Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 04:32:45 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for  (Read 2493 times)

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« on: October 05, 2013, 07:51:24 AM »

What about...


=
Clipboard Help+Spell search for-05102013 143505.png
=
or

=
Clipboard Help+Spell search for-selected text-05102013 144505.png
=

Just an idea..


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2013, 07:54:57 PM »
Yes i like this idea -- perhaps a configurable toolbar for special web actions like search, define, etc.

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2013, 01:03:17 AM »
Maybe there is an easy solution for the following, I donot know.

So, I had a couple of textclips merged to 1 big textclip
and I wanted to search for a specific word/line  in  this merged clip  -only-

I tried with "Modify Format/Case" then in the presets "Find and replace"
entered the word, but nothing happened - tried a few times)
(my workaround : copy paste the stuff into MS Word and searched there)

Apart from the idea of the Google-button, what about having the same filter as at the top of CHS ?
but now in the clip panel.

Say, a bit like this

=
Clipboard Help and Spell-Suggestion-Google search and filter-23102013 074904.png
=

Thanks
=



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2013, 05:05:03 PM »
ooh i like that idea.. i could make it HIGHLIGHT matched text.  And i could have it automatically highlight when you use the main filter, to make it easier to spot the actual words that caused a clip to be matched in the first place. 

Stay tuned for an update soon with these features.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2013, 04:38:24 AM »
Highlighting in memo area has now been implemented (but not yet released).  It will automatically set to what you filter clips on, but you can set it independently as well.

I will try to add the ability to specify some custom quick actions (like google search but also let user specify some custom ones) both on the memo toobar, and on the quick-paste popup.

Expect a new beta version to test this week.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2013, 12:31:48 AM »
Ok folks, can you try this beta version and let me know what you think?
http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=1514.0

Screenshot - 11_19_2013 , 12_34_06 AM.png

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2013, 12:42:38 AM »
Looks good!

Thing is..
my idea was that users should
a. select text
b. click on [G]oogle button

Right now, I think the entire text is used.

=
CHS Select text-Google-Search-20112013 072604.pngSuggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
=

I meant a bit like Google rightclick

=
SnagIt-20112013 073945.pngSuggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
=




mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2013, 01:33:20 AM »
Ah yes, good -- i will fix it so it only operates on SELECTED text. Don't know why i didn't think of that.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2013, 01:36:42 AM »
Fixed -- please redownload the latest beta.

ps.
I used a combo (dropdown) box so it could support any number of user-defined actions.  I hope the extra required click isn't too annoying.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2013, 05:58:32 AM »
Note also, you can now select any text in any program, and bring up the CHS quick paste menu (Ctrl+Alt+Q by default) and choose to perform a quick action (web search) on it.  No need to copy the text and then open the main CHS window and hit that button.

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion: [New] AddContext menu - Google Search for
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2013, 02:15:20 AM »
Did not receive a notification of this one.
One way or the other I donot get notifications, although I did get them in the past.
([X] Notify me of replies  is tagged)

Anyway...

Many thanks !
Will download v2.23.01

Keep up the good work.
=