Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 06:13:26 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Option to NOT save to file?  (Read 4515 times)

kproth

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Option to NOT save to file?
« on: June 12, 2006, 04:05:19 PM »
Feature request: I'd enjoy an option to not save my screencaps to files. I would combine that the the existing option to automatically copy screencaps to the clipboard.

I still want to be able to preview and edit/annotate my screencaps in the built-in image editor, with the option to save if I choose, but most of the time I'm only grabbing screencaps to paste into emails and in that case I don't want to have to go back and clean out my captures folder...

Thanks,
- Kevin

p.s.: awesome app!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,410
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to NOT save to file?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2006, 04:10:46 PM »
yeah - it definitely has to be made easier to discard screenshots..
maybe a quick delete button.

youll find in the moveto menu a choice saying "delete all images in screenshot directory", so this is what i generally advise people who use sc for temporary stuff, just capture a bunch, and when you are done with the screenshots, choose that option.

kproth

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to NOT save to file?
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2006, 04:28:33 PM »
Good tip - I'll try that on for size.

I think it's perhaps more of a mental thing - if I don't want to save it, I'm thinking "why should I have to go clean it up at all"?

Also, I was initially testing within a Virtual PC, and there was a noticeable delay waiting for an image (especially full screen) to save to disk (I was using JPG format instead of PNG if that also makes a difference). Would the delay be reduced or eliminated if there existed an option to not save to disk?

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to NOT save to file?
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2006, 06:40:53 AM »
Feature request: I'd enjoy an option to not save my screencaps to files. ...
I second this feature wish (of course, u know :P)
Quote from: mouser
"delete all images in screenshot directory"
This is no solution for me.
I on my own didn't want to delete ALL screenshots.
To NOT save by default is an logically way to me.

vegas

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 352
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to NOT save to file?
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2006, 11:57:46 PM »
Feature request: I'd enjoy an option to not save my screencaps to files. I would combine that the the existing option to automatically copy screencaps to the clipboard.

I was wondering whether I could prevent this as a default action.  I too, third this nomination as a feature.

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to NOT save to file?
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2006, 08:11:30 AM »
Must say again, doing a capture every second minute just now,
this auto save behaviour incommodes highly.
There is every time a short delay while saving which disturbs colossal.
(may be our favorite developer has an high end pc where this delay never happens  ;D)

An other problem occurs
when i click on an thump on the left side...
...then my current shot is saved (ok, i set this so to do this automaticly)
but it is focused ! (i mean my current shot, i.e. it is showed again in the main window)
So i must (search and) click on the thump again a second time.
Perhaps this auto save could be done in the back ground?


Pfffttt {takeadeepbreath} :-\ sorry, just an IMHO report.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,410
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to NOT save to file?
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2006, 08:41:43 AM »
ok, maybe i could add an option to not save the last image until you want to, and overwrite it if you capture multiple images in a row without saving.

kproth

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to NOT save to file?
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2006, 08:24:01 PM »
Overwriting the most recent 'temporary' capture file seems quite reasonable to me. It solves any concerns over disk-space usage without requiring the user to do anything, yet prevents having to make any major changes to the app to avoid any use of a file.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,410
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to NOT save to file?
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2006, 08:40:26 PM »
yes, i will add this for those who want it, it seems to be a good compromise and will in fact reduce disk usage and so speed up multiple captures.  it will of course be an option - i myself prefer to have it save every capture and let me choose later which to delete.

i could add a toggle in the tray, so you could easily switch between "save every capture" mode, and "capture overwrite temporary buffer".
« Last Edit: July 30, 2006, 08:41:57 PM by mouser »