Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 11:58:11 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Screenshot captor locks files in explorer  (Read 1705 times)

bbbbrett

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Screenshot captor locks files in explorer
« on: October 14, 2014, 07:26:53 PM »
Screenshot captor locks files in explorer and they can't be deleted until SC is closed. Very annoying, does anybody know how to stop this. It does it with files in my Save folder.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot captor locks files in explorer
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2014, 10:56:37 PM »
it shouldn't!
in fact SC won't even lock the current file you are viewing..
are you using a recent version?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2014, 11:09:46 PM by mouser »

bbbbrett

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot captor locks files in explorer
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2014, 11:28:22 PM »
Yes, I am using the latest version. When I try to delete files in my Save folder I get a windows message that the file is in use by Screenshot Captor. Don't know why but the folder is also my download folder and the files are always Video files I have downloaded, never JPG images etc, only seems to do it with Video files.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot captor locks files in explorer
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2014, 11:31:10 PM »
ahhh video files.. interesting.. ok i am away from home but let me look into that when i get back, surely i can fix it.
are they only video files that you have clicked on in sc that has made sc load them into its main window?
in the mean time try this, go to the Miscelaneous Saving and Loading tab in options, and UNCHECK the option "Display videos in thumbnail panel" near bottom.  then restart.
let me know if that helps?
« Last Edit: October 15, 2014, 07:22:08 AM by mouser »

bbbbrett

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot captor locks files in explorer
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2014, 06:13:03 AM »
You are going to think I am an idiot but when I bring up the options (preferences) page I can only find "miscellaneous tweaks" and it does not have any option for that. Sorry but I have looked everywhere and cannot find any option to "Display videos in thumbnail panel".
The video files in question have never been opened in SC.


lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot captor locks files in explorer
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2014, 06:31:45 AM »
i think mouser meant "saving and loading files" section..

Screenshot Captor Options_2014_10_15_001.png

bbbbrett

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot captor locks files in explorer
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2014, 12:28:46 AM »
 :) Thank's... just checked and it was already unchecked.
It's an odd issue, not really something that is likely to happen to many people but I thought it worth investigating as someone might learn something in the process. I'm guessing it's has something to do with it being the folder I save downloads (anything of a temp nature actually, everything gets moved eventually) in.
Hope it's not a bother to work out as it's is only a minor issue that comes up once or twice a week.

Cheers

B