I've done some research into it, and there's a strange oddity to the post-capture options (and indeed what happens after capture in general), and I didn't know if this was intended.
When you capture and the dialog is shown, there are a couple of options.
1. If you show, the window is shown, and a balloon tip is shown on the icon with what is saved. The post-capture options are run.
2. If you hide, no window is shown, a balloon tip is shown, and the post-capture options are run.
3. To clipboard... same as hide.
4. Print... same as hide.
But Save as is totally different. No balloon tip. No post-capture options.