Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 02:19:11 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Disable Ctrl Q  (Read 1373 times)

ScreenManiac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2014
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Disable Ctrl Q
« on: May 30, 2014, 12:22:32 AM »
I wish there was a way to disable the Ctrl+Q hotkey.
Many other programs use it to QUIT the application, so I got into the habit of pressing it when finished. Accidentally deleting the active screenshot in the process.

Why do we need Ctrl+Q if we have DEL that does the same thing? Apart from many other ways to delete. Very non-standard and confusing, with no apparent advantage over the usual methods of deleting.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Ctrl Q
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2014, 03:40:04 AM »
I wish there was a way to disable the Ctrl+Q hotkey.
Many other programs use it to QUIT the application, so I got into the habit of pressing it when finished. Accidentally deleting the active screenshot in the process.

Yes, I've requested this be changed in the past. Most graphics programmes, but also many others (e.g. Softmaker Office programmes) use it to close.

I was so used to using it, that I started to use an AHK script to force *all* windows to close with Ctrl+Q. This is a workaround for SC, as it also closes it's window (rather than delete the current screenshot). (I dont have it yet on this machine, will post it later here.)
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Ctrl Q
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2014, 06:42:02 AM »
Ok I'm convinced, I will change it in next release and make Ctrl+Q do nothing.

Quote
Why do we need Ctrl+Q if we have DEL that does the same thing?
The rationale would be that the delete key is context-sensitive.  Depending on where you are in the user interface it will do different things; wheras a hotkey to delete the current image should work in multiple places.  But perhaps it isn't needed..

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Ctrl Q
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2014, 07:05:13 AM »
But perhaps it isn't needed..

or just give it another key combo?
e.g. Ctrl+Shift+Q (?)
Tom

ScreenManiac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2014
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Ctrl Q
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2014, 11:06:49 AM »
Thanks for considering it. Looking forward to the change.
Just like tomos I have no objections to a different hotkey like Ctrl Del or Ctrl Shift Q or whatever.