Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 11:56:13 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Release: sChecklist  (Read 42252 times)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Release: sChecklist
« on: June 07, 2014, 08:25:30 PM »
TitlesChecklist
DescriptionA simple checklist app focused on ad-hoc lists.
Supported OSWindows 7.  Probably works, but not tested, on Windows XP/Vista/8/10
Website:http://skwire.dcmembers.com/fp/?page=schecklist
HistoryChangelog
DownloadsChecklist.zip
ScreenshotScreenshot 2014-06-07 00.12.18.png

Introduction
Like most of my apps, I wrote this because I couldn't find a simple checklist app that suited my needs.  What I'm talking about is off-the-cuff, ad hoc types of lists.  The ones that, in the course of your (work) day, you find yourself wanting a quick way to set up a checklist, especially one that can be easily used over and over.  Just rows of text entries and a checkbox for each.  No B.S., no time tracking, and no crazy wizzbang features.  In other words, this app is not a time tracker nor is it meant as a full-blown project tracker.  There are plenty of extremely well done apps that already do this.  Task Coach, MyLifeOrganized, & ToDoList are but three that I'd recommend.

Again, rows of text entries and a checkbox for each -- that's what this app strives to provide.

Features
  • Mulitple list interface -- quickly add new lists or duplicate existing lists
  • Can hide in the system tray and be used with a hide/show hotkey
  • Cut/copy/paste entries from one list to another maintaining checked state
  • Paste entries in from the clipboard
  • Customizable list font
  • Sort checked items to top or bottom
  • Check all and uncheck all buttons
  • Always on top button

Installation
Download the zip file and extract its contents into a new folder.  Run sChecklist.exe to start the application.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2015, 12:29:38 AM by skwire »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2014, 08:26:11 PM »
I'd like to get a bit of beta testing on this app before I fully release it on my website.  Thanks to anybody who gives it a try.

I was hoping to get that beta testing before any of the software sites or blogs pick up the app.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2014, 12:47:05 AM by skwire, Reason: 2014-06-08: Added bit about software sites. »

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,882
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2014, 09:01:21 PM »
 :up:

Hope to give some feedback soon

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,882
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2014, 09:11:40 PM »
Any chance the checked items can also have strikethrough?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2014, 09:19:51 PM »
Hope to give some feedback soon

Thanks.  =]  One of the reasons I'd like to get some testing is that, during development, there were certain conditions where saving a list would save it with nothing in it (effectively wiping it out).  I've endeavoured to handle all those conditions I could find but more testing would be welcome before I commit to releasing this fully.  Of course, it goes without saying, if you lose a carefully crafted list because of this, I'm sorry.   :-[
« Last Edit: June 08, 2014, 12:47:44 AM by skwire, Reason: 2014-06-08: Spelling. »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2014, 09:23:16 PM »
Any chance the checked items can also have strikethrough?

Unfortunately, I'm pretty positive AutoHotkey cannot strikethrough individual lines in its listview handling options.  The best I could do would probably be to offer colouring options for the rows.  However, that involves a separate library and comes with its own set of potential issues.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2014, 02:46:35 PM by skwire, Reason: Grammar. »

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,882
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2014, 09:36:29 PM »
Understood.

Next request: X also minimize .... option for it I guess

EDIT: No loss in couple of tries so far

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2014, 10:04:42 PM »
Next request: X also minimize .... option for it I guess

Added to the latest build: http://skwire.dcmembers.com/apps/schecklist/sChecklist.zip

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,368
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2014, 10:56:22 PM »
Use delete key when some/all items of a list are selected?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2014, 12:33:13 AM »
Use delete key when some/all items of a list are selected?

Shift+Delete currently handles that.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2014, 12:38:23 AM »
BTW, Ctrl+Up and Ctrl+Down currently moves a highlighted selection up and down through the list.  I'll add corresponding toolbar buttons as well.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2014, 03:33:57 AM »
Was looking for something like this a while back  :up:

Made a few lists here (win 8.1 x64) - they saving fine. Well thought out, I was going to request a couple of things, then found them in the toolbar :-)
Tom

Attronarch

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2014, 10:29:10 AM »
Wonderful minimalism.

Two ideas:

1) "Export to txt" (although user can manually open the .checklist file in notepad) and "Export to pdf"
2) Indented / grouped tasks, e.g.:

  • item 1
  • item 2
    • item 2.1
    • item 2.2
    • item 2.3
  • item 3

Don't know if they fit your vision, but I often break larger tasks into sub-tasks, hence the need for indentation.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2014, 10:30:23 AM »
Very nice and elegant.  :up:

cchian

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2014, 12:37:54 PM »
A print option would also be nice to have.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2014, 07:15:22 PM »
1) "Export to txt" (although user can manually open the .checklist file in notepad) and "Export to pdf"
2) Indented / grouped tasks, e.g.:

Export to text file is added to the latest build; see below.  In regards to indented tasks, there are other, fancier task-oriented apps out that do that already, so I feel it's somewhat out of scope for this app.

Very nice and elegant.  :up:

Thanks, mouser.  =]

A print option would also be nice to have.

This isn't easy to do in AHK but I'll add it to the list.

Website | Download
v1.0.1 - 2014-06-07
    + Added "Close button minimizes" option.  Note that the this new
      option is mutually exclusive of the "Close to tray" option.
      (Thanks, rgdot)
    + Added alpha, numeric, and random sort options to the toolbar.
    + Added Up/Down buttons to the toolbar to move a selection.  The
      Ctrl+Up and Ctrl+Down hotkeys handle this, too.
    + Added "Export list to text file" option.  (Thanks, Attronarch)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2014, 06:33:35 AM »

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2014, 11:17:19 PM »
HI, Jody, I *like* this!  I have tried dozens of todo applications.  This is so simple I might use it!

I think it needs an option for displaying a particular checklist on startup - or at least the first checklist if none is specified.
I think also, if you check all the items in a list, something should happen - something like, the name of the checklist becomes grayed.  That way a user can see if his list is complete or not.
And there should be an option to hide the status bar - I'm not sure it does anything anyway.

Thank you very much!
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2014, 11:34:05 PM »
HI, Jody, I *like* this!  I have tried dozens of todo applications.  This is so simple I might use it!

Good to hear.  I'm trying to strike a balance between nothing and a full-blown todo/task application.

I think it needs an option for displaying a particular checklist on startup - or at least the first checklist if none is specified.

Agreed.  I'll probably add an option that would display the last selected list on startup.

I think also, if you check all the items in a list, something should happen - something like, the name of the checklist becomes grayed.

I'll consider this (added to my ToDo list for this application).

And there should be an option to hide the status bar - I'm not sure it does anything anyway.

Currently it doesn't do anything but I do have plans to add at least a checked/unchecked count and percentage.  However, one side benefit to even a do-nothing statusbar is that it adds a much larger resizing grip to the bottom right corner, making it much easier to resize the app.

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2014, 11:48:04 PM »
Thanks, again, Jody.  I'll use it for awhile and see if it does me any good!
-bgmCoder

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2014, 12:25:01 AM »
Uh, Jody, I found out something else to do.

Somehow I managed to freeze the entire program - it seems to have had something to do with resizing.  I had to end process on it.
Problem is that before that, I had renamed a checklist, so when I restarted the application, my list was lost.
But I saw my old list - or part of it - in the checklists folder, and I edited checklist.dat to point to the newly-named one.
That went well, except that I lost the last 7 entries I made.

With that in mind, I think that sChecklist ought to save it's list after an edit is made in the list.  I'm not sure how often it saves, but it doesn't seem to save after an edit is made, or at least when the application loses focus.  I don't think there is any need for a "save" feature.

Another thing to add is a way to import a list - perhaps drag-n-drop would be sufficient.  It could take the filename (without extension) as the automated name for the checklist.

Finally, is there any way to have or not have the lines in the checklists list?  I know there is the toggle button for the entries (details mode, etc.), but not for the checklists list.

Thanks again!
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #21 on: June 12, 2014, 12:00:17 PM »
Uh, Jody, I found out something else to do.

Somehow I managed to freeze the entire program - it seems to have had something to do with resizing.  I had to end process on it.
Problem is that before that, I had renamed a checklist, so when I restarted the application, my list was lost.
But I saw my old list - or part of it - in the checklists folder, and I edited checklist.dat to point to the newly-named one.
That went well, except that I lost the last 7 entries I made.

With that in mind, I think that sChecklist ought to save it's list after an edit is made in the list.  I'm not sure how often it saves, but it doesn't seem to save after an edit is made, or at least when the application loses focus.  I don't think there is any need for a "save" feature.

Funny you mention that since I was working on this very issue last night.  I've tried a few things in the latest version that will, hopefully, improve things.

Another thing to add is a way to import a list - perhaps drag-n-drop would be sufficient.  It could take the filename (without extension) as the automated name for the checklist.

I'll consider this.

Finally, is there any way to have or not have the lines in the checklists list?

Covered in the latest build.

Website | Download
v1.0.3 - 2014-06-12
    * Improvements to the save logic (crossing fingers).
    * Included the Checklists list in the "show gridlines" option.
      (Thanks, BGM).
« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 12:43:30 PM by skwire »

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #22 on: June 16, 2014, 09:12:57 AM »
Thanks, Jody.

Ah, do you mind if I complain a little?  Options is displayed as a tab.  That takes up extra space on the screen for something, that IMHO, could be safely tucked away in the menubar.  Again, IMHO, the only value tabs would have in this nicely simple application would be if you could load the checklists in separate tabs.  But since you can't (and that's fine), there's no reason to put not-so-often-changed options in an always-visible tab and thus take up the extra space.  

(I suspect you used the tab control to not have to create a gui window for the options....)

Now, I'll give this nice little app a good show.  So far I love it and I might actually use it!
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #23 on: June 16, 2014, 09:38:37 AM »
Again, IMHO, the only value tabs would have in this nicely simple application would be if you could load the checklists in separate tabs.

The original design actually started out this way (with ten tabs).

(I suspect you used the tab control to not have to create a gui window for the options....)

You are correct.   :)

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: (Pre) Release: sChecklist
« Reply #24 on: June 16, 2014, 09:46:54 AM »
Ha ha, Jody!

Here is a quickie gui template:

InputGUIWindow:
gui, InputGUIEditor:new
gui, +resize
gui, add, text, , Edit Value
gui, add, edit, w300 h50 -wrap r1 vinputvalue, Your Value Here
Gui, Font, S10 CPurple Bold
Gui, Add, Button, x12 gInputGUIEditorACCEPT default, Accept
Gui, Add, Button, x+4 gInputGUIEditorCANCEL, Cancel
Gui, Show, center ,%apptitle% Data Editor
Return

InputGUIEditorACCEPT:
gui, ListViewEditor:submit
;do stuff with inputvalue
RETURN

InputGUIEditorCANCEL:
gui, ListViewEditor:cancel
Return

InputGUIEditorGuiSize:
anchor("inputvalue", "w")
Return
-bgmCoder