Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 05:13:48 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Program windows contained in a frame?  (Read 2891 times)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Program windows contained in a frame?
« on: July 21, 2014, 03:53:12 PM »
I'm pretty sure it was talked about on DC a few weeks ago.  A program that let you add other program windows to its frame.  You could move them all by dragging the frame etc..

I've tried every search term I can think of with no results.  Does anyone remember this Windows utility?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2014, 04:10:12 PM »
Does anyone remember this Windows utility?

I remember the thread :-\ vaguely
was further back than a couple of weeks ...

I searched for tabs and eventually found this - is that it?
http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=37098.0
Tom

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2014, 04:40:26 PM »
Task Space is it.  Thank you.  Just one of those memory lapses that plague me intermittently.  :)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2014, 04:49:42 PM »
Task Space is it.  Thank you.  Just one of those memory lapses that plague me intermittently.  :)

I see it's been updated, let us know how you get on with it.
Tom

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2014, 05:01:54 PM »
Sure will.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2014, 05:31:30 PM »
Was a bit distracted when I last replied:
my search-fu is fairly poor, but I often have a good memory of a post or thread and keywords used. OTOH trying to remember what I did last week can require quite a bit of mental straining :)
Tom

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2014, 05:45:00 AM »
It's frustrating for me because it's usually proper names.  Like I'm trying to tell someone about an actress and I can remember her major movies, the costars and directors, but not her name.  Drives me nuts.  :)

Cuffy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 392
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2014, 05:45:44 PM »
I know nothing about program windows but thought I might inject an idea about your memory issues. My doctor suggested memory exercises, something to make your brain jump through hoops and keep your brain out of idle. Windows is good! Win8 has a game that works for me. It's free and quite effective
Try 2 Deck Freecell from the Windows Store. I've been using it since I installed Win8.0 and it helps. It has unlimited "undo" so every game is winnable and the trick is: don't quit... play or undo and try a different play. Make your brain work at it!
Been playing it now for less than two years and already my memory has stretched out almost to the end of a sentence.
Try it!
 ;)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2014, 07:05:32 PM »
Thanks for the suggestion.  I'll check it out.  :)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2014, 04:12:31 PM »
 ;D  Nice to know i am not alone with my lack of memory !!!!!!!!  :tellme:

Target

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,606
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2014, 08:14:11 PM »
hey Miles, how did you get on with Task Space?


MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2014, 05:50:34 AM »
Sorry.  I've really been distracted lately.  I haven't tried it yet. When I do I'll update though.


dr_andus

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 810
    • View Profile
    • Dr Andus's toolbox
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2014, 06:21:28 AM »
TaskSpace has been working fine on my Win7 64-bit, Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM machine, but I just tried using it on a Win XP netbook with 2GB RAM, and it wasn't able to cope with it.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program windows contained in a frame?
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2014, 07:55:57 AM »
My Laptop is 4 GB ram so it should be an interesting in between case.  I'll give it at least a cursory trial today.