and others) - want command to select a bunch of clips and merge them to one.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2006, 02:46:19 PM »
I can see superticker's point of view, but wouldn't it be almost the same?
I mean, i also would like the hotkey, as it'd make it faster, but i'm not much for hotkeys.

The main reason i need this is because it'd be much easier to make newsletter address collecting for example. I could collect all the links, keep copying them one by one, then go to the main window, select them all and join them together. I know the hotkey would be optional, i'm just wondering if i'm misunderstanding or miscomunicating something.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2006, 02:58:14 PM »
no, i think you've got it right..

which is faster and more efficient might depend on how many of these you are doing.
if you are doing a lot, i think the normal process of copying all and then going to main chs window and "merging" a bunch of clips would be better, and less prone to error.

if you are just doing like 2 or 3 at a time, then a special hotkey might be faster just because you wouldn't have to open up the chs window to operate it.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,925
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2006, 03:09:29 PM »
you wouldn't have to open up the chs window to operate it.

FWIW, The free version of ClipCache allows you to right-click on its tray icon, which pops up a little menu.  There you can change from Capture Clips = each clip is separate to Append text captures which accumulates everything in one clip until turned off.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2006, 04:01:09 PM »
nice idea.

superticker

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Superticker's SU reviews about technology
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2006, 05:00:34 PM »
... which is faster ... might depend on how many of these you are doing.... If you are just doing like 2 or 3 at a time, then a special hotkey might be faster just because you wouldn't have to open up the chs window to operate it.
The hotkey would be faster whether you're appending 3 or 30 clips.  But being error proned brings up a question:

Whether we append using a "mode" approach as rjbull suggests in ClipCache, or use a hotkey append approach instead, can we be able to see--and edit--the accumulated clips as we build them?

For example, say I screw up on clip 5 (of 10 clips) and include some extra junk.  Can I fix that mistake in chs's window before appending clip 6?  If so, this would give me a "running picture" of how my accumulation looks, and I could fix any mistakes as I go.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Doing an append to the clipboard
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2006, 05:05:05 PM »
well like any clip in chs, you can open the main window, edit it and reselect it to make it your current clipboard, so that's not a problem.