Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 25, 2016, 09:04:54 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: can't get fcalc to do more than one calculation at a time  (Read 1327 times)

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
can't get fcalc to do more than one calculation at a time
« on: October 26, 2014, 08:23:59 AM »
I have fcalc 1.11.01 and in the config box under "Regular Expression (custom override)" I have:

^=(.*)$|^=$|^fc (.*)$|^fc$

... which brings up fcalc when I type '=' into farr.  So far so good.

But after I do a calculation, say '=1+2' and hit enter, it shows the expression and the result in the window below and it replaces the command line with 'fc ' and at the bottom of the window it says 'FCalc plugin by mouser'.  But it doesn't respond to further typing.  For example, 'fc 3*4' does not show 12.  Although it does still say 'Fcalc plugin by mouser' at the bottom.  If I remove the space 'fc3' it switches back to a farr search and shows me anything that matches fc3.

Would love to type '=1+2' and get '3', and then continue typing '3*4' and get '12'.

In the "Regular Expression match (default)" box I have:

^fc (.*)$|^fc$

Thanks for any suggestions.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: can't get fcalc to do more than one calculation at a time
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2014, 09:00:04 AM »
if you don't mind using an alias to complement the plugin, the following alias will do what you want.

Edit Group Alias_2014_10_26_001.png


for easier copy-pasting, you can copy the following text and import into Farr's alias section.

1000>>>FarrCalc>->dosearch fc $$1>+>^=(.*)

note: you may have to restore the plugin's default regex.

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: can't get fcalc to do more than one calculation at a time
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2014, 04:39:50 PM »
Absolutely *golden* lanux128!!  Perfect!  (and yes on deleting the 'custom override' regexp).

Thanks a million!  It's bothered me for years, but small, like a really, really tiny splinter.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: can't get fcalc to do more than one calculation at a time
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2014, 08:52:42 PM »
Thanks a million!  It's bothered me for years, but small, like a really, really tiny splinter.

you're welcome and should have posted sooner, the "splinter" wouldn't have bothered you this long.. :)

also take a look here, it might give you more ideas on expanding Farr's usage.

• FARR V2 core alias tables - http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=9342.0

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: can't get fcalc to do more than one calculation at a time
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2014, 09:51:30 PM »
Awesome list lanux128, thank you!!