Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 12:27:11 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64  (Read 5318 times)

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« on: June 27, 2014, 08:51:53 AM »
SC installed to win 8.1 64bit just now.
Key inserted and happend nothing. Tried run fourtimes. Nothing happen. In event viewer found:

- <Event xmlns="http://schemas.micro...2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
  <Provider Name="Application Error" />
  <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
  <Level>2</Level>
  <Task>100</Task>
  <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
  <TimeCreated SystemTime="2014-06-27T13:10:42.000000000Z" />
  <EventRecordID>80398</EventRecordID>
  <Channel>Application</Channel>
  <Computer>Comp</Computer>
  <Security />
  </System>
- <EventData>
  <Data>ScreenshotCaptor.exe</Data>
  <Data>4.8.5.0</Data>
  <Data>00000000</Data>
  <Data>AVICAP32.DLL</Data>
  <Data>6.3.9600.16384</Data>
  <Data>52158cbd</Data>
  <Data>c000041d</Data>
  <Data>000086bd</Data>
  <Data>137c</Data>
  <Data>01cf92093131ca5b</Data>
  <Data>E:\Program Files (x86)\ScreenshotCaptor\ScreenshotCaptor.exe</Data>
  <Data>C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AVICAP32.DLL</Data>
  <Data>70a2e15e-fdfc-11e3-beb8-94de800efc15</Data>
  <Data />
  <Data />
  </EventData>
  </Event>

Have you any suggestions?
Thank you.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 08:59:27 AM »
Screenshot Captor should run fine on a Windows 8 machine.

Can you explain a bit more what happens?  You were able to start Screenshot Captor and put in a license key?
Or did it never start up at all?
Is it running and unresponsive, or not listed at all in the task manager?
If it's running, can you see it's icon in the system tray (bottom right), and can you right-click on it to get a menu?
« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 09:54:50 AM by mouser »

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2014, 02:06:10 AM »
After installation I run up ScreenCaptor (SC). Dialog was shown and I could put in license key.
Now when I start up ScreenCaptor.exe the Icon is shown in system tray. It is blinking for 3 sec and disappear.  Event viewer show application error. In task manager I see nothing about ScreenCaptor.
Its all what SC do for me. :(

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2014, 06:35:36 AM »
How can I help to solve my problem? Do you need any information? Do you have any suggestion?
Thank you
Mila

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2014, 01:49:41 PM »
Does anyone else have a Windows 8 machine they can test on and let us know what happens with Screenshot Captor?
Mila, did you run the setup program to install it to the default location or did you use the portable version?

rno2

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2014, 04:31:10 PM »
I am using Windows 8.1 pro with media center 64 bit and cs works fine for me.

Bending_Unit

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2014, 04:43:25 PM »
Windows 8.1 Pro German  / SC 4.8.5 (portable) - no problem here


« Last Edit: July 14, 2014, 04:54:19 PM by Bending_Unit »

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2014, 06:18:10 AM »
Program installed from ScreenshotCaptorSetup.exe. (no portable)
MD5  d692222fb549dffffd9b3ace7eb007cb *ScreenshotCaptorSetup.exe

I have OS at SSD disk C:. (Windows 8.1 Pro x64)
During installation I decided place at HD "e:\Program Files (x86)\ScreenshotCaptor\ScreenshotCaptor.exe"
I do it for all utilities. No difficulties until now.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2014, 06:32:35 AM »
There's no reason you shouldn't be able to install screenshot captor in that location, so that should not be the cause of problems.

Perhaps the problem is caused by where Screenshot Captor is trying to save it's configuration files.  By default this will be in your MyDocuments\DonationCoder\ScreenshotCaptor directory.

Can you exit SC, and edit the ConfigDir.ini file in the Screenshot Captor directory and point it to a different directory that you know you have write-permissions on (make sure to remove the // at the start of the line telling it where the configuration directory is).

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2014, 08:20:42 AM »
I tried your suggestion with ConfigDir.ini file. It were not help.

I tried uninstall SC and check the program folder. Folder ScreenshotCaptor not exist.
I tried install SC again. When I ran program from desktop icon, key was not required. Dialog box with button insert key not opened. Screen blink three or four times and icon  go out from system tray

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2014, 08:45:54 AM »
I have in running at home on two Windows 8.1 laptops without issue.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2014, 08:56:06 AM »
Quote
Screen blink three or four times and icon  go out from system tray

Can you check to make sure it's not just hidden from tray -- If you hit PrtScr button, it doesn't bring up the program or play the capture sound -- or just check if ScreenshotCaptor.exe is running in task list.

Can you find and delete the ScreenshotCaptor.ini settings file"? It should be in your MyDocuments\DonationCoder\ScreenshotCaptor folder.
If you don't find it -- that would suggest the problem is about saving your settings file.

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2014, 10:11:17 AM »
Its not just hidden. When ran It is shown in task list and after 3 sec exit.

I tried uninstall SC again and deleted all files and folder with "Donation*".
Next installed SC and inserted key. The same issue appear.

No ScreenshotCaptor.ini found on my system.

Plenty of files found in c:\Users\MilaH\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_ScreenshotCaptor_874af9785e2a4cc3186442e16ce613033584f_35fdcaac_0172dcce

After install the "Donation*" can be found here:
File/Folder                                                            Path
DonationCoder                                                        C:\ProgramData
DonationCoder                                                        C:\Users\MilaH\AppData\Roaming
DonationCoder                                                        C:\Users\MilaH\Documents
ScreenshotCaptor - Visit Homepage at DonationCoder.com (chec...      C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\ScreenshotCaptor
DonationCoder ScreenshotCaptor Installlnfo.dat                       C:\Users\MilaH\AppData\LocaI
DonationCoder ScreenshotCaptor Install nfo.dat                       C:\Users\MilaH\AppData\Roaming\DonationCoder\Keys
DonationCoder ScreenshotCaptor Key.dat                               C:\Users\MilaH\AppData\Roaming\DonationCoder\Keys
DonationCoder ScreenshotCaptor Installlnfo.dat                       E:\Program Files (\86)\ScreenshotCaptor
DonationCoder ScreenshotCaptor Key.dat                               E:\Program Files (\86)\ScreenshotCaptor
Visit Homepage at DonationCoder.com.urI                              E:\Program Files (\86)\ScreenshotCaptor
 

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2014, 10:31:27 AM »
First of all let me say I appreciate your patience and not giving up.
It will be interesting when we find the cause of this problem -- I'm sure it will help someone else.

Let's pursue the theory that the problem is that it can't save it's configuration files.
And so let's try this:
  • Download the PORTABLE zip version.
  • Unzip this into a directory that you know you have write access to (C:\Users\MilaH\Documents maybe or some other place similar).
  • Try running that portable version, which should try to keep all of its files in that same directory.

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2014, 12:21:30 PM »
I must thank you for your time too.
SC portable downloaded and installed into c:\Users\MilaH\Documents\SC\
Tried to run.
Behaviour is the same -> error after 3 sec.
No ScreenshotCaptor.ini found on my system (I use excellent utility everything - voidtools).
AVICAP32.DLL ver 6.3.9600.16384 marked as bad module.

Windows Report.wer
Version=1
EventType=APPCRASH
EventTime=130499175256536182
ReportType=2
Consent=1
UploadTime=130499175257397745
ReportIdentifier=364863d3-0c42-11e4-bebc-94de800efc15
IntegratorReportIdentifier=364863d2-0c42-11e4-bebc-94de800efc15
WOW64=1
NsAppName=ScreenshotCaptor.exe
Response.BucketId=1a1f7b6e55ebe9ecf01ee93fa8c62f85
Response.BucketTable=1
Response.LegacyBucketId=73352527792
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Název aplikace
Sig[0].Value=ScreenshotCaptor.exe
Sig[1].Name=Verze aplikace
Sig[1].Value=4.8.5.0
Sig[2].Name=Časové razítko aplikace
Sig[2].Value=00000000
Sig[3].Name=Název chybného modulu
Sig[3].Value=AVICAP32.DLL
Sig[4].Name=Verze chybného modulu
Sig[4].Value=6.3.9600.16384
Sig[5].Name=Časové razítko chybného modulu
Sig[5].Value=52158cbd
Sig[6].Name=Kód výjimky
Sig[6].Value=c000041d
Sig[7].Name=Posun výjimky
Sig[7].Value=000086bd
DynamicSig[1].Name=Verze operačního systému
DynamicSig[1].Value=6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.48
DynamicSig[2].Name=ID národního prostředí
DynamicSig[2].Value=1029
DynamicSig[22].Name=Další informace 1
DynamicSig[22].Value=563f
DynamicSig[23].Name=Další informace 2
DynamicSig[23].Value=563fc35efe8c6f0b5b3f05f1a2c30723
DynamicSig[24].Name=Další informace 3
DynamicSig[24].Value=41e7
DynamicSig[25].Name=Další informace 4
DynamicSig[25].Value=41e76b84cd4e915d3bad9733417cacb9
UI[2]=C:\Users\MilaH\Documents\SC\ScreenshotCaptor.exe
UI[3]=Program Screenshot Captor přestal pracovat.
UI[4]=Systém Windows může vyhledat řešení problému online.
UI[5]=Vyhledat řešení online a ukončit program
UI[6]=Vyhledat řešení online později a ukončit program
UI[7]=Ukončit program
LoadedModule[0]=C:\Users\MilaH\Documents\SC\ScreenshotCaptor.exe
LoadedModule[1]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
LoadedModule[2]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\KERNEL32.DLL
LoadedModule[3]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\KERNELBASE.dll
LoadedModule[4]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\STI.DLL
LoadedModule[5]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WININET.DLL
LoadedModule[6]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSVFW32.DLL
LoadedModule[7]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AVIFIL32.DLL
LoadedModule[8]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AVICAP32.DLL
LoadedModule[9]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SETUPAPI.DLL
LoadedModule[10]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ADVAPI32.DLL
LoadedModule[11]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MPR.DLL
LoadedModule[12]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VERSION.DLL
LoadedModule[13]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WSOCK32.DLL
LoadedModule[14]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINSPOOL.DRV
LoadedModule[15]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.9600.17031_none_a9efdb8b01377ea7\COMCTL32.DLL
LoadedModule[16]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\COMDLG32.DLL
LoadedModule[17]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\GDI32.DLL
LoadedModule[18]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SHELL32.DLL
LoadedModule[19]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SHFOLDER.DLL
LoadedModule[20]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USER32.DLL
LoadedModule[21]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMM.DLL
LoadedModule[22]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\IMM32.DLL
LoadedModule[23]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\OLE32.DLL
LoadedModule[24]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\OLEAUT32.DLL
LoadedModule[25]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\URLMON.DLL
LoadedModule[26]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\HID.DLL
LoadedModule[27]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\msvcrt.dll
LoadedModule[28]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\RPCRT4.dll
LoadedModule[29]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\iertutil.dll
LoadedModule[30]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USERENV.dll
LoadedModule[31]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSACM32.dll
LoadedModule[32]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CFGMGR32.dll
LoadedModule[33]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\sechost.dll
LoadedModule[34]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WS2_32.dll
LoadedModule[35]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SHLWAPI.dll
LoadedModule[36]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\combase.dll
LoadedModule[37]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMMBASE.dll
LoadedModule[38]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSCTF.dll
LoadedModule[39]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SspiCli.dll
LoadedModule[40]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\profapi.dll
LoadedModule[41]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\NSI.dll
LoadedModule[42]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DEVOBJ.dll
LoadedModule[43]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CRYPTBASE.dll
LoadedModule[44]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SHCORE.DLL
LoadedModule[45]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
LoadedModule[46]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\uxtheme.dll
LoadedModule[47]=C:\Program Files\FlashFolder\fflib6439.dll
LoadedModule[48]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\OLEACC.dll
LoadedModule[49]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\dwmapi.dll
LoadedModule[50]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\kernel.appcore.dll
LoadedModule[51]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\clbcatq.dll
LoadedModule[52]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\propsys.DLL
LoadedModule[53]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\msimg32.dll
LoadedModule[54]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\olepro32.dll
LoadedModule[55]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WindowsCodecs.dll
LoadedModule[56]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.windows.gdiplus_6595b64144ccf1df_1.1.9600.17056_none_dadc5d1c5bc8ab48\gdiplus.dll
LoadedModule[57]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DCIMAN32.DLL
LoadedModule[58]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\mscms.dll
LoadedModule[59]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\PSAPI.DLL
LoadedModule[60]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VDMDBG.DLL
LoadedModule[61]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\RICHED32.DLL
LoadedModule[62]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\RICHED20.dll
LoadedModule[63]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USP10.dll
LoadedModule[64]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\msls31.dll
LoadedModule[65]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CRYPTSP.dll
LoadedModule[66]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\rsaenh.dll
LoadedModule[67]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\bcrypt.dll
LoadedModule[68]=C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\thumbcache.dll
State[0].Key=Transport.DoneStage1
State[0].Value=1
FriendlyEventName=Práce zastavena
ConsentKey=APPCRASH
AppName=Screenshot Captor
AppPath=C:\Users\MilaH\Documents\SC\ScreenshotCaptor.exe
NsPartner=windows
NsGroup=windows8
ApplicationIdentity=EA3877C546ED3E9E8589101F8596A471




mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2014, 12:41:15 PM »
Would you mind installing one of my other programs, so we could see if its something more general and not specifically related to Screenshot Captor?
Here's the web page for Find and Run Robot: http://www.donationc...r/findrun/index.html

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2014, 02:15:16 AM »
I chose portable version of FARR and put in the c:\Users\MilaH\Documents\FARR
I have not tested all functionality, but license key was accepted by FARR. Next Excel was found and double click ran it.
FARR seems be Ok on my computer.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2014, 02:20:40 AM by MilaH »

MilaH

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2014, 09:07:21 AM »
Hello mouser,
I Have a good news. I found the solution. I have used googling and there is the solution (http://support.micro....com/kb/929833/en-us) (Googling took me over 6 hours :( ).
Don't know why avicap32.dll were corrupted but process found problem and repair it. I am very sorry for your lost time.

Many thanks,
Mila

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can not run CS on Win 8.1 64
« Reply #18 on: July 16, 2014, 10:05:11 AM »
Great to hear it's solved!  I guess you were right all along when you flagged avicap32.dll as the possible culprit early on -- i'm sorry i didn't pick up on that earlier.
Someone else may have similar problem and discover this thread, so it's not lost time :up: