Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 08:32:01 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Does "DimScreen" work under GNU/Linux?  (Read 1547 times)

Epamitut

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Does "DimScreen" work under GNU/Linux?
« on: February 10, 2014, 06:38:16 PM »
Hi forum. Nice to meet you.

I use DimScreen v1.1 in windows xp a long time. It's Great: http://www.donationc...index.html#DimScreen

I wonder, Is there a version for GNU/Linux distros? Maybe, in .rpm or .deb package?
Or similar solution for gnu/linux OS?
« Last Edit: February 10, 2014, 10:22:48 PM by Epamitut »

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Does "DimScreen" work under GNU/Linux?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 10:57:06 PM »
The AHK source (DimScreen.ahk) is available, but unfortunately, there is no AHK for Linux, as far as I know, or at least nothing that can run an AHK script. It's kind of a Windows only thing.

Although in some cases, with limited success, a compiled AHK script (.exe) can be run with WINE. It really depends on what it does. I don't think in this case that it would work out very well (although I could be wrong).

40hz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11,768
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Does "DimScreen" work under GNU/Linux?
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 05:48:38 AM »
Virtually every Linux distro has a dockable screen brightness control. Look under whatever controls your settings. "Screen Lock & Brightness" or "Display" if it isn't a separte setting.